Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 18, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 7, 2012

I started as a volunteer with Angel Covers nearly 7 years ago. The organization is completely volunteer run, including the Director. As such, less than 10% of the funds go towards administrative cos... more

October 18, 2013

I started as a donor 7 or 8 years ago after seeing Kari Fillmore, the Executive Director, on the TV speaking about her recent trip to Kenya. The stories about the children Angel Covers were helping drew me in and I have never regretted getting involved with this meaningful organization. Shortly after being introduced, I knew I wanted to volunteer. This organization is 100% run by volunteers and this allows the majority of donations to go to programs. Not many non-profits these days can say this.

My relationship with the organization has grown to where I am now a board member. Angel Covers has stayed true to their mission of serving disadvantaged children and orphans. They are focused, which allows them to provide continuous resources to those they have committed to serving.

Angel Covers often works to put programs in place that allow the organizations served to become self sustaining. The concept of "teaching a man to fish" is so powerful and allows future funds to support other groups or needs within key recipient organizations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Seek out skilled fundraisers as volunteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

I started as a volunteer with Angel Covers nearly 7 years ago. The organization is completely volunteer run, including the Director. As such, less than 10% of the funds go towards administrative costs. This in itself is highly unusual in the world of non-profits. I have such admiration for the mission, to help disadvantaged and orphaned children around the world. Angel Covers believes that all children have the need for nutrition, education, home and medical care and what is not to like about that?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2011

I have volunteered with Angel Covers for 5+ years and the level of commitment to their mission is heartwarming. They have done a great job of supporting programs as fully as they can without extending themselves to a point where the programs (a.k.a the children) suffer. I continue to be amazed at how low their administrative costs are - the organization is 100% volunteer, including the Director. Where possible, they have worked to create self sustaining programs in-country so that the recipients can "fish" for a lifetime.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Although I haven't traveled (yet) to any of the countries where Angel Covers programs are in place I have experienced the results of the work through letters from sponsored children, photographs of schools being built, water tanks being installed, food being served, childrent being taught.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more volunteers that share a passion for disadvantaged and orphaned children around the world to help Angel Covers.

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I have known Kari Fillmore, the founder of Angel Covers, for several years through the First United Church of Arvada, where we both are members (I am a former elected Moderator) and she and her husband have been tireless workers for the Church, which has been appreciated Kari asked me to join the Baord of Angel Covers this year after I pointed out there should be more men on the Board.

As a nonprofit, this is woderful. I have served on several boards, including one college's, and this one works hard!

I hope this gets top designation, because it deserves it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I met Kari when both of us were working for our children's sports. I very much admired her for starting Angel Covers and being such a giving person. Not long after our initial contact I started to volunteer with one of my children and found that I only knew a small portion of the work that Angel Covers does. The volunteers of this group are outstanding and very dedicated to the needs of children of around the world. All donations are used to meet those needs which is unusual, but is one of the primary reasons they can make such a difference. I am honored to work side by side with this amazing organization and its voluteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I recently joined the Angel Covers Board of Directors. I was immediately impressed by the care and dedication the Director, Board Members, and volunteers put into their work. Overhead costs are held extremely low, making donations to Angel Covers highly effective at making positive change in the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2011

more

April 30, 2011

Angel Covers is a charity that is dedicated to bettering the lives of our youth. They help children all over the world, and in more ways than one. They provide medical care, hospitality, education and even a nutritious diet to the needy. Angel Covers instills a passion for achievement and encourages every child to shine. This creates a driving force in each child that allows them to forge their own paths as adults.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I see the results that they have on the children they support. These kids grow up to be influential and pivotal members of society.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Angel Covers could accomplish tenfold what they do with more publicity and public knowledge.

April 28, 2011

more

April 28, 2011

As a board member for Angel Covers, I can attest to the wonderful work that AC does for children around the world. Being a completely volunteer run organization, each person is driven the mission and the work. We could not have a more dedicated Executive Director who works to drive the goals of the organization & a board that is committed to continuing to support and improve AC's operations. Few international organizations allow donors & volunteers to see the work of the organization firsthand (i.e. trips to Kenya & China).

Angel Covers is a wonderful organization that I am extremely proud to be a part of

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The low administrative costs allows the organization to focus resources on program development and supporting those whom AC serves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Moving forward, we are focusing on creating a strategic plan to boost the organization's infrastructure and operations so that we are best equipped to provide programs and services to needy children around the world.

April 26, 2011

more

April 26, 2011

Angel Covers is a wonderful grass-roots organization that is improving the lives of numerous orphans and needy children. The organization is driven by passion and the desire to provide a home, food, education and medical assistance to children who do not have the means to do so. Most importantly, Angel Covers provides hope. And, the children are being positively impacted through this organization and its supporters. Please go to www.angelcovers.org to see how your support can provide the hope these kids deserve.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my time on the board and hearing the wonderful stories of success and hope. I have also sponsored one of the girls in northern China.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help increase its awareness and the impact the work is having on the children.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

create brochures, throw a party, research grants, or help with direct program development. Volunteer