Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

I discovered Angel Covers while researching my annual holiday charity (something my family does at Christmas in place of exchanging gifts.) I was initially impressed with the fact that 98 percent of the donations go directly to the children. My little girl is Blantina at the Humble Hearts School in Nairobi. I have her smiling photo tacked to my fridge. My monthly donation is automatically taken out of my PayPal account, and each month I get a heartfelt thank you note. When I sent Blantina a package, Ida emailed a personal acknowledgement with photos of the happy recipient holding her items. Helping others through monetary donations does not get any better than this. I intend to sponsor Blantina until she is a successful graduate!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

From my perspective, the organization could not be run more efficiently and in such a personal manner.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 27, 2011

Angel Covers does an amazing job in raising funds for a number of orphanages and other non-profits overseas. All staff are volunteer, so they operate with almost no overhead. In fact, if you donate ... more

September 10, 2013

Angel Covers squeezes more benefit out of each dollar than any organization I've ever encountered. We sponsor a child at Humble Hearts School for the Deaf in Nairobi and every one of our dollars goes directly to that child; no one at Angel Covers takes any salary and other incidental overhead (credit card fees, etc.) are covered by other fund-raising activities. We visited Humble Hearts in 2009 and found the director and staff are incredibly dedicated individuals. Teaching staff is paid, but at rates likely well below the market rates. The school also has a number of outside projects such as raising maize (corn) that help in supporting the school's operations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise more funds to serve more deaf children in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 27, 2011

Angel Covers does an amazing job in raising funds for a number of orphanages and other non-profits overseas. All staff are volunteer, so they operate with almost no overhead. In fact, if you donate via credit card, the fees they must pay are covered by sale of merchandise on their website, so 100% of your donation goes to the kids in need. Same with other unavoidable expenses like stamps.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the quality education the kids at Humble Hearts were receiving from the very dedicated (and humbly paid) staff at the school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand its size so more schools like Humble Hearts could benefit from not only funding but from the very constructive relationship in other ways between the school and Angel Covers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2012

Angel Covers is my wife's and my favorite charity. Their minimal overhead means that the funds go directly where the need is greatest. Their work aiding orphans from around the world is incredible! Kn... more

April 5, 2013

My wife and I are truly amazed at Angel Covers ability to help so many orphans around the world. Their Humble Hearts school in Kenya is a prime example of the ability to turn small donations into magnificent projects for the betterment of the children and the worl.ld

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

Angel Covers is my wife's and my favorite charity. Their minimal overhead means that the funds go directly where the need is greatest. Their work aiding orphans from around the world is incredible! Knowing the founder personally, I understand and truly appreciate her commitment to continuing this great charitable effort. Looking forward to going to Kenya some day to actually see the benefit that my donations have made! I am sure that pictures don't do it justice. David and Laureen

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have been involved with Angel Covers as both a volunteer and a sponsor for about 7 years now. I found this wonderful non profit when I was looking to donate some books and clothes that were no longer needed by our family. I knew from the first conversation I had with Kari, to the picture that arrived with the children receiving my items, that this was something special. The smiles on the childrens faces from receiving basic needs was just heartwarming. I also volunteer, so I see first hand the good that Angel Covers does to help children all over the world. I can not say enough good things about Angel Covers and the work they do! They are truly making a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I recently joined the Angel Covers Board of Directors. I was immediately impressed by the care and dedication the Director, Board Members, and volunteers put into their work. Overhead costs are held extremely low, making donations to Angel Covers highly effective at making positive change in the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 26, 2011

“Angel Covers” started from a vision of two friends that wanted to provide nurturing help to disadvantaged children and to make a difference in the lives of children around the world and that seed... more

November 8, 2012

I am so amazed at what Angel Covers is able to accomplish every year for their Charity. You can truly rest in the truth that when you give to this organization your donation will be used 100% and more to help provide for orphaned and destitute children around the world. Angel Covers staff and their mission is Top Rate and many thanks you to them for all they do for others.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2011

“Angel Covers” started from a vision of two friends that wanted to provide nurturing help to disadvantaged children and to make a difference in the lives of children around the world and that seed of kindness has grown into an amazing non-profit organization that helps care for orphaned and destitute children around the world. It is so amazing to see what “Angel Covers” has done and continues to do for these Children with the donations to the organization. Thank you to “Angel Covers” for their belief that every child deserves access to quality medical care, education, nutrition and housing. They stand by that and continue to make that belief a reality for so many children.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

through all the website and personal communication they share.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing.

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have volunteered with Angel Covers for several years in its education program because of its low overhead (3%), its commitment to continue to be run exclusively by volunteers, and its traditional and creative ways of helping children who are most in need. Low overhead means that more dollars go directly to support the children in its programs and projects. The self-sustaining projects have helped schools to support themselves by providing initial investments in things such as goji berry trees (the berries are harvested and sold, and the income is used to purchase food and electricity for the school) and yaks (improving nutrition at remote rural schools). The education programs facilitate the education of the most destitute children who would otherwise have no hope of going to school. I look forward to continuing my involvement with Angel Covers, as I believe in its mission and its ability to implement the best programs for children in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

I have known about Angle Covers since its humble inception and I am in awe about how it is organized and the work that it accomplishes. Not many charitable organizations can accomplish their goals with an all-volunteer staff but Angle Covers manages to do that very nicely. One always has to wonder how much of what they give actually gets to the folks in need, but no worries with this wonderful organization. They are very careful how your gifts are distributed and travel to the orphanages they support insuring that there is little if any waste. We all understand the need and importance of supporting charities and without question, this group of volunteers will see that your gifts are placed where they can do the most good in orphanages around the world. Try them out as it will make you smile.
JAllen

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Angel Covers is an outstanding non profit that brings hope to so many. So many volunteer and Kari works tirelessly. The lives of many are greatly enhanced due to Angel Covers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

What is not to LOVE about this non profit foundation? With it's overhead of 3% or less, run by all volunteers, it brings hope to impoverished children throughout the world through education, shelter, nutrition, and medical help. The aim of this foundation is to help children in the short term as well as develop self sustaining projects and life changing skills. Since its inception in 2001, the board of exceptional professionals has directed donations and established programs for children in Africa, China, and Tibet as well as contributed needed supplies in many other regions of the world. I am proud to be both a volunteer and donor to the Angel Covers foundation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

create brochures, throw a party, research grants, or help with direct program development. Volunteer