Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

AngelCovers is an amazing organisation of volunteers supporting children. This is my way of giving back to the country where my adoptive girls were born. Knowing tha I am supporting minority girls has been wonderful and thanks to the assistance by AngelCovers I was able to meet the current sponsored students last year and my colleagues students and to visit their homes. It was AMAZING - the most amazing feeling was felt with those who had the least - to see them smile despite their difficulties was amazing. And their lifestyle is so simple and yet the hospitality was amazing offering you a homemade tiny stool next to their manure fired fuel stoves with home made breads and yak tea (OK they joke because yak is a male not female, the female yak has a more difficult name us Westerners can't easily say).
I can not say enough good things about AngelCovers and their support of Tibetan girls in their China program - it is top class. They keep focussed on supporting as many students as possible despite the limited facilities.
The hospitality, the anticipation for their futures, the gorgeous mountains, yaks and sheep running along the mountainsides are things I will never forget. And the AngelCover staff are so supportive - thank you Kari, Angela, Rinchen and others.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

We've supported Angel Covers for many years now. We are on our third college student now and have graduated two doctors! What a difference these girls will make in the world but also change the perspective in their small villages that believes girls should be married off at young ages. Angel Covers definitely has their heart in the right place and communicate well with their donors. I believe the best way to change the world is through education.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 7, 2012

I started as a volunteer with Angel Covers nearly 7 years ago. The organization is completely volunteer run, including the Director. As such, less than 10% of the funds go towards administrative cos... more

October 18, 2013

I started as a donor 7 or 8 years ago after seeing Kari Fillmore, the Executive Director, on the TV speaking about her recent trip to Kenya. The stories about the children Angel Covers were helping drew me in and I have never regretted getting involved with this meaningful organization. Shortly after being introduced, I knew I wanted to volunteer. This organization is 100% run by volunteers and this allows the majority of donations to go to programs. Not many non-profits these days can say this.

My relationship with the organization has grown to where I am now a board member. Angel Covers has stayed true to their mission of serving disadvantaged children and orphans. They are focused, which allows them to provide continuous resources to those they have committed to serving.

Angel Covers often works to put programs in place that allow the organizations served to become self sustaining. The concept of "teaching a man to fish" is so powerful and allows future funds to support other groups or needs within key recipient organizations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Seek out skilled fundraisers as volunteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

I started as a volunteer with Angel Covers nearly 7 years ago. The organization is completely volunteer run, including the Director. As such, less than 10% of the funds go towards administrative costs. This in itself is highly unusual in the world of non-profits. I have such admiration for the mission, to help disadvantaged and orphaned children around the world. Angel Covers believes that all children have the need for nutrition, education, home and medical care and what is not to like about that?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2011

I have volunteered with Angel Covers for 5+ years and the level of commitment to their mission is heartwarming. They have done a great job of supporting programs as fully as they can without extending themselves to a point where the programs (a.k.a the children) suffer. I continue to be amazed at how low their administrative costs are - the organization is 100% volunteer, including the Director. Where possible, they have worked to create self sustaining programs in-country so that the recipients can "fish" for a lifetime.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Although I haven't traveled (yet) to any of the countries where Angel Covers programs are in place I have experienced the results of the work through letters from sponsored children, photographs of schools being built, water tanks being installed, food being served, childrent being taught.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more volunteers that share a passion for disadvantaged and orphaned children around the world to help Angel Covers.

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I have known Kari Fillmore, the founder of Angel Covers, for several years through the First United Church of Arvada, where we both are members (I am a former elected Moderator) and she and her husband have been tireless workers for the Church, which has been appreciated Kari asked me to join the Baord of Angel Covers this year after I pointed out there should be more men on the Board.

As a nonprofit, this is woderful. I have served on several boards, including one college's, and this one works hard!

I hope this gets top designation, because it deserves it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I met Kari when both of us were working for our children's sports. I very much admired her for starting Angel Covers and being such a giving person. Not long after our initial contact I started to volunteer with one of my children and found that I only knew a small portion of the work that Angel Covers does. The volunteers of this group are outstanding and very dedicated to the needs of children of around the world. All donations are used to meet those needs which is unusual, but is one of the primary reasons they can make such a difference. I am honored to work side by side with this amazing organization and its voluteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 26, 2011

Angel Covers is truly a nonprofit foundation. All the work accomplished by this organization is done with volunteers all over the world. I volunteer and regularly donate to this organization becaus... more

October 1, 2013

I've been a fan of this non profit since its inception. They never loose their enthusiasm, drive, and desire to seek out ways to help the suffering and disadvantaged children of the world. It's unbelievable all the good that is happening with a totally volunteer foundation. I know of no other non profit that contributes over 95% of all monies directly to its mission and vision.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2011

Angel Covers is truly a nonprofit foundation. All the work accomplished by this organization is done with volunteers all over the world. I volunteer and regularly donate to this organization because 96% of all monies find their way to children in desperate need throughout the world. The director is in close communication with all persons involved in receiving funds and requires reports and pictures of accomplishments. She in turn reports to an outstanding board of directors concerning how money is spent, the progress of projects, ongoing fund raising, and goals for the future. This foundation was born from a belief that all children, regardless of their circumstances in life, deserve to have hope for their futures. Because of the work of Angel Covers children are realizing hope through educational opportunities, better nutrition, medical help, and nurturing adult influences.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have had two outstanding experiences traveling with Kari Fillmore, foundation director. In 2003 I traveled with her to China where we interacted in two separate orphanages providing them with much needed clothing, food, educational toys, etc. In Sept. 2010, I traveled again with Kari to Humble Hearts School for the Deaf located in a slum outside of Nairobi, Kenya. While there I was privileged to help with painting walls and working with students and teachers as I taught new math strategies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Angel Covers does not need to change as much as it needs to expand. With so much need for children in the world, this organization needs many more volunteers so that it can expand and bring further hope to children in destitute areas of the world. One of the greatest needs is for a volunteer grant writer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I spend several hours a week helping with the financial accountability of Angel Covers. If more people would learn of this foundation and it's wonderful work, my vounteer experience as financial secretary would improve by giving even more volunteer hours to recording, categorizing and accounting for more donations.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Look into the eyes of a child as they gaze at themselves on the screen of your digital camera, receive a hug from a child living in a slum as you hand them a new book, read a letter a sponsored child writes to you; then you understand love and compassion. All these and more have had a life changing effect on me!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

HUMBLE!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

The Angel Covers team goes above and beyond to make sure donations truly make a difference to the amazing children in the areas they serve. Each member of this team is professional, dedicated, and caring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

I discovered Angel Covers while researching my annual holiday charity (something my family does at Christmas in place of exchanging gifts.) I was initially impressed with the fact that 98 percent of the donations go directly to the children. My little girl is Blantina at the Humble Hearts School in Nairobi. I have her smiling photo tacked to my fridge. My monthly donation is automatically taken out of my PayPal account, and each month I get a heartfelt thank you note. When I sent Blantina a package, Ida emailed a personal acknowledgement with photos of the happy recipient holding her items. Helping others through monetary donations does not get any better than this. I intend to sponsor Blantina until she is a successful graduate!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

From my perspective, the organization could not be run more efficiently and in such a personal manner.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 27, 2011

Angel Covers does an amazing job in raising funds for a number of orphanages and other non-profits overseas. All staff are volunteer, so they operate with almost no overhead. In fact, if you donate ... more

September 10, 2013

Angel Covers squeezes more benefit out of each dollar than any organization I've ever encountered. We sponsor a child at Humble Hearts School for the Deaf in Nairobi and every one of our dollars goes directly to that child; no one at Angel Covers takes any salary and other incidental overhead (credit card fees, etc.) are covered by other fund-raising activities. We visited Humble Hearts in 2009 and found the director and staff are incredibly dedicated individuals. Teaching staff is paid, but at rates likely well below the market rates. The school also has a number of outside projects such as raising maize (corn) that help in supporting the school's operations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise more funds to serve more deaf children in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 27, 2011

Angel Covers does an amazing job in raising funds for a number of orphanages and other non-profits overseas. All staff are volunteer, so they operate with almost no overhead. In fact, if you donate via credit card, the fees they must pay are covered by sale of merchandise on their website, so 100% of your donation goes to the kids in need. Same with other unavoidable expenses like stamps.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the quality education the kids at Humble Hearts were receiving from the very dedicated (and humbly paid) staff at the school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand its size so more schools like Humble Hearts could benefit from not only funding but from the very constructive relationship in other ways between the school and Angel Covers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2012

Angel Covers is my wife's and my favorite charity. Their minimal overhead means that the funds go directly where the need is greatest. Their work aiding orphans from around the world is incredible! Kn... more

April 5, 2013

My wife and I are truly amazed at Angel Covers ability to help so many orphans around the world. Their Humble Hearts school in Kenya is a prime example of the ability to turn small donations into magnificent projects for the betterment of the children and the worl.ld

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

Angel Covers is my wife's and my favorite charity. Their minimal overhead means that the funds go directly where the need is greatest. Their work aiding orphans from around the world is incredible! Knowing the founder personally, I understand and truly appreciate her commitment to continuing this great charitable effort. Looking forward to going to Kenya some day to actually see the benefit that my donations have made! I am sure that pictures don't do it justice. David and Laureen

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

create brochures, throw a party, research grants, or help with direct program development. Volunteer