Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
128 Reviews
1234.828125
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

Angel Acres Horse Rescue, is a step above most rescues. She has programs in place to help folks in tough times such as her Mattie's fund. She makes sure the person adopting the rescue horse is a good fit. Willing accepting back horses that do not work out for various reasons. Comes up with creative ways to raise funds for her rescue. I have worked with many different facilities over the years, this is not a job for Jo it is her passion. No one does it better.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am beyond greatful for what Jo has been doing to help with saving horses from slaughter.
She humbly serves the people, and the last of the American wild horses, for which I could never thank her enough & am eternally greatful.
Thank you Jo & crew for your outstanding and most excellent
service, from the bottom of my heart.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Jo Deibel and Angel Acres are at the forefront of the equine welfare movement in the United States. I am continually amazed by how much they achieve. I would heartily recommend this organization to any potential donor or sponsor.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 23, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 23, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have followed Angel Acres for several years now. Being part of the horse rescue community, you meet many people with great hearts, but not a whole lot of business sense. Angel Acres is led by a team who is not only passionately committed to horse welfare, but run the organization with care, ethics and plain old business smarts.

The Executive Director, Jo Deibel, is always helping, sharing...WORKING...with others to help Angel Acres horses find forever, loving homes. You couldn't ask for better.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 23, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 23, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

What can I say that others have not? I have known Jo Deibel for a couple of years now - though we have never met in person. Her efforts to truly save and rescue are unmatched. She is a constant force, as are the rest of her team. I remember getting a phone call from Jo Deibel telling me about a 13 year old OTTB that was saved from slaughter but then sent to New Bolton to be a drug horse. The hospital had no more need for him and wanted to put him down. Jo Deibel refused. Long story short - this lovable, saved from death twice, OTTB now lives with me and my wife and our QH herd. No one else seemed to care - Jo Deibel did and had him sent to us safe and sound on request.

Frank Belardino
Rising Sun MD

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Angel Acres made 197k in 2011 and only 32k went to caring for horses??? not even 20% of their entire budget was put toward their mission of saving horses from slaughter. i would recommend other programs that spend more horses on rescue if they are a horse rescue.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Angel Acres may be based in Pennsylvania, but this organization's impact is felt nationwide. They are at the forefront of the fight to end horse slaughter in the U.S. -- working towards this goal with top notch rescue and rehoming efforts, a nationwide billboard campaign and tireless public outreach.

In the five+ years I've worked with Angel Acres, I've been impressed with their constant desire to improve and grow programs, innovative approach, and dedication to financial transperency. They always take the high road; have a long-term vision built on celebrating milestones and victories; and never forget to thank those who support the cause.

And, while other groups may send newsletters designed to tug at your heart strings with heartwrenching stories, Angel Acres President Jo Diebel has made a committment to telling the story of her organization with an upbeat spin. Whether it's a newsletter from the velvet nosed gang, a facebook update detailing a morning in the barn, or a personal thank you for a donation, Jo's positive attitude despite dealing with a very tough cause reflects her unique approach to making a difference.

A dollar given to Angel Acres, is always a dollar well-spent.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

a professional setting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would ensure they had enough funding to continue for decades to come.

August 30, 2011

more

August 30, 2011

I have been a supporter of Angel Acres, and have been following this awesome effort. Jo works tirelessly to save horses, and make their life as it should be. The daily communications concerning the trials and triumphs, sorrows and joys of her rescue, rehab and educational endeavors are testament to her life dedication to bettering the situation of American horses. Hundreds of horse are fed through the winter, because of her dedication to Maggie's Legacy. . The facility is haven to many horses who are enjoying the brighter tomorrow. We get to see the shared follow-ups of the many successful rescues, rehabs and placements. Thank you, Jo..for being the voice for these deserving horses. Thank you for taking selfless action on their behalf..Thank you for doing what many of us would love to do , using your unpaid time, day and night, and even your own family resources.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

communications and response to networking, and witnessing billboards.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would hope that someday Jo can have paid staff.

August 23, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 23, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Angel Acres Horse Haven Rescue, is fully committed to saving horses from entering the slaughter pipeline. They are one of the very few rescues actually certified and as meet all the requirement s established. They retrain, rehab and rehome abandonded, neglectd or at risk horses and help turn them into very productive and much loved companions. Angel Acres truly believes in their mission of making slaughter illegal in the US and the transport of horses for slaughter illegal. they have started an amazing educational campaign with billboards going up in over 20 states to date, with a goal of all 50 states. These billboards then lead you to a very educational website which informs the general public on the horrors of horse slaughter and how they can help eradicate it in the US.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen some of the billboards, visited the website, worked with their founder on other projects

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with more money

August 23, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 23, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved in horse rescue for many years and have seen a lot of people get involved with big hearts, but no common sense or ability to balance a checkbook. Jo is NOT one of those people. She has been able to consistently run her rescue like a well-run business, ensuring that every animal she takes in receives 100% of the care and training it needs. Once a horse is at her facility, you know that it is truly safe and will not be in danger of going without feed because she has taken in more than she can care for. One reason Jo's rescue works so well is that she does a great deal of work personally, everything from hauling horses to mucking stalls. It is hard to imagine the boards of some of the larger Thoroughbred rescues picking up a manure fork - unfortunately, they are much more removed from the horses and their care and that has resulted in some news stories this year of horses starving while board members collected a large salary. That will never happen at AAHHR, where Jo personally works tirelessly all day to restore horses to health, fix training issues and make sure she is transforming a horse from an "unwanted" horse to a horse that is ready to go win at the shows, as most of hers do. An AAHHR horse has received an education that makes him highly desired in the horse world and very unlikely to fall into a bad situation ever again. This combination of rehab and training is the ideal in the horse rescue world, and the fact that AAHHR was able to pass GFAS' extremely strict standards and become accredited speaks for itself. If you are looking to donate to a rescue that puts your money into the horses, not the principals' pockets, AAHHR is one of the best choices you can make. And if you are looking for a show quality Thoroughbred but would rather rescue than buy, head on over!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen so many dramatic transformations of horses that I know many rescues/vets would have just put to sleep, but AAHHR returned them to health. I have seen horses who were throw-aways winning hunter championships after a few months at AAHHR. This is what rescues should do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move them to the West coast so that I could donate training!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

The focus is ALWAYS on the horses and the horses ALWAYS receive every single thing that they need, in terms of vet work, nutrition and training. This is (unfortunately) rare.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers