Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Ancient Ways is a non-profit organization that helps empower women in Zimbabwe and helps make it possibe for all children to attend school. One of its projects was to donate portable sewing machines to women, who were then able to sew school uniforms for selling - thus allowing their own children to be able to attend school. My son has traveled to Zimbabwe with Ancient Ways and helped rebuilt huts. Ancient Ways does good work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

I have been involved in Ancient Ways for 13 years and have witnessed the amount of success they have had in implementing their programs in Zimbabwe and Oregon. With a small budget AW has been able to help a great deal of people. They are amazing at spreading the messages of those in need and have the ability to truly help people. Though their focus might be on the children, they also work to empower women and help build or rebuild communities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

I am so impressed by the tremendous impact this small nonprofit has, positively impacting the lives of over 2800 people in Zimbabwe. I hope you'll join me in supporting them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

This is a great non-profit group to support, that has been helping several villages in Zimbabwe for over 15 years by building wells, toilets, huts, paying school fees and supplying much-needed medical supplies and services through their health clinic. An efficient organizational structure has been developed over the years to channel donations to the areas most in need, be it school fees, medical supplies or food. I urge you to support this very worthwhile grassroots non-profit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Like many here in Oregon, I was introduced to Ancient Ways via its Zimbabwean-style marimba classes in the Willamette Valley. As I got more involved with the organization, I realized what a wide scope of integral services Ancient Ways is providing (wells, toilets, hut repair, education, community center and more) to the rural Zimbabweans whose music I've come to appreciate so much. I particularly value supporting the programs for children. I love showing my 9 year old daughter, a junior girl scout, pictures of her sister scouts that we help sponsor in the Girl Guides through Nhimbe for Progress, and the Zimbabwean kids at school. Its hard for a 9 year old to understand the lives of people half-way around the world- that they are often hungry, don't have clean water to drink, can't always afford to go to school, and don't even have enough underwear. When my daughter sees the kids' smiling faces singing, dancing, playing, and learning, just like she and her friends do here, then it's easy for her to see that Zimbabwean kids are fundamentally just like her, despite cultural differences, and she can begin to imagine what it would be like if she faced the hardships that they do. For me, Ancient Ways is not only a means to help others, but also a platform to teach the values of compassion and empathy to my children, a demonstration that people around the world have more similarities than differences, despite their backgrounds and living conditions; and a way to show my kids that we can all make a positive difference in the lives of others; empowering both us and them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have been consistently impressed by this nonprofit. They have been working in Zimbabwe for many years, create programs that the local people are requesting, and update those programs as needed to make sure they remain effective and useful. As excellent way to directly impact the lives of children and families in Zimbabwe.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Here in Oregon, Ancient Ways has introduced many to Shona marimba music and art. In Zimbabwe, Ancient Ways provides community health education and sponsors students so they may remain in school. These projects serve rural villagers who would otherwise have little to no access to these programs.

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

Ancient Ways builds a bridge between Zimbabwe and the Willamette Valley in Oregon by allowing us to learn and perform its music, meet visitors from Zimbabwe, and focus our individual and group energy into helping people from that country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

Ancient Ways has helped me in my life by bringing people together, both by creating opportunities to share music as a player and also as one who loves to listen,as well as by creating a link to reach across the world to others in need. I am always so grateful for Ancient Ways and the people that have come together with this common interest. There is a unique appreciation for humanity, plain goodness, and effective work on the ground in Zimbabwe. The people there are part of our organization too and make our lives so much richer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

Ancient Ways is made up of great people and great projects! I have had a close relationship with Ancient Ways since its inception and watched it grow, grapple with hard times, and come to the front always moving forward innovatively overcoming the odds. From spreading the Shona music here in the states to helping preserve it and nurture the people in Zimbabwe, Ancient Ways stands out as an organization that walks its talk. Having been to Zimbabwe more than once I have seen the positive change that Ancient Ways has brought to their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers