Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.916675
Write A Review
June 9, 2012

more

June 9, 2012

Over the years, I have seen what an awesome job that Orphans Bright Star has done for many orphans and adoptees. They are constantly raising money to make life better for the orphans that don't get adopted or are not available for adoption. They even help with medical expenses when their own government won't. They help put shoes on their feet and clothing on their backs. Many children have only 1 pair of shoes and frequently they don't fit right, this group helps the children get several pairs so if one pair gets wet, they have dry ones to wear. They also help with hygiene items and remodel bathrooms so the kids have at least some type of sanitary facilities. This is a great group that does so much.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What a fabulous charity! They not only help supply essentials to institutionalized kids who are so greatly in need, but also enable those that are "aging" out of the orphanages with a means to learning a trade/marketable skills by providing financial support while they are in trade school.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

I work with the Poltava Vocational project. I search for sponsors to help our kids further their education, in hopes of a better future. I have seen both sides of this coin. The girls that finished vocational training , were able to land their dream jobs and support themselves and become responsible young adults. I've watched as one young man, in tears, held the letter of his sponsor at the tip of his nose as this was as far as his vision would allow. With help of OBS, he has had surgery and gained a small portion of his sight. Although he was not accepted by the school, we continued to search for ways to help him become self sufficient. We bought chickens that he and his family could raise and sell eggs. I've seen a young girl become a mother and then abandoned by her baby's father. This would have been another orphan statistic, except for her sponsor stepped up to the plate and is funding her housing so she can continue her education and support her child. I've cried when kids lost their biological parents, knowing , that while they were not still in their lives or a good influence if they were, they were still the parents and with their death, the dream of ever reuniting with family died as well. When one student found her brother frozen in the street, OBS paid for his medications, thereby the boy lost only his toes and not his hands as well. We have been led to expand our program with the needs of our students and their families and that is what we do. The flexibility and support of the volunteers of OBS are far surpassed the ordinary. I am so grateful to be just a glimmer in the star that shines for the kids of Ukraine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

I am a member of the board for an Orphan's Bright Star. My experience with this organization greatly exceeds that which I have had previously with similar groups. They really go the extra mile to ensure aid gets directly to the kids and frequent checks to ensure it stays with the orphans as well. They emphasize spending funds as much as possible in Ukraine to do their part to help stimulate the local economy. Their vocational programs are life changing as without them the older orphans would end up on the streets. Finally, this organization is run completely through the efforts of volunteers so you can be sure your donations directly benefit the kids.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

This charity focuses on the children left behind in Ukrainian orphanages. We focus mainly on vocational education projects for orphans that 'age out', getting life-saving medical care for orphans in Ukraine, and repair projects. We collaborate with other charities in the US and abroad to complete projects when possible. We have some amazing people in Ukraine that help monitor all projects and advise us on how best to complete our work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers