Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.916675
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 24, 2012

more

June 24, 2012

I have known the founder of OBS from the beginning. If there was ever a labor of love, this is it. As if adopting two special needs girls from an orphanage in Ukraine was not enough, she created OBS to help take care of all those children left behind who are still desperately in need of the very basic support. From personally knitting 900 winter hats, to filling her living room with thousands of shoes and Christmas gifts, the organization has grown to one which has involved countless families who have also adopted children as well as their families and friends. They work tirelessly to bring basic support and joy to children whose lives they touch. I am proud to do my small part to support this organization and hope that it can receive a small token of the appreciation and recognition it deserves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

OBS has transformed the lives and condtions of the orphanages for the children and caregivers. They continue to strive for excellence and are always seekng new, fresh ideas in order to raise money for special projects or finding someone able to provide basics such as clothes and shoes to the children. This organization has done an outstanding job and will always be close to my heart.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

For many years I watched as my wife volunteered with OBS and while I have a heart for the projects, I just didn't see the big deal. A few years ago we hosted an orphan in our home. When I saw the difference small things made to her, or how appreciative she was of the smallest thing, I realized these children really do know what it is like to be without. So readily they wrap their arms around you and call you mama and papa. And so willingly they go home knowing your house was the grandest they've ever seen. And this just as you thought it was time for bigger or better. I've seen my wife, cry, smile, laugh, and worry over the children in her programs. OBS has very dedicated people , with full focus on the needs of the children. our sponsored child just graduated and now, we go on to the next one. Everyone can do something.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

Having adopted our son from a Ukrainian orphanage and experiencing the conditions and hardships that these innocent children face, it was a pleasure to discover An Orphan's Bright Star who tirelessly work to bring hope to these young adults, sponsoring vocational training to give them a big step up into the world of becoming self-sufficient. It's an honour to work with such a loving, caring organisation who only have the childrens future at heart.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

I love to shop for the bargins and the orphans in the Ukraine benefit from my retail habits. The many boxes that I have sent with just "stuff" to us is coveted by these orphans. A simple towel and wash cloth to call their own, or it might be a whole package of underware{yes 5 pairs} new socks, personal care items the list goes on but such everyday things truely do make a difference when you have nothing of your own.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Great organization run by honest people. I am so proud to have helped, donated and sponsored children through this program. These are real people helping real kids. You get pictures throughout the year and emails, sometimes letters if you sponsor an orphan. All around a FANTASTIC HONEST organization. Thank you OBS!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

An Orphan's Bright Star is a great charity that does important work for children. Working to serve children who are often otherwise forgotten, An Orphan's Bright Star works to see that a child's daily needs are met in the orphanages they work with in Eastern Europe; but they also try to ensure that the children get some extra happiness. Fun is the right of children, and An Orphan's Bright Star builds playgrounds in orphanages as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

This is by far the best charity I have ever been involved with. It hs both fantastic volunteers who go above and beyond and wonderful leadership. After a disappointing experience with another charity that purported to help orphans in the Ukraine, it has been nothing short of fabulous to get involved with An Orphan's Bright Star. My husband and I have particularly enjoyed being able to sponsor vocational training students who have "graduated" from Ukraine's orphanage system. Since we both teach at a Vocational high school in the US, we know exactly how important that kind of education can be to a young person. Long live An Orphan's Bright Star!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

My cousin, Mindi, started this charity after adopting her daugher Yeva which required several visits to the orphanage. She fell in love with that little girl who was struggling to survive with little resources. Mindi, though could not help but noticed that her Yeva was not the only child in need and immediately began sending shipments of supplies that included vitamins, clothes, shoes and other items the children so needed. After bringing Yeva home and nursing her to health , tutoring/educating Yeva back to her age group expectations she felt the need to do something more for all the other children of the orphanage and sought donors to help them buy washers, dryers, food, playgrounds etc. She enlists the help of family, friends and looks for ways to gather funds for additional projects to enhance the lives of all the children in the orphanage. She has also gone back and adopted another young girl from the orphanage while at the same time not forgetting the rest of the children and continuing to adovate for them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

This is a great organization that makes a huge difference in the life of children. I've been following this organization for a number of years now, and know my donations really are making a difference because of how this group handles itself. Thank you, Orphans Bright Star, for all the amazing work you do!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers