Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.916675
Write A Review
April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 18, 2012

My husband and I adopted our eldest son from the Ukraine in 2003. We were desperately sad for the many children we had to left behind, we felt we needed to do something to help them somehow, to improv... more

April 6, 2013

Even through the tough economic times, OBS continues the hard work to improve the lives of children in Ukrainian orphanages, amazing volunteer work from truly committed people who never cease to amaze me. A lot has been done over the past years through OBS to improve living conditions and bring hope and the chance of a better life for children and youngsters with the sponsoring programs and other projects. I am so very proud to be a part of this amazing charity and honor the commitment we took with children in orphanages when we adopted our two beautiful kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I adopted our eldest son from the Ukraine in 2003. We were desperately sad for the many children we had to left behind, we felt we needed to do something to help them somehow, to improve their lives in any way we could. After a few years I found some information about An Orphans Bright Star and got in touch with them. I learned about their organization and the different ways to contribute and felt in love with their project. Everybody at OBS is totally commited, passionately dedicated to improving the lives of Ukrainian orphans is so many different ways and so open to anyone who has a true interest in making a contribution. I am touched and impressed by the level of dedication to these children, by the scope of their project. I am specially happy that they have allowed me to feel part of the project, always recognizing every little effort, never imposing or making me feel bad when I have had less time and resources. Their transparency, honesty and commitment in running the project, the way they allow you to contribute, to feel that you make a difference have really impressed me. I am so proud to be part of this project and specially of the Vocational education program. We are giving these kids a chance. Amazing work !!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

changing the living conditions of Ukrainian orphans by improving the infrastructures in the orphanages (playgrounds, classrooms, sports materials...) and by sponsoring Ukrainian youngster so they can learn a trade and have a chance at a decent living after they have to face the world on their own.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It took me out of my comfort area and introduces to some amazing people who are truly comited and have been a guide and an example for me.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Incredibly useful, like I am making a difference in these kids lives, like I am doing something for the orphans we left behind when we adopted our son

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

This organization is more dedicated than any group as I have ever had the pleasure of working with.We watch such organization to see just how involved they are and Orphans Bright Star has shown a caring for the children that is unbelievable. You would think they are the real mothers of the children they seek to help. A solid and caring organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2012

more

August 6, 2012

OBS funds projects that will last through many years of orphans. I helped (every dollar helps!) fund a playground for an orphanage. We were so proud to see the pictures of the children playing! I trust this organization, they spend funds wisely and you know exactly where your donation is going.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

We adopted our two children from Ukraine and could not leave the orphanages without a promise to ourselves to help those children has much as we could. An Orphan's Bright Star does so much good; for children in need of medical help, sponsoring children "graduating" from the orphanages to go to vocational schools, orphanage building repair projects, and they fill many more specific needs that the orphanages and orphans may have. This organization is very responsible with their money and is run by unpaid volunteers. Each donation is assured of being used in the manner it was intended and the people used in country are wonderful.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

An Orphans Bright Star is a great example of an organization that gives 100% to the children that they are helping!!! No huge overhead or high paid executives- just people who love and are passionate about the children that are in these orphanages!!! So glad to be a part of a group of people who are living their lives intentionally and purposefully!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

We have been supporters of OBS from its inception. As MSWs with policy and clinical backgrounds, we can be rather critical of how nonprofits function. We are 100% confident in OBS and it is a joy to support and ask others to support a nonprofit that has its act this together – the board is in place for the right reasons, the founder has a clear and tireless passion, and perhaps most important, the organization's mission seems to stay front and center in everything OBS accomplishes. This is an excellent, star organization that runs a tight ship and benefits children tremendously. We urge you to do your homework – you will be impressed – and then get involved!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

OBS is a first rate organization that puts the needs of Ukrainian orphans in the forefront. I am an adoptive parent of two beautiful Ukrainian children and have known the founder of OBS for many years. In fact, I recall having a panic attack prior to our first trip to Ukraine and she talked me through it and I will forever be grateful. When she began OBS, I knew that the priority would always be in the right place, with the children, and the integrity of the organization is something that I trust. OBS truly does help the children that we have all left behind, and will never forget.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

OSB is an amazing organization and does SO much for those precious little angels we had to leave behind. SO glad they are doing SO much for the orphans in Ukraine.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

We know OBS from the beginning and this group of amazing, generous and beautiful people has allowed us to mantein the contact with the place where our son has coming from. So our family can continue to provide help for all the babies over there. The volunteers of this team are very dedicated to help with a great devotion and they are ready to find always new ways to involve people to help. I'm very happy to have found so great person!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

We adopted our son from a Ukrainian orphanage in 2000. It was at the far reaches of the country and clearly forgotten. OBS has helped his orphanage a great deal and made the lives of the orphans much better.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers