Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12.25345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 19, 2014
16 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 19, 2014
16 people found this review helpful

I am the daughter and a caretaker of my mother who is in advanced stages of ALS. We have benefitted directly from the services of this organization and those of the local chapter as well. I also formerly operated 2 national non-profit organizations. I am disturbed by some of the negative comments I see here and that I have seen online claiming the ALSA uses only about 20%-22% of its funding for services/research. If you look at the financial statements, that simply is not the case. The statement on this site for the fiscal year ending Jan 30, 2012 shows 67% of funds spent going to program services, 22% in fundraising, and 11% to administration. Program services are the main efforts of the organization: ALS Research, ALS Education and Awareness, and ALS Patient and Community Services. These are the activities the ALSA promotes as their primary function, and they are spending their money consistent with that purpose. 22% went to fundraising and while that may seem like a lot, it takes a great deal of effort to get charitable contributions, especially for a less common and less known disease in tough economic times. They must compete with many other “causes” for donations; and getting a one-time donation is one thing, but turning that into a consistent donor is key to PROGRAM stability. Keep in mind that none of the PROGRAM SERVICES – Research, Education/Awareness, and Care/Community Services can happen if they don’t have money – so the fundraising budget is extremely important! The Administrative expense of 11% is very reasonable – somebody has to managed the general affairs and business of the organization, oversee personnel and programs, oversee funds and budgets, etc. Also, if you look at the tax returns/annual reports of the ALSA you will see that in addition to their paid staff (nearly every association or foundation of large scope has paid staff – skilled, hardworking people who need to earn a fair living in exchange for work they perform), they operate with the support of many volunteer hours from their board and many others who give time to the organization. Moving to 2014, the most current financial statements for the period ending Jan 30, 2014, the numbers look even better: only 7% Administrative expense, 14% Fundraising expense, and the remaining 78% to Program Services (I know that’s only 99% - the numbers rounded down make 99 rather than100). http://www.alsa.org/about-us/financial-information.html
With the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge going on and so many generous donations coming in to the ALSA, there is an unprecedented opportunity to fund much needed research and services. This means hope, assistance, support, and advocacy for many people with ALS, like my mother, and families like ours who are dealing with the effects of this disease minute by minute. I think it is important that people have correct information. Don’t believe anybody’s comments. Study the financial and annual reports and tax returns yourself if you are concerned. They are here and on http://www.alsa.org

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 19, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

A charity taking 80% of your donations for salaries and expenses. I don't think it gets much more scummy than this.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Cut salaries and give the money raised to the cause it was raised for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 14, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 14, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

It is more than disappointing that there has been no improvement since my 2011 review. In fact I would rate the 60% program expenses as deplorable. It is sad to see such poor performance as a client/ALS patient and fundraiser. For shame!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unlikely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 17, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

Good mission, badly needed services for its clients made up of terminally ill ALS patients. Disappointing trend in all aspects and particularly in view of the superb performance of some of the chapters who are more successful in demonstrating responsible management and keeping patients at the center of their policies and practices. What is especially disturbing is that these well managed and rated chapters must send some of their hard earned revenue to the headquarters.

Unless there is significant improvement this organization does not deserve to continue as the national leadership/

i write this as a patient with ALS or, as it is also known, Lou Gehrig's disease. My servicing chapter has an excellent record.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have had my own concerns with the leadership of the national headquarters leadership for the 6 years since I was diagnosed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Transparency, client centricity, accountability, none of which are nothing but basic requirements.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers