Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
1.571432345
Write A Review
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

I am the wife of a 100 percent Vietnam veteran. I received a letter through the mail telling us they would be in our neighborhood on the 26th of sept. I called them and told them we had ten or eleven bags of clothing to donate, some of which had never been worn. They said they would pick them up on the 26th between 8am and dark. They did not come so I called the local number on the letter. The lady said I needed to call the national number because they could contact the trucks by radio when she could not. She was only there to answer the phone. I called the national number and got no answer. This was on Saturday. I knew they would not be there on Sunday so I called again on Monday. They said they would be there on Tuesday. They did not come. I called again on Wednesday and told them they must not need my donations since they didn't come to get them and if they didn't come by Thursday I would donate them to someone else. They didn't come. My husband was very irritated and called the local office to complain. He told them he was a vet and wanted to help the vets whenever he could. The lady said they could pick it up on Monday October 6th. My husband told her he was not leaving it our porch for another weekend and he would never call them to donate again. After reading the other reviews(which I should have done before calling them) I have come to the conclusion that they don't want to fool with material donations,only money donations. What a shame !!
February 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am wondering if people have been confusing th American Veterans Support Foundation, which has a pushy phone driven method of contact, with the American Veterans national Service Foundation, which only communicates by mail. The similarity of their names is confusing, but the first is a group that seems to have a poor reputation and the second has an excellent reputation for doing good.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 24, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 24, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Every year, I get a call from AMVETS asking for donations so they can help American Veterans. Well, I am an American Veteran - a disabled vet at that. Many of the people I socialize with are also disabled vets - some as high as 80% disabled. Yet none of us have ever been contacted by AMVETS asking how AMVETS could help. All we get is, "Thanks for your service. Would you like to donate $50 or $100." And even after saying I am unable to give, I still get the "pledge card" in the mail: me: "I'm sorry, but right now I can't afford to make a donation." Them: "Well, I'll put you down for a $20 pledge then." It's curious - I've identified myself as a disabled vet in financial need, but still no call from AMVETS asking how they can help me. Only calls asking for donations (every year for the past 4 years)... I think my donation will go further if sent directly to the Department of Veteran's Affairs, who bend over backwards to help me and other disabled vets; or to the USO.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I just got a call (caller ID blocked) from someone claiming to be from Am Vets Post 495, soliciting for donations (cash or check only) for Thanksgiving care packages to be sent to troops in Afghanistan. I explained that I never donate in response to telephone solicitations, but I'd look at their web site. They reluctantly gave me a url to visit (which didn't work). When I asked for a number to call, they said, "I'll call you back." I wouldn't mind at all donating for Thanksgiving care packages for troops in Afghanistan, but not through this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was surprised to see that the organization claims they do not make phone call solicitations. That is how I have been solicited every year. The pledge order I received in the mail today even has my phone number on it. The caller was very insistent and would not take no for an answer. He insisted I had given in previous years when I had not. I will donate to another organization but not AmVets

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 3, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I received a call about 12:15 PM 3 Dec. I told the person I worked nights and had to make the call quick,maybe he could call back Monday. He said they could only call once on this pledge drive. I promised an amount, was told to hold for his supervisor. I told the supervisor the amount and please send me the envelope and form. he said, "We use Visa or Master Card." I said well,I don't donate that way,I use checks. he sounded overbearing. I am sad they don't listen to the donor. He sounded like he felt he was in charge and I would do things his way. No more AMVETS for me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Use more tactful phone volunteers

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 8, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 8, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

A representative from AMVETS called and would not take no for an answer. After telling him I wasn't interested he persisted by repeating a portion of his dialogue. The particular part of his dialogue he chose to repeat included a joke where he then laughs obnoxiously at his own joke. After a long day of work, trying to spend time with my family, how does this type of marketing help anyone?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

annoyance by their marketing

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change their marketing approach

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers