Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
December 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became acquainted with AmpleHarvest.org after we filmed an episode featuring the work they do. I'm the Exec. Producer and host of Growing a Greener World. We were impressed! Founder Gary Oppenheimer is passionate about making this organization accessible to growers and those in need of fresh produce. After experiencing his boundless enthusiasm and his genuine desire to help end hunger, I wanted to help beyond just airing the episode to a national audience. Little did I know that would include an invitation by Gary to serve on the Board. I've received several invitations to serve on other boards, but this is the first one I've ever accepted. I've now served for about a year. In that time, I've been impressed by every aspect of their mission and efforts to help spread awareness for what they do, along with how to reach an even greater audience. Currently, they're still a lean organization with great capacity if given the opportunity for the financial resources they need to really break through. At current financial levels, they're barely scratching the surface on the potential. They could do so much more with additional and funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

AmpleHarvest.org is a non-profit that genuinely believes in their mission and works endlessly to fight hunger in America. Gary Oppenheimer has boundless energy devoted to AmpleHarvest.org. The world needs more organizations like this one!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

At the most basic level, it's a practical solution to multiple issues - hunger, food insecurity, overall health, and elimination of waste. It's amazing that such a 'simple' idea can cover so much ground!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2011

more

December 7, 2011

I work with the AmpleHarvest.org campaign and have also used the Find a Local Food Pantry tool for gardeners to find several pantries in my community to bring produce donations to. AmpleHarvest.org helps to provide a sustainable solution to a serious problem; hunger across America. There are millions of gardeners in this country and if they're like the ones in my circle of family and friends, they've got excess produce that needs a home. Those in homes who regularly face bare shelves are more than excited to receive fresh delicious fruits and vegetables. It offers the opportunity for grassroots efforts to make an immediate and tangible difference. Not only does this campaign fight hunger, but also malnutrition by providing a healthy alternative full of essential vitamins and minerals which might otherwise be lacking in a diet dependent upon the processed foods often found on pantry shelves. AmpleHarvest.org offers a positive environmental impact as well by eliminating methane gas from produce that might otherwise be thrown away and left to rot, and because it's based on neighbors providing nutrition for neighbors, it cuts down on greenhouse gas emissions that would otherwise have been generated from long distance transport of food. In today's economy, food pantries are finding it increasingly difficult to find food. It costs a gardener pennies to grow a plant from seed and the bounty can provide food for months. Once local gardeners and farmers connect with their local food pantries, a continuous loop of giving is created for years to come. AmpleHarvest.org offers wonderful tools for food pantries and gardeners at absolutely no cost. That, combined with outreach and education efforts to create awareness about hunger in America, makes this a non-profit certainly deserving of 5 stars.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make AmpleHarvest.org an essential tool in running each and every food pantry across America from the moment they open their doors. One of the challenges food pantries face is visibility within their own communities. AmpleHarvest.org provides free tools for pantry managers to help create awareness and reach neighbors who can support them with donations of fresh produce, often lacking entirely on pantry shelves, as well as other essentials they make note of on their site registry.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What would you tell others about this organization?

AmpleHarvest.org is deserving of your support. In supporting this organization, you are showing the hungry people in America that you care that they receive wholesome healthy food. In the not so distant future, we will all come to depend on local community-based solutions for this and other challenges we face. AmpleHarvest.org is ahead of its time in providing such a solution.

December 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Last year I finally started planting the garden I always wanted. I had heard of AmpleHarvest's challenge to plant some extra so I put down 15 tomato plants instead of 5, and full packages of seeds where I only needed about 1/4 of the package. It turns out that we have so many families hurting in town financially that my extra produce never even made it to food pantries. I was simply delivering the bounty to local senior citizens that needed the food or having unemployed friends show up to help gather the harvest and take some home to their families. No-one was turned away, and the efforts of my little spade fed 10 families in need as well as my own. This year my 4-H students are going to assist with planting as well, and we hope for even more harvest to share. To that end we are trying to organize a seed swap in February to hook up gardeners with extra space with free seeds to plant. We are also gonig to ask for help from our local agricultural extension. Ample Harvest shows us we can work together to be good stewards of the land as well as each other. Celeste Hampton, The West Milford 4-H Velveteen Rabbit Club

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 28, 2011

more

February 28, 2011

In addition to the obvious benefit of providing food to the hungry, AmpleHarvest.org helps to connect people through the provision of a basic commodity - food. It taps into the essential "human- ness" of us all and our need to nurture and support one another. The program makes it easy for us all to do just that - share what we have with others to improve their situation and to meet an important human need of our own - to provide support and nurturing to others. When I was approached with a donation of three bushel baskets of lettuce, I was impressed with his generosity and overwhelmed with his with happiness and satisfaction in knowing what a difference he has made. AmpleHarvest.org provides the opportunity for this community of sharing to exist and benefit all.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I also work as a volunteer for Ample Harvest West Milford where we cultivate and maintain an Ample Harvest plot specifically for the purpose of distribution to the local food pantries. I've had the opportunity to be a part of all facets of the program and have seen the happy face of both recipients and volunteers. It just plain feels good to help out doing something you love knowing it will make a difference for someone else.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see more focus on assisting pantries educate their customers on the preparation of the fresh produce. I would also like to see more attention paid to empowering the recipients of the produce through giving them the opportunity to "give back" and contribute their value to the program and others in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 9, 2011

more

February 9, 2011

AmpleHarvest.org is an amazing organization that connects individuals that have with individuals that need. It's a simple idea that has a major impact on families that need healthy, available food by connecting them will supply right in their local community. By providing fresh produce, families in not only receive sustenance but healthy alternatives to the canned food that pantries usually provide.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

by seeing how families in need can connect with local gardeners, strengthening everyone in the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people involved!!!

January 7, 2011

more

January 7, 2011

As a non-profit ED who has worked with small, grass-roots programs for almost 20 years we knew that AmpleHarvest.org was a winner from the first time we heard about their work. Gary Oppenheimer's vision of eliminating hunger with the help of home gardeners is brilliant. Everything about this program is just right--an accomplished founder with vision, technical expertise, and a palpable passion for others; and home gardeners with the ability and desire to share their bounty with others. AmpleHarvest.org solves the ‘excess supply not being able to reach demand’ problem which has always plagued the country’s food bank system. News reports repeatedly share that this country produces sufficient food to feed everyone; AmpleHarvest.org takes a huge step in making that a reality by organizing a previously under-tapped resource.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the many reports of successes AmpleHarvest.org has shared with us as the number of registered food banks and pantries grow and as we learn of larger entities that have expressed an interest in partnering with them to expand their reach.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them find a significant donor who can underwrite the truly modest budget that the organization requires to continue its work which has far more than modest implications.

December 24, 2010

more

December 24, 2010

As a Master Gardener AND someone well aware of hunger, I was not happy when my prolific garden produced more than we could use... and excess food was left to rot in the garden. Some I was able to give away, but still more was lost.

In 2009, I created AmpleHarvest.org as a way for 40+
million home gardeners like me to be able to find a local food pantry eager for the excess harvest.

For me, the idea of turning dirt into dinner has always had an appeal.

AmpleHarvest.org is now giving millions of our needy neighbors the opportunity to feed their families with the same food we eat.... and in doing so, they are eating
-healthier (lower health care costs for America in the future)
-locally grown (smaller carbon foot print)
-and freshly harvested (kids learn that apples do not naturally come pre-sliced in cellophane and that carrots are not normally mushy)
food contributed by their neighbors.

Furthermore, the waste stream in America is reduced as is the methane emissions from municipal trash dumps.

In every sense of the word, AmpleHarvest.org is neighbors helping neighbors.

It is a one of a kind effort, backed by Google, the USDA, EPA, Rotary Int'l, VFW, AARP and many faith and service organizations across America that enables people to help the needy by reaching into their backyards instead of their back pockets.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

A survey done mid-harvest in August 2010 (with only 18% of the registered pantries responding) indicated more than 700,000 lbs of produce was donated to these pantries alone. The other 82% of the pantries produce donations (many of whom were not surveyed because they lack email) would be added to this. The feedback across the board has been extremely positive.... something you can see in on the www.AmpleHarvest.org/comments page as well as the media coverage on the www.AmpleHarvest.org/news page.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hire staff as soon as possible to help more pantries learn about AmpleHarvest.org and help more gardeners learn that they can make a difference in their own community. AmpleHarvest.org is changing the supply side dynamic of food in America. Volunteers can do it in time.... but a small team of full time people can do it even faster and better.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

I am the founder.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Raising sufficient monies to build up the necessary staffing and infrastructure as soon as possible.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Building a nationwide network of volunteers and interns to help AmpleHarvest.org's message reach every community in America. Our goal is to educate, encourage and enable 40 million gardeners to use, preserve or share with friends the bounty of their garden.... and then to donate the excess to a food pantry in their community.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 24, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 24, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

I am the Director of the St. Vincent dePaul Food Pantry located at St. Peter's Church in Concord, NH. I registered with Ample Harvest a year ago. A local farmer called me last summer and wanted to donate produce to us. We talked and she has become a benefactor. We both got several distributions as the summer and fall progressed, and she invited us to help with the harvest on her farm. One of our volunteers did so, and we have let others know of her offer to share her produce directly with food pantry client families. She had needed help in difficult times earlier in her life and was glad to be able to "give back".
The AmpleHarvest.org concept is helping many farmers and food pantries and I wish it well going forward.

George Weber

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

(see details in the Your Review field)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be in contact with state-level food banks for additional contacts.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Put fliers from http://www.ampleharvest.org/gardenshop at community garden shops, nurseries, supermarket bulletin boards, etc. to help local gardeners learn about the opportunity to donate their excess garden produce. Volunteer