Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12.5345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 2, 2014

more

May 2, 2014

I stopped contributing to AI USA. The calls and mail solicitations were EPIDEMIC. Three years later I still receive occasional solicitations. (Worse than the 1960s Catholic Church's harassment for funds!!!!) Steer clear of them.
April 3, 2013

My dealings with Amnesty International have been horrible. My initial donation I didn't mind, I was set up to donate fifteen dollars a month to them. However, I had issues with my debit card that I was using to pay the donations, and upon getting a new one, I made the decision to just stop my donations and I thought that would be it.

This was over a year and a half ago.

Since then, I have gotten ridiculous amounts of mail, always begging me to send money to a new cause or renew my membership. Today's mail was, "we've sent you reminders to renew your membership and you haven't replied." Doesn't that, coupled with the fact that I've not been donating for OVER a year now, give you the idea that I DON'T WANT TO DONATE TO YOU?

The worst is the calling. Someone else mentioned it-- it's disgusting. I started getting calls one day from a number that I didn't recognize, and they called AT LEAST once a day for weeks, and that was it. No message, no anything, just calls every day from a number I didn't recognize. Then, they stopped, and I thought all was good. However, I then started getting calls from another number, not as frequently, some days no call, some days one, some days multiple, and this time, it didn't really stop. After about a month of this, I got sick of it, and answered the phone. A man instantly launched into a scripted speech essentially asking me for money, and when I said I don't have any money to donate, he started in on the, "Well surely you can?" speech, and tried to wheedle money out of me. I had it at that point, and asked that I be added to the do not call me list. I actually told them to never call me again. This has not stopped them sending me mail, and I cannot for the life of me figure out how to get off their freakin' mail list.

Long story short, I have never dealt with an organization that is so incessant in their hunt for donations that in all essentiality, they are begging you for money. Beggars for the most part are more respectful, at least if you ignore them they will get the idea and not bother you. Amnesty's approach seems to be, "HEY MAYBE IF WE IRRITATE THEM ENOUGH THEY'LL GIVE US MONEY."

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am sitting here at my desk with a huge stack of envelopes from many charities deciding which organizations will receive my monthly tithe. According to what I have seen on CN I have decided not to donate to AI because they have such a low score. I will be sending my money elsewhere until they figure out what is most important! Thank you for your time, E. Hood

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have donated since the 1980s and also written letters on behalf of prisoners. last year I could not make a contribution because I'm unemployed, as I am this year. I just received a fundraising call. With barely a "hello" the guy started pelting me with all the horrible things taking place in the world, and since I know their time is money I said "I'm sorry to interrupt you but I know this is leading to a request for a contribution. I'm unemployed and though I still write letters, I have no money to send, so I'll thank you for your efforts, and let you get on to the next call." He obviously had a script for such an event because before I could hang up, he frantically said ARE YOU AWARE OF THE WOMAN IN EGYPT WHO WAS RAPED AND BEATEN BY POLICE AND HAD HER SKULL FRACTURED AND...I was stunned. I said "Yes, I am, because I keep up with such things on the website and write letters. But I just told you I have NO MONEY TO GIVE." He launched into an even worse story, which I interrupted by saying "Look... I told you I HAVE NO MONEY TO GIVE. What do you expect me to do?" He said any small amount would help, then launched into another horror story. I was shocked that anybody would use such terrorist tactics to guilt trip somebody like me into putting a donation I can't afford on my credit card, and I told him so. He said "Well, if you REALLY can't sent anything now to help us in our fight, I'll put you down for a call back in January." I said no, I didn't want a call back and please take me off the call list entirely. He said threateningly "I can do that but I need to warn you, taking you off the call list means you will NEVER hear from us again." I said at this point, that's exactly what I hoped. I will never contribute to this organization again even when I'm re-employed. Shame on them. I suspect this guy was working on commission, and that's why he was so adament.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Amnesty does amazing work giving voice to the voiceless, hope to the powerless and power to the oppressed. Do they engage in the most strategic, targeted marketing possible in their fundraising? Yes. Why would you want them to do anything less? They only do it because they need to and because it works. Sorry you are so offended by receiving an extra piece of mail, but think about what that mailing ultimately serves - people whose human rights are being violated.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I began donating to Amnesty a few years ago. I believe in what they do. However, they have the most predatory fund raising practices of any national charity I am familiar with. Respond to one of their fund raising calls with a donation and a few weeks later the fund raising calls invariably resume for yet another crisis. Repeat this pattern ad nauseam. I have asked them numerous times to place me on their do not call list. I said I would be happy to support them, just please stop the calls. At last I thought my request would be respected. I spoke to a polite representative, he assured me my request would be honored, I made a donation, then the calls restarted. For the last several weeks they have been calling twice a day. My answering machine has been screening calls. Last night they called again at the same time and I decided to pick up. This time I asked to be struck from all their lists. Not that I expect this request to be honored any more than the others. But I am through with them. My advice is to pick a higher rated human rights charity to support, unless, of course, you want to be hounded by incessant fund raising.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 17, 2012

I just received a robocall from Amnesty International thanking me for a past contribution and soliciting another contribution involving matching funds. I do not respond to phone solicitations but the robocall gave me no way of asking them to take me off their call list. The phone number they used was 888-281-7541 and when I called them back all I got was another recording. I went to their Web site and emailed them telling them to stop calling me. I am outraged by their sleazy behavior and will probably never donate to them again.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Passing such hostile judgement on an organization that works tirelessly to fight for human rights both locally and globally, after spending a few seconds on a website, is pretty inappropriate. Even if it were true (and its not) that AI isn't focused on Syria, that would hardly make them a "joke". Every organization has to decide how to allocate their limited resources by picking battles and sticking with them until they achieve their goals. Next time why don't you contact someone at the organization and ask.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2012

more

March 28, 2012

Not only am I a long time member, I am very pleased with all the work AI has done over the years. I personally have experienced their willingness to step up and help those in need. An old friend of mine had a family member in need of political asylum. I started a letter writing campaign (in true AI fashion) and reached out to AI as well thinking they would at least point me in the right direction. They not only responded to my letter within one week....they also helped my friend obtain legal representation and he is now living free from persecution here in the US. This kind of assistance does often cost a pretty penny so I can understand AI's financial rating so an extent. Nonetheless, it says something about the work they do to receive 4 stars for transparency and accountability.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Amnesy Itl is a joke. I'm trying to find an organization that supports the Syrian people who are suffering horrible human rights abuses under their own government. I went to Amnesty's website, and there is nothing on it about Syria -- not listed under campaigns or on the home page. Instead, they have a press release about a student in Ukraine whose rights were violated. Their mission statement says they are focused on addressing grave human rights violations. If a government slaughtering its own people in protest isn't human righs violation, what is?

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers