Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.954555
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

8 1/2 years ago I was blesses with a handsome little guy. He was born with a bilateral complete cleft lip and palate. I had no clue what to expect. I was offered great support and advice that I now share. Then in 2011 my oldest was diagnosed with Chiari 1 Malformation. Again, huge support :) very blessed to have had the great help I have received. Thank you!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope more people/organizations who could would donate.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

I am an adult with Goldenhar Syndrome. There were no groups to share information, understanding or compassion and empathy. We - my family and I were so very alone. because of the AMAZING work of this organization no one with a facial difference ever needs to feel alone again. For me, this is everything! I also have an amazing son who has a cleft lip and palate - this groups has excellent and well vetted informations!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get the word out to more people!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

When we found out about our son's cleft during ultrasound this was the first place we were able to get information. I really appreciate everything this foundation has done and is continuing to do today.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Simplify the website. Too much info very confusing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

What An Amazing Organization That Not Only Help Parents Of Children With Clefts..They Help Children Themselves In Reassurance That We Are Not The Only One's Out Here Dealing With These Daily Issues&Struggles

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make More Events Threw Out The State

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

We found cleft advocate ten years ago after our twenty week ultrasound showing our son would be born with a cleft lip and palate. This group of people were so welcoming , funny, supportive, encouraging and understanding. They continue to be the place we turn when we need advice, support or just understanding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have felt so fortunate to have such wonderful people that I could get support from and ask questions .If not for this group I do not know what I would have done because there is no one in my area that could have given me the support and advice that I have recived I feel very bless to have come across this group

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not they do a great job

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

My name is Kerri and I am the mother to an amazing daughter named Ella. Ella is now 8 and healing from a bone graft surgery which is her third surgery this year alone. She was born with a unilateral cleft lip and palate. She was our surprise in the delivery room because it was undected through an ultrasound. So many questions, concerns and feelings. I had no idea where to turn or who to talk to. I stumbled across cleftadvocate/Ameriface thankfully! My emotions were everywhere and I had no idea where to begin, what to expect and needed to know there were others out there like her. I needed information and parents. I needed someone to tell me that it was going to be alright. That my daughter was alright. I needed before and after pictures. I needed someone to explain to me what was going on and what was going to happen in non-medical terms. Someone that has been there and done that. Ameriface has been that place. Whether it's to share experiences, pictures, give advice for pre op and post op, stories, help with a team, insurance, a shoulder to cry on, or just to brag about how awesome our kids are..They have been there with open arms. Our children go through surgery after surgery. Procedure after procedure. Therapy appointment after therapy appointment. We know how another parent is feeling without even speaking a word. It's been such an amazing experience and I am so thankful to be a part of it all!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes. It's perfect the way it is!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

Our adopted son came home when he was seven-days-old. Although many would say that his face was not "perfect," to us he was beautiful. Chris was born with a moderately severe clefting of the lip, gums and hard and soft palates, left side.

Ignorance is self-defeating. Chris was turned
down by six other couples because they wanted a “perfect” baby, and in their ignorance, they passed up just that – the perfect – baby, our son.

Be that as it may, we were still concerned about being able to do all we could for our baby. Education was paramount, we knew that, but we needed more than education; we needed empowerment.

AmerFace accomplishes just that. As parents, we need more than step-by-step answers about lip closure on a baby, or getting your child to drink from a glass before palate closure; what do we do during those long months of healing from bone graft to keep our children comfortable and engaged when all they want to do is run and play? How do we handle bullying, speech therapies, self-image and what can we feed our children when they are not allowed solids for a stretch of time? What questions should I ask before each surgery?

Yes, I can get an education on line and at the library, but how do I educate my heart to help my child? Through AmeriFace and their FaceBook group CleftAdvocate. And that’s exactly what they help us to become: advocates for our children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I love this organization! Great to the families and children. My family is exrremely greatful. Thank you for all you do!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

In 2002 my son Jayton was born with a bilateral cleft lip and palate. It was a complete surprise so we definitely were not prepared. We live in a small community so children being born with a cleft are few and far between, so with that said, our hospital was not prepared either. We were basically sent home with the Haberman bottle and a smile. Thank goodness I found cleft Advocate and Debbie Oliver. Without Debbie and her passion to create such a wonderful organization I would not be where I am today. I am a strong mom and have an even stronger son due to her knowledge, & the connection with other families. Being able to jump online and ask a question and receive a handful of responses was a god send. I APPRECIATE and VALUE the support of cleft Advocate and AmeriFace.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist on-line or by telephone providing support and resources to patients and families; distribute feeding and outreach information locally/regionally; assist staff with administrative duties and/or fundraising. Volunteer