Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.954555
Write A Review
August 1, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 19, 2012

Have been part of this group since 2002 when our son was born. Wouldn't trade it for the world. AmeriFace and it's programs are an absolute great resource for families and individuals with craniofacia... more

August 1, 2014

I've been a client, parent advocate and volunteer for 12.5 years, since the beginning when Cleft Advocate first formed. Debbie had just begun forming the organization, and I've been served as a parent of a child with a craniofacial difference and I've been a volunteer.

I would do it again
in a heartbeat if I had to. This organization has done so much over the years. Hope it keeps on ticking for the next 12 yrs and more more to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

An actual office for the organization head. I'm sure she could utitlize it in so many ways. It would be more than beneficial for her.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 19, 2012

Have been part of this group since 2002 when our son was born. Wouldn't trade it for the world. AmeriFace and it's programs are an absolute great resource for families and individuals with craniofacial differences. Always glad to participate when I'm able.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

I've been a member of cleft Advocate since right around it's institution in it's early days. And Debbie is a wonderful advocate and parent. I haven't been involved in recent years, due to my chaotic lifestyle, but her website stil is and always has been the lead GOTO for information on anything craniofacial affiliated and information. I call her the "cA Guru" I have a local group (via phone and email connections only) that we meet once a month or so locally, for play dates, or just to connect when someone needs help. And she was the inspiration behind that networking. And I refer them all to her website: www.ameriface.org.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I ended up volunteering with AmeriFace because I fell in love with the people. I can't imagine going though my son's childhood without their support. cleftAdvocate was brand spanking new when I first stumbled on them, and they were a lifeline, a source of comfort, and a place of sanity. I honestly don't know what I would have done without them and am so glad I found them when my son was only a few months old. 12 years later, I love them just as much and I can't imagine my life without them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more funding and offices so they could do even more. I wish I could give them the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 10, 2013

I have been with this organization for about 8 years. It's got me eally tough times, celebrated good times and supported me through the whole roller coster. I will forever be greatful to have been g... more

July 30, 2014

I have been a member of this wonderful network of the most loving, caring, giving people for almost 10 years. I have to say that I couldn't have gone through some of the stuff I am reliving with my son without their loving support. When I first chatted with the founder on the phone it was amazing so touching to have an understanding person there to listen to me. I cannot say enough wonderful things about cA I love this community so much.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2013

I have been with this organization for about 8 years. It's got me eally tough times, celebrated good times and supported me through the whole roller coster. I will forever be greatful to have been given the privilage to meet so many of the families in person and to have gained lifelong friends. I constantly refer many to this network of friends for support, love questions. hope to meet some of you reading this real soon!

A. Kakiuchi (unilateral cleft lip) a proud mom to 8 yr old twins and a 5 yr old singleton (son born with a bilateral cleft lip and palate)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2012

I'm so happy to know about this non profit and every opportunity I get I tell others who could benefit from it. It has made all the difference in my life and helped me through tough times. I know many people who the group has had a life changing impact. I have made life long friends.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

The cleftAdvocate Facebook page is an amazing resource for parents/families in the cleft community. I have never seen such a supportive group of people who are all so eager to give advise, share testimonies, and celebrate progress as this group is. As a young adult with a cleft, I'm aware that one day I might have a child with a cleft myself, and it is very encouraging to see these resources out there!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

Cleft Advocate and Ameriface were not around when my son was born. However, a year later it was. It was a great way for me to learn more about how to care for my son but also to help others who were... more

July 29, 2014

Ameriface has been with my family since my son was a year old. They have been with us for good and the bad. I have also been able to help others due to this organization. I have become friends with many of the families and we have been able to watch our kids grow and become happy healthy teens.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think the changes need to be made. Debbie has spent so much time making sure it is what everyone needs not just some of us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 10, 2012

Cleft Advocate and Ameriface were not around when my son was born. However, a year later it was. It was a great way for me to learn more about how to care for my son but also to help others who were stepping into my shoes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

The sense of community that they bring to the families affected by Cleft, is invaluable. There can't be enough education for the public and families outside of just the medical perspective.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

When our son was born with a cleft lip and cleft palate we didn't know what that meant, so beyond the shock of this when he was born, we started our research almost 9 years ago when the internet was just blooming. No wi-fi, all dial in, and we found AmeriFace and Cleft Advocate. They mailed us literature, and at that time a VCR tape, insert smiley, and talked with me on the phone to educate me on what a cleft was and what we needed to do.
Here we are 9 years later with a healthy active baseball player, four surgeries post, and very blessed to have organizations like this. I have referred many families to them, and support them financially when we can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have the organization more visible in hospitals, OB offices, and physicians offices to let people know about this birth defect and educate people on what it means to have this facial difference.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

I found CleftAdvocate shortly after my daughter was born 11 years ago with a cleft palate. I didn't know what to do or where to turn to for help. They were truly a beacon of light shining through the darkness of my despair when we just couldn't figure out how to feed our baby. The information and support I received from CleftAdvocate were life changing for me, my daughter and our whole family. I can't thank them enough and only hope that my story can help someone else as much as CleftAdvocate helped me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

When your family recieves a cleft diagnosis, it can be overwhelming-at least it was for us. Finding reliable information is a godsend as we soon learn that cleft, though challenging, is navigatable. We watched the cleft feeding video over and over before our little one was born so we would have the confidence to feed her. Aside from needed support in the early stages this organization helps you as your child grows. Often kids need dental, speech, hearing and psychosocial support, not to mention help with health insurance. Ameriface helped me know what questions to ask doctors. Through the group, I have met adults with cleft. It is an awesome organization that makes a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grow it's curriculum to help speech therapist address cleft specific problems and have more resources for mom's who exclusively pump- a 1800 lactation specialist to call would rock.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

The information found on the ameriFace/CleftAdvocate website, Facebook page, via its members, and by Debbie Oliver was paramount in helping us get insurance coverage for our daughter's most recent surgery. Not only were we welcomed with open arms, but we were overwhelmed by the vast amount of knowledge, support, and genuine care and concern offered. Thanks for such an amazing resource for families with children with facial differences. We couldn't have done it without you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More user friendly, visibly appealing website.....seems a bit dated in comparison to others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist on-line or by telephone providing support and resources to patients and families; distribute feeding and outreach information locally/regionally; assist staff with administrative duties and/or fundraising. Volunteer