Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.931035
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have felt so fortunate to have such wonderful people that I could get support from and ask questions .If not for this group I do not know what I would have done because there is no one in my area that could have given me the support and advice that I have recived I feel very bless to have come across this group

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not they do a great job

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 6, 2012

I'm so happy to know about this non profit and every opportunity I get I tell others who could benefit from it. It has made all the difference in my life and helped me through tough times. I know many... more

October 10, 2013

I have been with this organization for about 8 years. It's got me eally tough times, celebrated good times and supported me through the whole roller coster. I will forever be greatful to have been given the privilage to meet so many of the families in person and to have gained lifelong friends. I constantly refer many to this network of friends for support, love questions. hope to meet some of you reading this real soon!

A. Kakiuchi (unilateral cleft lip) a proud mom to 8 yr old twins and a 5 yr old singleton (son born with a bilateral cleft lip and palate)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2012

I'm so happy to know about this non profit and every opportunity I get I tell others who could benefit from it. It has made all the difference in my life and helped me through tough times. I know many people who the group has had a life changing impact. I have made life long friends.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

My name is Kerri and I am the mother to an amazing daughter named Ella. Ella is now 8 and healing from a bone graft surgery which is her third surgery this year alone. She was born with a unilateral cleft lip and palate. She was our surprise in the delivery room because it was undected through an ultrasound. So many questions, concerns and feelings. I had no idea where to turn or who to talk to. I stumbled across cleftadvocate/Ameriface thankfully! My emotions were everywhere and I had no idea where to begin, what to expect and needed to know there were others out there like her. I needed information and parents. I needed someone to tell me that it was going to be alright. That my daughter was alright. I needed before and after pictures. I needed someone to explain to me what was going on and what was going to happen in non-medical terms. Someone that has been there and done that. Ameriface has been that place. Whether it's to share experiences, pictures, give advice for pre op and post op, stories, help with a team, insurance, a shoulder to cry on, or just to brag about how awesome our kids are..They have been there with open arms. Our children go through surgery after surgery. Procedure after procedure. Therapy appointment after therapy appointment. We know how another parent is feeling without even speaking a word. It's been such an amazing experience and I am so thankful to be a part of it all!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes. It's perfect the way it is!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

Our adopted son came home when he was seven-days-old. Although many would say that his face was not "perfect," to us he was beautiful. Chris was born with a moderately severe clefting of the lip, gums and hard and soft palates, left side.

Ignorance is self-defeating. Chris was turned
down by six other couples because they wanted a “perfect” baby, and in their ignorance, they passed up just that – the perfect – baby, our son.

Be that as it may, we were still concerned about being able to do all we could for our baby. Education was paramount, we knew that, but we needed more than education; we needed empowerment.

AmerFace accomplishes just that. As parents, we need more than step-by-step answers about lip closure on a baby, or getting your child to drink from a glass before palate closure; what do we do during those long months of healing from bone graft to keep our children comfortable and engaged when all they want to do is run and play? How do we handle bullying, speech therapies, self-image and what can we feed our children when they are not allowed solids for a stretch of time? What questions should I ask before each surgery?

Yes, I can get an education on line and at the library, but how do I educate my heart to help my child? Through AmeriFace and their FaceBook group CleftAdvocate. And that’s exactly what they help us to become: advocates for our children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I love this organization! Great to the families and children. My family is exrremely greatful. Thank you for all you do!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

In 2002 my son Jayton was born with a bilateral cleft lip and palate. It was a complete surprise so we definitely were not prepared. We live in a small community so children being born with a cleft are few and far between, so with that said, our hospital was not prepared either. We were basically sent home with the Haberman bottle and a smile. Thank goodness I found cleft Advocate and Debbie Oliver. Without Debbie and her passion to create such a wonderful organization I would not be where I am today. I am a strong mom and have an even stronger son due to her knowledge, & the connection with other families. Being able to jump online and ask a question and receive a handful of responses was a god send. I APPRECIATE and VALUE the support of cleft Advocate and AmeriFace.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

In October of 2001, my son was born with a cleft lip and palate. I was a single mother and I was terrified. I stumbled across many organizations through the internet, but none that made feel as comfortable and welcome as AmeriFace. Debbie Oliver and the people I met through the network changed my life. They felt like family- and to this day, still do. I honestly don't think I could have made it through my son's early years without the advice, support, friendship, and love of this group. Every question I had about my son's care was answered from someone who had been there. And now, I am one of the "old timers" and I get to help others! Amazing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure that every parent of a cleft affected child found this group as soon as possible!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

To start Ameriface has been awesome to our family. I love Debbie Oliver and everyone who has touched our lives and helped us. In April 2007 my son was born with a unilateral cleft lip and palate. The nurses in the hospital didn't know how to feed him and I thought I would end up feeding him through a straw or cup. The nurses there put a tube in his nose to feed him. One of the nurses that came on remembered a packet that was dropped off at the hospital by this group and asked me if they could call them for me. I said "yes please do". If I wasn't able to get him to eat in the next 12 hours they were going to do a GI tube. I didn't want that to happen. A little later Debbie called me and asked if she could send another parent who had a son born with the same thing. I again said "please do". She sent Monica (my angel in disguise) and her son to see me and my son in the hospital. She then showed me how to feed him and gave me a packet with info. We talked about surgeries and what to expect. We are still friends and she has even taken us to one of my sons surgeries when my husband had to work. I love everyone that I have had the pleasure to meet through this organization. They are such a blessing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

In 2007, my son was born with a unilateral cleft lip and hole in his soft palate. There is no worse feeling that being told that there is a problem with your unborn fetus. You feel alone as if this has happened to noone else but you. Finding Ameriface was one of the best things I could have done. It brings a light that you may not have seen before, knowing that there are others like you going through the same thing. You suddenly feel like if they can get through it, so can you. This organization has not only helped me but it has helped me help others going through the same thing. There are so many resources that Ameriface has brought to my attention for my son, that I didn't even know existed. I am so incredibly thankful that is organization exists.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes....Debbie Oliver is the best!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2012

more


1 previous review
June 6, 2012

I've been a member of cleft Advocate since right around it's institution in it's early days. And Debbie is a wonderful advocate and parent. I haven't been involved in recent years, due to my chaotic l... more

November 19, 2012

Have been part of this group since 2002 when our son was born. Wouldn't trade it for the world. AmeriFace and it's programs are an absolute great resource for families and individuals with craniofacial differences. Always glad to participate when I'm able.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

I've been a member of cleft Advocate since right around it's institution in it's early days. And Debbie is a wonderful advocate and parent. I haven't been involved in recent years, due to my chaotic lifestyle, but her website stil is and always has been the lead GOTO for information on anything craniofacial affiliated and information. I call her the "cA Guru" I have a local group (via phone and email connections only) that we meet once a month or so locally, for play dates, or just to connect when someone needs help. And she was the inspiration behind that networking. And I refer them all to her website: www.ameriface.org.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist on-line or by telephone providing support and resources to patients and families; distribute feeding and outreach information locally/regionally; assist staff with administrative duties and/or fundraising. Volunteer