Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

As a local community member, I have seen the tremendous growth of America's Grow a Row. I became involved locally with my family, and now I have partnered with them to bring over 50 student-athletes from Seton Hall University to support their cause. Each year we bring our students to the fields to pick vegetables that will end up on the tables of the people in the communities next to our campus. Additionally, a former Seton Hall Legend from the basketball court, Jerry Walker has partnered with Chip to bring kids from the inner city to experience the farm and learn about healthy eating.
August 20, 2014

more

August 20, 2014

My family and I have volunteered with America's Grow A Row in the fields and providing professional advice for providing access to and water for one of their farming sites.

The time spent in the fields is rewarding and great fun! The AGAR staff is extremely efficient in organizing the
volunteer efforts, especially the time spent in the field picking produce. Through use of their website and emails, small and large/corporate groups are organized for a few hours of picking produce at various times during the week and weekends. All ages participate and the younger kids have a blast!

It is amazing to watch thousands of pounds of produce go from vine, stalk or tree, into bags by the volunteers, then large boxes which are immediately loaded into trucks for delivery to various food banks and those in need................all in a matter of a few hours!

There are many great opportunities to volunteer including planting, harvesting, transporting, education and fundraising. Involve your families, schools, churches, sports teams, college students/organizations, and corporations/employers. Give back and have fun!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

I have volunteered with America's Grow-a-Row twice through my corporation. It is truly one of the most rewarding experiences I have ever had. Not only do I learn about the rigor it takes to farm the fields (and I always feel that rigor the next morning!), but I see the fruits of our labor get picked up directly from the local food bank. As a team bonding activity for an organization that is aiming to make sustainable living commonplace, this organization always has the team motivated to make a brighter future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

Grow-a-row is a truly fantastic organization. I have been volunteering with them for about 4 years now. It started through my company's United Way program, but has since expanded to include my family, church, and cub scout group.

Grow-a-row makes a lot out of very little. They have a
very noble goal - give fresh produce to people who otherwise wouldn't have anything to eat. Most of us are very blessed to be able to eat whatever we want; try fasting for a day, and you will appreciate what Grow-a-Row does!

As a volunteer, they use your time very efficiently - you can plant beans, harvest corn, gather fruit, and so on. I have picked cabbage (very hard), tomatoes and green beans (pretty easy), and corn (kind of in between). I planted green bean seeds on what was probably the hottest day of the year, and I've picked corn in weather than can best be described as a monsoon. (I've also had plenty of good weather experiences!). I have never regretted a minute of the time spent with Grow-a-row.

Much of what they do is "glean" - go through fields or orchards after the owner has harvested the prime vegetables or fruits, but there is still plenty of good produce available. The "gleaners" go through and gather all of that produce, all of which is perfectly acceptable food and otherwise would have gone to waste. That is an outstanding use of resources, both natural and volunteer.

Grow-a-row also makes excellent use of the financial contributions they get. They aren't driving fancy trucks and buying new machines. They stretch every dollar as far as they can, buying second-hand tractors and so on.

Their educational components is also excellent. Each time we take our cub scouts, the boys learn about vegetable, produce, nutrition, and more. Their program with inner city youth is absolutely fantastic.

Finally, I served on the board of directors of the United Way of Hunterdon County. Through that experience, I got to know quite a few non-profit organizations. While UWHC sponsors many great agencies, I believe America's Grow-a-Row is one of the best, if not the best. They have excellent leadership, they are financially very smart, and make fantastic use of volunteer time.

I can't say enough good things about America's Grow-a-row. I only wish I had more time to devote to them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it into other areas. Clone them. Figure out how to franchise them. They are a model organization, serving a truly great cause in a very cost-effective and time-effective manner. They are called "America's Grow-a-Row", but are located only in New Jersey. I think the rest of the country could benefit from having agencies like AGAR!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 16, 2014

more

August 16, 2014

The AGAR staff truly appreciate the volunteers and show it in all their work. I love being able to volunteer with my family, and my children are learning a valuable lesson about giving back to the communities of NJ. I am so glad they are addressing such a important need for so many people. Somehow they make hard work fun.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it an unlimited budget!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

Both my family and Highlands Presbyterian Church where I serve as pastor have had wonderful service-learning experiences with AGAR through the years. Our groups have picked peaches, green beans, apples, and corn at different times and places. Not only do we learn a task that brings us closer to the earth, but we also take away the knowledge that giving of our time and energy can be good for others as well.
One year our daughter chose to have her birthday party at a nearby farm where the kids all picked apples for AGAR to be given to a food bank. It was a lot of fun and helped raise awareness with the parents and kids about this great organization and how it helps millions of people.
A group from the church went to Camden NJ one Friday to experience the Free Farm Market delivering fresh produce to people with limited access to it. For my congregants this program of AGAR gave them a chance to step out of their comfort zone and interact directly with folks who live in a place which gets very bad press. This opportunity transformed the issue of poverty and hunger into something personal and real.
I appreciate the good communicators at AGAR - Leena, Chip, Jules, Heather, Sally, etc. - are all folks who are personable, knowledgeable, and dependable leaders in this organization and it has been a joy to work with them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spend more time as a part of it

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 12, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 12, 2014

Awesome place. I love the staff....they are just so friendly. The work was fun, too. More importanty, my time at AGAR was meaningful. Blessings to Chip and family!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create more jobs and then advertise. I am a Theology and Ministry student and...I would love to work there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

America's Grow-a-Row's endeavors helps to energize our congregation's desire to assist in "growing" our own Mission Garden. AGAR helped us educate our own volunteers and the result has been a 5-year old Mission Garden project that this year alone, produced a 250% increase over last year of fresh produce both grown and donated to our local food banks. Creating awareness is only the first step. AGAR has done an amazing job empowering and motivating individuals and other charitable organizations to make a difference in our less fortunate neighbor's lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

The overall experience with America's Grow a Row has been tremendous. Having served as a volunteer for several years, and leading a group of volunteers for the same amount of time has been one of the easiest events to plan.
AGAR Staff effectively communicate their needs and expectations.
Provide the proper instructions on site and are highly motivated to achieve a goal. The work experience is just the right amount of time to make you feel as though you have contributed a great deal but not so much that you are overworked.
The Staff also explain the impact that your volunteer work will make and explain the experience of providing food to the end user.

Keep up the great work AGAR !!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

AGAR is a terrific group that is making a difference in the lives of so many New Jersey residents. They provide opportunities for thousands of volunteers to contribute their time and talents, they educate students about healthy eating, and they distribute the produce so those who are hungry can receive nutritional food. AGAR is filled with dedicated people who are doing everything possible to stamp out hunger in NJ. When Chip started AGAR, he started a powerful movement that has changed the lives of millions.

More feedback...

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pick fruits and vegetables to be delivered to those in need. Volunteer