Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

AGAR is a terrific group that is making a difference in the lives of so many New Jersey residents. They provide opportunities for thousands of volunteers to contribute their time and talents, they educate students about healthy eating, and they distribute the produce so those who are hungry can receive nutritional food. AGAR is filled with dedicated people who are doing everything possible to stamp out hunger in NJ. When Chip started AGAR, he started a powerful movement that has changed the lives of millions.

More feedback...

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 20, 2012

Americas Grow-A-Row is one of the most outstanding programs and ideas a nation could ever hope to experience and enjoy taking part in. The message, support of volunteers and bottom line results of AGA... more

August 22, 2013

Americas Grow-A-Row is one of the greatest ideas and organizations in the volunteer world. Nowhere else could you give a few hours of your time and instantly see the enormous benefits you have just provided to far too many in need. With poor nutrition and diet being two of the biggest and costliest issues throughout NJ and our nation, it is just tremendous that this program continues chip away at ending these problems.

Our founder and President Chip Paillex is one of the finest people and natural leaders that I have ever known and his personality, spirit and energy continue to motivate everyone involved with AGAR. We are grateful to all that continue to both touch and support this outstanding program and we look to all of you to continue to help us win this battle. Although we find ourselves in the first inning of a long game vs. hunger, Americas Grow-a-Row has the team through its ever growing networks of support to win and win we will!

Thanks to all for your dedication to AGAR.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Feeley
Volunteer & Trustee
Americas Grow-a-Row

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2012

Americas Grow-A-Row is one of the most outstanding programs and ideas a nation could ever hope to experience and enjoy taking part in. The message, support of volunteers and bottom line results of AGAR are so powerful that few other ideas will match it's benefits to our fellow citizens.With a volunteer base in the thousands and growing this NJ based non-profit is having a profound impact on the health and educational needs of so many throughout our state that are in need of great nutritious fruit & vegetables in their daily diet. All of us volunteers show our willingness to our fellow citizens by working in the fields throughout each year growing, gleaning and giving fresh produce which we have planted and cared for to shelters, soup kitchens and foodbanks throughout NJ. At the same time we are educating both ourselves as volunteers and many inner city youth about the importance of farming and eating healthy. In a world and a nation that are consumed each and every day with huge problems to deal with, Americas Grow-A-Row is getting out in front of a few of our biggest issues and improving the lives of so many while doing so. This organization is so brilliant for its simplicity of message yet so dedicated to the core belief of our needs and obligations to help our fellow citizens in need. Truly the very best in breed and we continue to urge for the support we need to continue the growth of a fantastic idea and vision. Hats of to AGAR!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 11, 2013

more

March 11, 2013

My family and I have been involved with America's Grow-A-Row for the past 8 years. Chip Paillex founded this organization as a mission project through our church and it is amazing to see how it has grown over the years. AGAR is unique in so many ways--it is one of the few local charities where my entire family can volunteer together, my girls were 9 and 7 when they picked their first ear of corn! Meeting and talking to neighbors and new friends between the corn rows, finding out that as a group we picked thousands of pounds of corn that would be feeding families the next day--is just a wonderful feeling. I coordinate one of the gleaning programs where volunteers pick up "not quite retail perfect" produce from local grocery stores and deliver to our local food banks. We average about 5000 - 6000 pounds a month! The employees at the stores beam when we come to pick up the produce as it used to be thrown out. My daughter completed her Girl Scout Gold Award with an education project for AGAR. We love America's Grow-A-Row and are so proud to be part of such a fantastic program!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 23, 2013

more

February 23, 2013

I was pulled into helping with America's Grow-A-Row through friends that had done volunteer work with the organization. One afternoon in the field was all it took for me to be inspired by what this wonderful group of people does. Being part of this process has made me realize just what a necessary service AGAR is. In my naivete, I was shocked to learn about those that go without fresh fruits and vegetables. As I have volunteered not only in the fields but in classroom education, I continue to be energized by the outreach in the community to educate and provide. Although there is always more that I can do, the most important, I believe, is to spread the word about the opportunities here. What is also great about AGAR is the ability to welcome all ages in lending a helping hand. The fresh air, physical work and doing what is so basic to life, growing and feeding others, sets AGAR apart. It's easy to see where the time and effort goes and makes me proud to think I am helping in such an organic way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

I am so proud to know Chip Paillex and all of his incredible team! Last fall I brought my 1st and 2nd grade sons to help apple pick right after the hurricane. About 20 people were there, and we rescued 3000 lbs of apples! It was hard work. While we worked, I was able to have some powerful conversations with my boys. They have not gone without fresh food, but I have. When I was growing up in Jersey City with my mom, we rarely could afford fresh fruits or vegetables. They were surprised, and saddened. It didn't make sense to them. "But everyone should have them mom, that's not fair" said my 2nd grader. I replied "I know, that's why we're here" He quickly asked "when can we come back?!" AGAR changes lives. Fresh food is not only critical for nutrition, but for everyone to know what is possible. Yes, you can! Thank you AGAR

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 26, 2012

more

August 26, 2012

My family has been involved with AGAR since the founding by Chip many years ago. It has been an amazing story to watch as it grew from Chip starting a small vegetable patch with a few volunteers to where it is today, harvesting many thousand of pounds of vegetables every year to help feed those in need. One of the things that I appreciate most about the program is the many volunteers who become engaged in doing good for others. The lessons learned by the hundreds of kids volunteering and learning about serving others is not known at this time but I am confident it will surely reap a great harvest in the future... Chip and his staff are incredibly dedicated and passionate about AGAR and I am totally committed to continuing to support the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
August 22, 2012

I was first introduced to Chip and America's Grow-a-Row in 2010 when my branding and marketing agency worked with the organization for a charitable promotion. He and his team were exceptionally passionate and a pleasure to work with. It took a little while - but we finally decided to volunteer as an office by picking green beans at Peaceful Valley Orchards in Pittstown, NJ. Around 75 volunteers came out and it was a record day -- over 900 lbs of fresh, locally grown beans delivered straight to people that need it around New Jersey. The experience was very relaxing and rewarding, plus we enjoyed meeting and talking with fellow volunteers. A few hours later, I suggested my girlfriend (and about 9 other friends) look into volunteering as well. Sure enough, she and I were back in the field the next night to pick corn... this time, about 25 volunteers picked an entire field -- 4000 lbs. Chip's desire to help others is so apparent in his actions that it helped motivate the group to continue picking until the last possible bit of light had been lost. It was awesome. In spending time talking to Chip and his team I've also realized how savvy and ambitious they are. The organization is perfectly suited to grow and can be scaled very efficiently. I plan to continue supporting them and hope that others, from everyday volunteers to large donors do the same. Their impact is immeasurable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012

more

August 22, 2012

America's Grow-A-Row is a fabulous organization of very dedicated individuals who have worked tirelessly to provide fresh food for the needy. In doing so they have created a model that also allows many, many people who would like to do something a simple, rewarding, and enjoyable way to turn hard work into something positive. Once you start working in the fields amongst the other volunteers the spirit becomes contagious and you want to do it again and again. The rewards for your labor are right there in the box of beans or pail of tomatoes. You pick upthe box and immediately feel the weight of what you accomplished. Chip is tireless in his efforts, yet he is always ready to give all the credit to the volunteers helping out that day. He not only makes everything run smoothly, but he makes everyone feel special. That is the key to the magic of America's Grow-A-Row.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012

more

August 22, 2012

I've had the good fortune of being involved with America's Grow-a-Row through my company for over a year now and I can honestly say they are a fantastic organization. Over this time I've had the chance to get to know Leena and Chip through our volunteer efforts and you would be hard pressed to find two that are more dedicated and passionate about their work. They have welcomed us with open arms and have allowed us to help them in their mission to provide low income families and communities with access to fresh fruit and vegetables. It makes me feel good to know that I'm helping people in need and none of this would have been possible without the dedicated staff of America's Grow-a-Row.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Helped build friendships at work and gave us a good excuse to get outside at the end of the day!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Made me great as it provided an opportunity to make a difference in the lives of others within the greater NJ area.

August 22, 2012

more

August 22, 2012

As a leader of the Confirmation class at church I can hardly describe the value of the lesson learned by our students through AGAR. Our youth (and adults) are bombarded daily by the message, "It's all about you and getting what you want so that you can be happy." The best antidote to the "Disease of Me" that we have found is taking privileged youth out to the fields to harvest healthy fresh produce for someone who desperately needs it, but can never repay them. Some of the students delivered the produce to the soup kitchen and saw the reaction when the less fortunate realized that someone they did not even know took the time to give them food that was fresh, not boxed or canned. Every volunteer left that field with a much clearer perspective on what is important and how much we take for granted. The benefit of being an AGAR volunteer is leaving with a full heart, and planting "seeds" that may grow in years to come. This is why we have made AGAR participation a regular part of our Confirmation, Youth and Adult activities. I strongly recommend AGAR volunteering to one and all!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Confirmation as described above.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Just keep expanding it and getting the message out to people who don't know about it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I would not change anything. Part of the appeal is that the volunteers are there to give back, not take or be "pampered".

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes as described above.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It felt great. I look forward to the next opportunity.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pick fruits and vegetables to be delivered to those in need. Volunteer