Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

AGAR is a terrific organization that is having a real impact on the hunger crisis in New Jersey, helping to feed those in need with fresh, healthy fresh and vegetables. With a limited staff of 3 full-time and 3 part-time employees and an extensive network of approximately 3,000 volunteers, AGAR grows, gleans, and donates desperately needed fresh produce to food banks, food pantries and soup kitchens all over New Jersey, including “food desert” areas that lack access to affordable fresh produce. AGAR also provides education programs in schools and “on-the-field” that address healthy eating, the hunger crisis, volunteerism, and the role of agriculture in our food system.

AGAR successfully combines a business model to the framework of a mission-driven non-profit, working closely with partner agencies to fill orders and tailor the mix of produce provided based on what is most needed and most requested. They have created an inventory management system and are able to distribute produce in a timely manner that does not require refrigeration or long-term storage.

The enthusiasm and energy in the AGAR organization is contagious and they are making a very real, positive difference in the lives of our neighbors in need in NJ.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013


AGAR is a great nonprofit that provides a great service to those in need in the state of New Jersey. Their unique approach to tackling this problem is effective. They are having a real impact and their fast-pace growth is a testament to their results. They do this while also being a great
steward of their limited resources and an incredible volunteer force.

Please consider AGAR when you are contemplating making a charitable gift to a deserving nonprofit. AGAR is a worthy cause!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I have a passion for gardening and being of service to others, AGAR has been able to meet both of these needs over the past 5 years. My family and I have been involved in a number of volunteer oppprtunities that have come up over the years. My personal favorite is picking corn in the summer and seeing bin after bin full of healthy food ready for pick-up by the food banks. My wife and I are part of the team that gleans from the local Shop-Rite and distributes veggies and fruit to those in need from the Flemington area. We have also helped out with the Free Farm Market set up in the Camden area for people that have limited access to healty produce. II continue to see first hand the impact AGAR has on the lives of those who volunteer as well as those who benefit from servings of fruits and vegetable and because of this I will gladly continue to volunteer for years to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Currently, the East Orange YMCA, America's Grow-a-Row and Rutgers University College of Nursing is partnering together in a pilot program that includes an America's Grow-A-Row Free Farm Market, youth days at the actual farm and a health impact study. Y families pick fresh fruits and vegetables at the Y, participate in brief nutrition classes, take questionaires and our summer camp kids experienced a day at the farm harvesting fresh produce.

The East Orange YMCA is very excited to share this healthy living program with our community and know that it will change healthy living habits. A few of our families and staff have said:

"I made a smoothie (1 gallon) for the Y staff the next day using the peaches and then added green apples, spinach, kale, cinnamon and ginger with some coconut juice (this brand has bits of coconut in it). We discussed chipping in on a regular basis to buy fresh fruits and vegetables at a farmer's market that I can juice for everyone and we're already sharing recipes. Yummy!"

"The produce was fresh and delicious. I just cooked the last of the string beans and my grandchildren really enjoyed the peaches."

"Since the Farmer's Market came to the YMCA, I really look forward to the fresh fruits and vegetables. I have always eaten a lot of sweets and many things that are not good for me on a daily basis. Now, I am learning how to eat in smaller portions and how to choose healthier food selections. The first time I tried the corn I literally ate it with every meal. The corn has a different taste than what I get from the supermarket. My granddaughter loves the apples and asks me everyday to bring her some apples. If I come home without an apple, she tells me I am not her friend. I appreciate the collaboration between Grow-A-Row and the East Orange YMCA. This community, including myself, can learn how to adapt healthier eating habits in our daily lives."

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

AGAR is an excellent example of an important nonprofit organization which is changing lives. Normally it's the lives of the receivers of a service provided that are changed, however in this instance, it's all of the lives that are touched in the process of planting and harvesting and education, that are changed as well. The growth of AGAR is the testimony to its value. It's ability to produce fresh produce has grown; the camps, conference centers, churches that support it have grown; the corporate and political support has grown; the number of volunteers has grown; the number of people touched by its outreach has grown. Working with many Christian nonprofits across the US, I have been especially impressed with the evolution of AGAR. Special blessings to an incredible team!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

AGAR is a terrific group that is making a difference in the lives of so many New Jersey residents. They provide opportunities for thousands of volunteers to contribute their time and talents, they educate students about healthy eating, and they distribute the produce so those who are hungry can receive nutritional food. AGAR is filled with dedicated people who are doing everything possible to stamp out hunger in NJ. When Chip started AGAR, he started a powerful movement that has changed the lives of millions.

More feedback...

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 20, 2012

Americas Grow-A-Row is one of the most outstanding programs and ideas a nation could ever hope to experience and enjoy taking part in. The message, support of volunteers and bottom line results of AGA... more

August 22, 2013

Americas Grow-A-Row is one of the greatest ideas and organizations in the volunteer world. Nowhere else could you give a few hours of your time and instantly see the enormous benefits you have just provided to far too many in need. With poor nutrition and diet being two of the biggest and costliest issues throughout NJ and our nation, it is just tremendous that this program continues chip away at ending these problems.

Our founder and President Chip Paillex is one of the finest people and natural leaders that I have ever known and his personality, spirit and energy continue to motivate everyone involved with AGAR. We are grateful to all that continue to both touch and support this outstanding program and we look to all of you to continue to help us win this battle. Although we find ourselves in the first inning of a long game vs. hunger, Americas Grow-a-Row has the team through its ever growing networks of support to win and win we will!

Thanks to all for your dedication to AGAR.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Feeley
Volunteer & Trustee
Americas Grow-a-Row

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2012

Americas Grow-A-Row is one of the most outstanding programs and ideas a nation could ever hope to experience and enjoy taking part in. The message, support of volunteers and bottom line results of AGAR are so powerful that few other ideas will match it's benefits to our fellow citizens.With a volunteer base in the thousands and growing this NJ based non-profit is having a profound impact on the health and educational needs of so many throughout our state that are in need of great nutritious fruit & vegetables in their daily diet. All of us volunteers show our willingness to our fellow citizens by working in the fields throughout each year growing, gleaning and giving fresh produce which we have planted and cared for to shelters, soup kitchens and foodbanks throughout NJ. At the same time we are educating both ourselves as volunteers and many inner city youth about the importance of farming and eating healthy. In a world and a nation that are consumed each and every day with huge problems to deal with, Americas Grow-A-Row is getting out in front of a few of our biggest issues and improving the lives of so many while doing so. This organization is so brilliant for its simplicity of message yet so dedicated to the core belief of our needs and obligations to help our fellow citizens in need. Truly the very best in breed and we continue to urge for the support we need to continue the growth of a fantastic idea and vision. Hats of to AGAR!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 11, 2013

more

March 11, 2013

My family and I have been involved with America's Grow-A-Row for the past 8 years. Chip Paillex founded this organization as a mission project through our church and it is amazing to see how it has grown over the years. AGAR is unique in so many ways--it is one of the few local charities where my entire family can volunteer together, my girls were 9 and 7 when they picked their first ear of corn! Meeting and talking to neighbors and new friends between the corn rows, finding out that as a group we picked thousands of pounds of corn that would be feeding families the next day--is just a wonderful feeling. I coordinate one of the gleaning programs where volunteers pick up "not quite retail perfect" produce from local grocery stores and deliver to our local food banks. We average about 5000 - 6000 pounds a month! The employees at the stores beam when we come to pick up the produce as it used to be thrown out. My daughter completed her Girl Scout Gold Award with an education project for AGAR. We love America's Grow-A-Row and are so proud to be part of such a fantastic program!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 23, 2013

more

February 23, 2013

I was pulled into helping with America's Grow-A-Row through friends that had done volunteer work with the organization. One afternoon in the field was all it took for me to be inspired by what this wonderful group of people does. Being part of this process has made me realize just what a necessary service AGAR is. In my naivete, I was shocked to learn about those that go without fresh fruits and vegetables. As I have volunteered not only in the fields but in classroom education, I continue to be energized by the outreach in the community to educate and provide. Although there is always more that I can do, the most important, I believe, is to spread the word about the opportunities here. What is also great about AGAR is the ability to welcome all ages in lending a helping hand. The fresh air, physical work and doing what is so basic to life, growing and feeding others, sets AGAR apart. It's easy to see where the time and effort goes and makes me proud to think I am helping in such an organic way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

I am so proud to know Chip Paillex and all of his incredible team! Last fall I brought my 1st and 2nd grade sons to help apple pick right after the hurricane. About 20 people were there, and we rescued 3000 lbs of apples! It was hard work. While we worked, I was able to have some powerful conversations with my boys. They have not gone without fresh food, but I have. When I was growing up in Jersey City with my mom, we rarely could afford fresh fruits or vegetables. They were surprised, and saddened. It didn't make sense to them. "But everyone should have them mom, that's not fair" said my 2nd grader. I replied "I know, that's why we're here" He quickly asked "when can we come back?!" AGAR changes lives. Fresh food is not only critical for nutrition, but for everyone to know what is possible. Yes, you can! Thank you AGAR

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pick fruits and vegetables to be delivered to those in need. Volunteer