Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
January 12, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 12, 2014

Awesome place. I love the staff....they are just so friendly. The work was fun, too. More importanty, my time at AGAR was meaningful. Blessings to Chip and family!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create more jobs and then advertise. I am a Theology and Ministry student and...I would love to work there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

America's Grow-a-Row's endeavors helps to energize our congregation's desire to assist in "growing" our own Mission Garden. AGAR helped us educate our own volunteers and the result has been a 5-year old Mission Garden project that this year alone, produced a 250% increase over last year of fresh produce both grown and donated to our local food banks. Creating awareness is only the first step. AGAR has done an amazing job empowering and motivating individuals and other charitable organizations to make a difference in our less fortunate neighbor's lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

The overall experience with America's Grow a Row has been tremendous. Having served as a volunteer for several years, and leading a group of volunteers for the same amount of time has been one of the easiest events to plan.
AGAR Staff effectively communicate their needs and expectations.
Provide the proper instructions on site and are highly motivated to achieve a goal. The work experience is just the right amount of time to make you feel as though you have contributed a great deal but not so much that you are overworked.
The Staff also explain the impact that your volunteer work will make and explain the experience of providing food to the end user.

Keep up the great work AGAR !!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Grow a Row is a great community organization that really cares about the residents of New Jersey regardless of where they may reside. Our low income families in Jersey City greatly appreciate the fresh fruits and vegetables which are always served with a smile.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

AGAR is a terrific organization that is having a real impact on the hunger crisis in New Jersey, helping to feed those in need with fresh, healthy fresh and vegetables. With a limited staff of 3 full-time and 3 part-time employees and an extensive network of approximately 3,000 volunteers, AGAR grows, gleans, and donates desperately needed fresh produce to food banks, food pantries and soup kitchens all over New Jersey, including “food desert” areas that lack access to affordable fresh produce. AGAR also provides education programs in schools and “on-the-field” that address healthy eating, the hunger crisis, volunteerism, and the role of agriculture in our food system.

AGAR successfully combines a business model to the framework of a mission-driven non-profit, working closely with partner agencies to fill orders and tailor the mix of produce provided based on what is most needed and most requested. They have created an inventory management system and are able to distribute produce in a timely manner that does not require refrigeration or long-term storage.

The enthusiasm and energy in the AGAR organization is contagious and they are making a very real, positive difference in the lives of our neighbors in need in NJ.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013


AGAR is a great nonprofit that provides a great service to those in need in the state of New Jersey. Their unique approach to tackling this problem is effective. They are having a real impact and their fast-pace growth is a testament to their results. They do this while also being a great
steward of their limited resources and an incredible volunteer force.

Please consider AGAR when you are contemplating making a charitable gift to a deserving nonprofit. AGAR is a worthy cause!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

As a community member, donor, and volunteer, I can highly recommend without any reservation America's Grow-A-Row. It is a fantastic charity with Chip as a phenomenal leader. I am confident that donations/gratns will be used to positively impact the lives of many whether they are produce recipients or the next generation of volunteers.

I got involved with America's Grow-A-Row (AGAR) several years ago after reading an article in our local paper. As a board member of a small foundation, I was always looking for local 'grass-roots' charities that we would want to consider for a donation. We would often search for smaller charities with low overhead costs where dollar for dollar we could have the most impact – help the most people. AGAR was perfect.

At the time AGAR was in its early stages of development and just finalizing its 501c3 status. Since then, I cannot begin to tell you how inspiring it has been to watch Chip Paillex and his team at AGAR develop the program into a huge success donating over 1,700,000 lbs of fresh, healthy food to people in need. Chip's passion and enthusiasm are endless. He has cultivated a large volunteer base and ensures every dollar equates to more lbs of fresh food.

In 2008, my son's 2nd grade class went on a field trip to the AGAR farm to plant string beans. The children learned about hunger, fresh food, and, most importantly, the importance of giving back. AGAR's model is inherently sustainable spawning the next generation of philanthropists and volunteers.

The field trip led to an idea to start a garden at the school. With Chip's help and guidance, the team of school volunteers (teachers, parents, and students) started a garden. The first crop was harvested in the summer of 2011 and continues today. During the school year the garden is used for hands-on learning as well as a source of fresh foods for lunch!

AGAR is reaching further with the Newark Area Hunger Relief and Healthy Eating Program. This program features the two key elements that make AGAR the special not for profit they are: 1) the delivery of approximately 35,000 pounds of fresh, healthy produce to Newark and Jersey City through Free Farm Markets, and 2) the hosting of 250-300 youth from these communities at AGAR’s farm in Pittstown, NJ. The delivery of food to one of the nation’s worst “food desserts” attacks a major issue, availability. While it may be hard for us to believe, the greater Newark area lacks access to fresh, affordable produce. This program assures healthy produce gets into the hands and onto the plates of those suffering from hunger. However, AGAR doesn’t stop there. Hunger is only one aspect of a complex issue. The second part of the program addresses education. The program provides hands-on opportunities for youth from the Newark area to visit their farm in Pittstown, NJ where they harvest crops and learn about the importance of healthy eating. The experience for these kids is life altering. It provides them with an education on healthy eating, with skills they can use to grow their own food, and illustrates the power of giving back. My husband and I always look forward to volunteering for a youth day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, other then help them to grow by donating routinely

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I have a passion for gardening and being of service to others, AGAR has been able to meet both of these needs over the past 5 years. My family and I have been involved in a number of volunteer oppprtunities that have come up over the years. My personal favorite is picking corn in the summer and seeing bin after bin full of healthy food ready for pick-up by the food banks. My wife and I are part of the team that gleans from the local Shop-Rite and distributes veggies and fruit to those in need from the Flemington area. We have also helped out with the Free Farm Market set up in the Camden area for people that have limited access to healty produce. II continue to see first hand the impact AGAR has on the lives of those who volunteer as well as those who benefit from servings of fruits and vegetable and because of this I will gladly continue to volunteer for years to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Currently, the East Orange YMCA, America's Grow-a-Row and Rutgers University College of Nursing is partnering together in a pilot program that includes an America's Grow-A-Row Free Farm Market, youth days at the actual farm and a health impact study. Y families pick fresh fruits and vegetables at the Y, participate in brief nutrition classes, take questionaires and our summer camp kids experienced a day at the farm harvesting fresh produce.

The East Orange YMCA is very excited to share this healthy living program with our community and know that it will change healthy living habits. A few of our families and staff have said:

"I made a smoothie (1 gallon) for the Y staff the next day using the peaches and then added green apples, spinach, kale, cinnamon and ginger with some coconut juice (this brand has bits of coconut in it). We discussed chipping in on a regular basis to buy fresh fruits and vegetables at a farmer's market that I can juice for everyone and we're already sharing recipes. Yummy!"

"The produce was fresh and delicious. I just cooked the last of the string beans and my grandchildren really enjoyed the peaches."

"Since the Farmer's Market came to the YMCA, I really look forward to the fresh fruits and vegetables. I have always eaten a lot of sweets and many things that are not good for me on a daily basis. Now, I am learning how to eat in smaller portions and how to choose healthier food selections. The first time I tried the corn I literally ate it with every meal. The corn has a different taste than what I get from the supermarket. My granddaughter loves the apples and asks me everyday to bring her some apples. If I come home without an apple, she tells me I am not her friend. I appreciate the collaboration between Grow-A-Row and the East Orange YMCA. This community, including myself, can learn how to adapt healthier eating habits in our daily lives."

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

AGAR is an excellent example of an important nonprofit organization which is changing lives. Normally it's the lives of the receivers of a service provided that are changed, however in this instance, it's all of the lives that are touched in the process of planting and harvesting and education, that are changed as well. The growth of AGAR is the testimony to its value. It's ability to produce fresh produce has grown; the camps, conference centers, churches that support it have grown; the corporate and political support has grown; the number of volunteers has grown; the number of people touched by its outreach has grown. Working with many Christian nonprofits across the US, I have been especially impressed with the evolution of AGAR. Special blessings to an incredible team!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Pick fruits and vegetables to be delivered to those in need. Volunteer