Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.953495
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

A truly amazing team of professionals that make a global crisis line and ongoing advocacy possible. It is so empowering to see AODVC continue to expand their services world wide and be available to so many more that desperately need an advocate.
October 18, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
July 4, 2014

When an American leaves America, she is basically on her own. If this American lives with an American or foreign boyfriend or spouse, she is basically on her own. If this American is being abused by... more

October 18, 2014

Since this is the ONLY organization on the planet that does what it does, it deserves recognition. Americans who live overseas rarely have resources to leave a domestic violence situation - this organization gives them safety planning and other resources to get them to safety and sometimes are able to return them to the US. Many people believe the Embassy's take care of these issues but that is not necessarily the case. AODVCC also educate people here about the risks of leaving American soil. I certainly know what it is like to have a family member in a violent home thousands of miles from the US - there is a sense of helplessness and hopelessness - with AODVCC there is HOPE and HELP!
July 4, 2014

When an American leaves America, she is basically on her own. If this American lives with an American or foreign boyfriend or spouse, she is basically on her own. If this American is being abused by her American or foreign boyfriend or spouse, she is basically on her own. There are few resources to assist in foreign countries. There is ONLY ONE organization that assists worldwide, and that is the Americans Overseas Domestic Violence Crisis Center.
There was NO assistance when the founder of this organization needed help. There was no one to advise her of her options when the founder needed that advice - not even her family could help. When she finally escaped a foreign country on her own, Paula decided to do something that had never been done before - help other American women and children who faced similar circumstances to her own. This organization is a Godsend to Americans everywhere. They inform the victim on many fronts and are sometimes able to get them home. They do this with little funding and careful planning and budgeting. Any financial help to this organization would be appreciated.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.....make annual funding available from our Government and businesses and wealthy folks who have more money than they know what do do with.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was abused by a former boyfriend many years ago - fortunately, I lived in the United States where there are services available in most cities. The founder of AODVCC had NO resources in the foreign country where she lived, even after going to the US Embassy nearby. She had to figure out a way to leave the country with three small boys and hope she could make it to safety before her then husband found out she was gone. With just enough money to get her to a relatives home, it took three days for her to arrive safely with her children in tow. Finding that she would have to fight in the court system to keep her children in the US, she decided to start the WORLD's ONLY organization that assists abused women and children (and men too) who live in foreign countries. They assist with the vital information the abused person needs to try to survive until they can leave their abuser. They assist with pro bono services once they arrive back in the US and sometimes temporary housing. The ONLY place where someone can get ALL the services they need - like one-stop-shopping! Kudos to this wonderful woman who has managed to provide vital, lifesaving services to Americans all over the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more money so they can continue their vital work!!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2012

The founder of this organization tried to return to the US with 3 small children and was surprised to learn that her resources were non-existent. On her own, she figured out how to leave their abuser and come home to the US. Here, she also found that resources were limited, and for some services, non-existent. So, she decided to change all that - starting with a laptop purchased by a family member for her, she started a web presence, and a few years later was able to start a toll free crisis line that would be available from 175 countries. All this was done on a shoestring budget - today, with some government funding their services have increased, but at the same time, with outreach, their hopeful client base has increased almost exponentially. Continuuing funding is required for this organization to assist those in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

Most amazing organization I've ever been involved with. I am proud to say I am part of their team!
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

I am awed by the hard work, wealth of knowledge and generosity of spirit I see every day in my co-workers at AODVC. The diverse community we serve faces an array of challenges and our organization is often just about the only resource they can reach out to. We provide the kind of help that matters most to the survivors who contact us. We listen without judgment, and we provide direct concrete help whenever possible. Our director is a visionary and every individual employee adds a body of experience and perspective to create the most internationally DV/SA savvy staff in the world.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

The staff at AODVC understands the range of issues affecting victims of Domestic Violence and survivors of sexual assaults abroad. They handle sensitive situations and often overwhelmed people, with respect, integrity and compassion. They help clients--male or female, American or spouse of an American-- who have been abused overseas, navigate complex situations in a way that is empathetic and empowering. It can feel like a ray of hope in an otherwise hopeless situation. DV is challenging in any case, but when a victim is isolated from support, and under laws that differ from the ones they are familiar with, it can be completely overwhelming. This agency is a Godsend.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

The necessity of a one-of-a-kind organization which navigates uncharted entanglements of national and international policy where meet the lives, safety and personhood of women was revealed to me through the inconceivable survivor experiences of an old friend. He detailed his emigration from the UAE in a series of heartbreaking secrets he held distant from the happiness and smiles he seemed to have been born wearing. The harrowing escape from the UAE- from abuse, from policy which would not protect him- was unlike any of us had ever heard amongst the circle of friends.
To the uninitiated, these stories may seem rare: far from the realities we live and our contingent expectations of the world. These survivor stories are real, important and much more common than I had ever expected. The phone rings here with new clients daily who fear for their lives, for their children's lives. AODVC provides a depth of services few other organization take to charge. A non-profit that seeks to establish care, education, reform, attention, movement in a world otherwise deplete of options for women; AODVC is an organization I am proud to work with.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

From my experience working with AODVC, this organization is very knowledgeable and goes above and beyond to assist Americans living abroad who suffering from domestic violence.
August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As an outreach ambassador for the AODVC I have referred a number of women living outside of the U.S. and experiencing abuse. This is the only resource for these women, some of whom live in countries where there is little or no support for them as foreigners. The U.S. has laws protecting American women living in the U.S., and for non-U.S. nationals living in the States experiencing abuse - there is nothing that protects an American woman living outside of the U.S. The AODVC is a critical resource that does amazing work for women and children who desperately need their continued support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

I was in the United States trying to fight a return order to Ireland. The AODVCC gave me support in many ways and although I still had to return to Ireland, I was fully prepared coming back and knew that if I needed help, they were there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None! Fantastic staff and communication!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

This is an amazing organization assisting Americans abroad in extremely difficult situations. I am honored to have witnessed such wonderful and dedicated volunteers and employess working for a much needed cause. The need for this organization grows daily. Thank you

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers