Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.765
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

My first experience with ARCE was attending a conference and giving a short paper as a graduate student. The work ARCE does in Egypt to restore old monuments and to help budding scholars and archaeologists from all over the world is truly impressive. In addition many local Egyptians are trained in various avenues of work to preserve and care for Egypt's amazing Pharaonic, Coptic and Islamic heritage, thus providing employment opportunities in a country where jobs are few and far between. In 2011 an ARCE trip gave some of us the opportunity to see and experience a number of the ARCE restored sites and buildings. I can not say enough good about the beneficial constructive and educational work ARCE does.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 27, 2013

more

February 27, 2013

I learned about ARCe on my first trip to Egypt in 1998, when a couple on our Archaeological Tours trip insisted that we go to the headquarters. I'm so glad they did! I joined right away, and have enjoyed going to the annual conference and to lectures in New York City. ARCE is responsible for so much of the restoration and preservation of sites in Egypt. They fund independent scholars and projects in Egypt, and have chapters around the USA where there are lectures and visiting scholars.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

As a relative newcomer to ARCE, I can write with confidence how impressed I am with the organization's mission, professionalism, expertise and sensitivity toward its role in Egypt, a complex country politically, religiously and culturally. I travelled as part of the ARCE Egypt Tour in November of 2011, witnessed first-hand the successful results of their conservation work and met impressive American and Egyptian experts who are working to preserve for the entire world ancient treasures of priceless value. In addition to serving as a unique resource to protect Egypt's heritage, ARCE , I observed, is also about building critical, long-lasting relationships that cross national and international borders. I highly endorse ARCE, respect its history and know it will continue to make important contributions to our world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I learned about ARCE from my Egyptian Guide on my very first trip to Egypt in 1993. At soon as I got home, I became a member. Since then ARCE has provided a way for me, a non-professional, to become intimately involved with many aspects of its work. I have enjoyed attending the annual meetings where I met professional Egyptologists and heard about their newest discoveries. I have used the ARCE Library in Cairo for my own research projects. It is one of the few libraries of its type in Cairo that welcomes and is intensively used by Egyptian students and professors. Last year, I participated in an ARCE-sponsored tour to a number of the sites where ARCE has administered conservation projects (funded by USAID). These sites, selected by the Egyptian Antiquities Authority, range from Pharaonic up through Islamic. I was impressed by the philosophy of “conserve/preserve/present” which underlies all such work. The monuments are preserved from further deterioration and become functioning structures again, often in a new role, but one that guarantees their survival. These conservation projects, as well as various field school supported by ARCE that train Egyptian conservators and archaeologists, are helping develop a new generation of Egyptians capable of preserving their heritage. Their gratitude was touchingly illustrated by our reception at one site where some recent field school graduates welcomed the ARCE group with cold cokes and a special behind-the-scenes glimpse of the slaughter house attached to the Seti I temple at Abydos. Besides serving the needs of professional Egyptologists, as described by other reviewers, ARCE serves a huge audience of amateur Egyptophiles and gives us ways of contributing to the field.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

As a donor AND a volunteer ARCE allows me to feed my passion for all things Egyptian from Pharaonic through modern times. ARCE's conservation and education programs help save important world heritage and bring the results of this work for all to see and enjoy. Local chapters where I have been active for many years bring Egyptian history alive for the interested public.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers