Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.765
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The contributions ARCE makes to the field of Egyptology cannot be measured. So many graduate students owe their start in field research to the programs run by ARCE, and ARCE's contribution to Egyptian scholars is unequaled.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The American Research Center in Egypt (ARCE) is a 65-year-old nonprofit that's been working to preserve and conserve Egyptian antiquities from seven millennia and to train Egyptian conservators in this mission. ARCE also supports more than a dozen local chapters around the United States in assisting with lectures from renowned Egyptologists from around the world. The ARCE annual conference is a must-go-to event where an attendee can listen to more than 20 lectures from academics and independent scholars across various Egyptology topics--religion, art, history, texts, and field-work reports from Egyptologists that appear regularly on the History, Discovery, National Geographic, and PBS television channels. As a regular field-work contributor to the work of the American University in Cairo Professor Salima Ikram's North Kharga Oasis Survey, I've had the opportunity to contribute my scientific and Coptic language expertise to this project.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

promote the work of ARCE to the general public so they can realize why it's so important to save Egyptian history more than ever before.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

ARCE provides funding not only for saving ancient monuments but also for training and supporting the work of Egyptian students and scholars. Founded over 50 years ago to continue the work of the great American Archaeologist George Andrew Reisner, ARCE has been at the forefront of scholarly work in Egypt from the Aswan Dam Salvage Campaign to helping construct sgate of the art conservation facilities and a computer inventory for the Cairo Museum. Its work covers prehisoric to modern history and it has been an invaluable ambassador of goodwil.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Year 2002, It was turning point of my life, I was a trainee of ARCE's archaeological field school at al-Fayum, after i finish my filed school training course, i was able to join the excavation in Sinai, ARCE help make me know the real meaning of archaeology

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

As someone who has participated in archaeological excavations in Egypt for the last twelve years, I can honestly say that American archaeological missions such as ours in Egypt could not operate without the logistical support and assistance of The American Research Center in Egypt. No other organization within Egypt has the experience, expertise or outstanding staff to provide that support. In addition to its assistance with archaeological missions, ARCE’s conservation work within Egypt, ranging from pre-dynastic sites to endangered Islamic and Christian monuments, has helped to preserve the heritage of Egypt − and through it, the world’s heritage – as no other organization has done. Equally important, ARCE’s field schools are training Egyptians in modern archaeological techniques and instilling in the schools’ participants an understanding and respect for their own culture and history. The international conferences sponsored by ARCE within Egypt and in North America bring together noted scholars and interested non-professionals from throughout the world to listen to and discuss the latest developments in Egyptian archaeology, conservation and current scholarship. In addition, ARCE sponsors and assists numerous chapters and other study groups throughout the United States and Canada, providing information and expert speakers who promote the understanding and appreciation of the history and cultures of the Middle East.
Richard S. Harwood
Associate Director
University of Arizona Egyptian Expedition

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been attached to ARCE since it welcomed me in 1985 when I was a student in Egypt studying Egyptology at the American University in Cairo. From that time on, Madam Amira, the directors, and the staff were welcoming and approachable. The library was a safe haven, and the lecture series provided intellectual stimulus as well as an opportunity to meet scholars of renown. Subsequently I have been a Fellow, a Board Member, and served on several committees of ARCE. It is an institution that fosters intellectual growth and serves as a forum for Egyptian scholars and students to meet their counterparts from the US and elsewhere. ARCE has served as a meeting point and a place of intellectual stimulus for several generations of scholars and should be recognised for its service to Egyptology (as well as Coptology, Islamic art, architecture, and history, the history of Egypt, as well as topics pertaining to the sociology, anthropology, and politics of Egypt.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers