Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.853665
Write A Review
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

Amazing organization. I never thought I would find an Egyptological society I liked so much. Very informative, great communication and plenty of events to attend.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I have been attending ARCE Chapter Meetings regularly for the past 6 years and have been on the Board of the Arizona Chapter for 2 years and now additionally on the Board for the Orange County starting this year. I have gotten the chance by attending these local talks on Egyptology to expand my knowledge of really interesting topics in Egypt studies - presented by the researchers involved in the work. The topics covered vary from the History of the wives of Rameses II, the re-use of coffin material from earlier dynastic burials by the priestly class in the 22nd Dynasty, to the discovery of KV5, KV63 and other new making items. There is no end to what topics ARCE can introduce your to, remind you of, make you want to dig deeper and learn more about. All Talks are great for the truely new student of Egyptian history as well as the experienced scholar. I try never to miss any talks - they are great
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I am what is known in Egyptology as an "interested amateur". I have always enjoyed studying and learning about Ancient Egypt, and use many resources to do so. ARCE is a source I return to again and again for the high quality of their information and materials. Their lecture programming is outstanding, and there are many local chapters. I'm pleased to offer this positive recommendation to assist them in continuing their work.
October 21, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2013

ARCE provides funding not only for saving ancient monuments but also for training and supporting the work of Egyptian students and scholars. Founded over 50 years ago to continue the work of the grea... more

October 21, 2014

ARCE does a tremendous job in protecting monuments, training young scholars, both American and Egyptian and in promoting goodwill between the US and the international community. I don't think any other NGO in Egypt works as hard or does as much as ARCE. The organization has a long and proud tradition of working in Egypt and has led the way in promoting professional training, conservation and public awareness of Egypt's unique cultural heritage from prehistory to the present day. Everyone can be prod of the exemplary work they have done and should support its continued growth and success well into the future.
October 17, 2013

ARCE provides funding not only for saving ancient monuments but also for training and supporting the work of Egyptian students and scholars. Founded over 50 years ago to continue the work of the great American Archaeologist George Andrew Reisner, ARCE has been at the forefront of scholarly work in Egypt from the Aswan Dam Salvage Campaign to helping construct sgate of the art conservation facilities and a computer inventory for the Cairo Museum. Its work covers prehisoric to modern history and it has been an invaluable ambassador of goodwil.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

ARCE is the only group of its kind to focus on Egyptology in America. For professionals it provides grants and conferences and to students, a place to share their work. The aid programs that are run by ARCE support work in Egypt and engagement with Egyptian communities. It is an excellent way for professionals to share their knowledge with enthusiasts in the US.
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

ARCE serves as a gathering place for armchair Egyptologists (and I am one of them) to learn more from the experts, and share their love for all aspects of Egyptian history and arts.
I have visited Egypt many times and seen the wonderful work they have done in the field of preservation and
restoration of a wide range of buildings, murals, and other even larger historical sites such as the St. Antony's Monastery where they restored murals that had been so covered in the soot of hundreds of years, they had to experiment with cleaning to discover if there were murals there at all! There Fr. Maximus revealed the cells cut in stone under the floor of the church, cleverly revealed beneath heavy sheets of glass, where the earliest monks - who may have existed in the living memory of Jesus - spent their lives in contemplation.
Sites have been opened to both Egypitan tourists and those from the whole world in methods that preserve all the visible signs of how they were originally conceived.
During the political upheavals of recent years when those working on the fringes of the tourist industry were suffering just to feed their families due to the devastating reduction in tourists, ARCE managed to bring many of these people into projects on location where they were able to earn money while learning the real craft of archaeology and preservation. A most deserving non-profit, that can stretch a dollar in a depressed economy where some of the greatest arts of the ancient world beg for help. The staff at all levels are dedicated and enthusiastic: shared passion that can do great things. I am proud to be a part of all they do. Through them I have met many renowned Egyptologists, and many of the ARCE staff. They are my friends. Katherine Kunhiraman
October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

ARCE provides educational opportunities for students in the United States and Egypt, preserves Egypt's historical monuments which are world heritage sites and trains Egyptians to care and preserve this cultural heritage, ancient, Christian and Muslim for the world. ARCE is bridge between Americans and Egyptians, where our presence and good will is felt in localities throughout Egypt In the San Francisco area the local chapter provides outreach to students and teachers, fostering a better understanding of Egyptian culture both ancient and modern.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As an academic organization ARCE has special needs to accommodate scholars working in Egypt, although a greater say from the grassroots non-academics would be welcomed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The contributions ARCE makes to the field of Egyptology cannot be measured. So many graduate students owe their start in field research to the programs run by ARCE, and ARCE's contribution to Egyptian scholars is unequaled.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The American Research Center in Egypt (ARCE) is a 65-year-old nonprofit that's been working to preserve and conserve Egyptian antiquities from seven millennia and to train Egyptian conservators in this mission. ARCE also supports more than a dozen local chapters around the United States in assisting with lectures from renowned Egyptologists from around the world. The ARCE annual conference is a must-go-to event where an attendee can listen to more than 20 lectures from academics and independent scholars across various Egyptology topics--religion, art, history, texts, and field-work reports from Egyptologists that appear regularly on the History, Discovery, National Geographic, and PBS television channels. As a regular field-work contributor to the work of the American University in Cairo Professor Salima Ikram's North Kharga Oasis Survey, I've had the opportunity to contribute my scientific and Coptic language expertise to this project.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

promote the work of ARCE to the general public so they can realize why it's so important to save Egyptian history more than ever before.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The American Research Center in Egypt, Inc. (ARCE) is a charitable organization devoted to the study and preservation of Egyptian history and culture. Its members include many of the most well known and respected Egyptologists in the world as well as people like me who are interested in Egypt, especially ancient Egyptian history. Through its work ARCE helps to preserve the monuments of Pharonic and Islamic Egypt such as the beautiful Temple of Karnak in Luxor. It also supports the education of Egyptian archaeologists and conservationists so that they can work toward the preservation of these amazing monuments.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers