Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.853665
Write A Review
November 7, 2014

more

November 7, 2014

ARCE can be considered the most important American organization for cultural heritage management and archaeological research in Egypt. Its mission includes multiple objectives and initiatives that support researchers from Egypt and the US as well as offering possibilities for training Egyptians in archaeological methods and practices in addition to conservation and preserving ancient monuments. I cannot stress enough how important this organization is on many levels. ARCE has much impact for advancing cultural heritage matters on a national and international level. I cannot stress enough how important your support is to keep this organization continuing its work in Egypt. As far as my personal experience with ARCE is concerned, staff members have been incredibly helpful and supportive towards my own project in Egypt, both on an administrative and organizational level.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

My wife and I have been members of the American Research Center in Egypt for years, and have enjoyed monthly lectures at the Bowers Museum in Santa Ana California the entire time. My primary attraction for the ARCE, Orange County Chapter has been the opportunity, on a monthly basis, to absorb/enjoy lectures from world class Egyptologists (often fresh from a dig) for no charge! I recommend ARCE to anyone who has been infected with a need to learn everything possible about ancient Egypt. At the same time, financial contributions from members help with grants that are used for preservation, discovery, and teaching Egyptians about archeological best practices.

After having the privilege of taking a trip to Egypt in 2010 and seeing for ourselves what a great job ARCE has done supporting the ancient Egyptian antiquities, we are proud to recommend ARCE to all others.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

As an ARCE member for 19 years, I have found kindred spirts who love Egypt and its rich history as much as I do. ARCE's work in preserving Egyptian monuments, training Egyptian inspectors, and supporting USA archaeological teams in the field is second to none. The Cairo staff is incredible. I'm exceedingly proud to be a part of an organization which is making a difference every single day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

ARCE supports so many archaeology, history, and cultural projects in Egypt, where funding is so badly needed. Students and professional archaeologists alike benefit from their support of digs, restoration efforts, and research projects. It's a small non-profit with a small staff and a huge effort. In a climate where such funding is almost non-existent now (government money for such purposes has completely dried up, and other non-profits focus elsewhere) ARCE almost stands alone to keep so many important projects going on. While the other non-profit organizations have turned their back on Egypt and its incomparable history, ARCE is still there, spreading its donations around to keep the important work going on. I have supported ARCE for a number of years, and plan to keep doing so. I hope others will consider this cause. With all the competing charities around, it's a huge struggle for them to keep going.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

As an ARCE fellow this year, I can attest to this organization's vital role for the preservation of cultural heritage in Egypt. ARCE has supported and overseen, and still is, a number of major conservation projects in Cairo and elsewhere in the country. It facilitates fruitful collaborations between the Egyptian government, the Coptic Church, and foreign missions. Its archives house materials related to those projects, and they are a rich resource for historians of late antique and medieval Egypt. Moreover, ARCE's annual fellowship programs are superb. They give junior and senior scholars opportunities to do research productively in Egypt with the support of ARCE's very helpful staff who has got a lot of experience working in this country.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I am a relatively new member to this organization, but having seen the devastation caused by political unrest in Egypt, I see the need for ARCE. Not only do they endeavor to save the history of Egypt they link that country to communities around the world.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

ARCE is a fantastic organization. It creates and maintains links between a variety of communities, including scholars and the general public, in both the US and Egypt. It is therefore a crucial resource not only for professionals in the field but also for anyone interested in any aspect of Egyptian culture. Perhaps the strongest point for recommendation is that everyone involved has an infectious passion for what they do. I can think of no other organization so committed to its area of interest or so devoted to sharing that passion with others.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I can't say enough about how much ARCE has enriched my life, both personally and professionally. Many of my most enduring friendships and collegial associations had their origin in ARCE conferences. Committed to exploring multiple aspects of the present and past alike, ARCE has a diverse membership. Because it attracts participants from all over the world, ARCE's annual meeting provides a rare venue for dialogue about current issues in Egypt as well as issues stemming from antiquity. The global scholarship is consistently impressive, and I learn much from attending ARCE events whether I am presenting a paper or listening to a presentation. ARCE's publications are not only useful for specialists but of interest to general readers.
As one who has taught ancient cultures at the university level for many years, I value very highly the unique opportunities for cultural insight which ARCE makes possible.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I have been a member of ARCE for several years now, and it has been tremendously useful for my career and professional development. I attend both local and national meetings, and the number of connections and friendships I have made through these events is invaluable to me. They are a sincere organization that spreads knowledge and opportunity to its members. ARCE unites the Egyptological community, fosters academic development, professional connections, and personal friendships and for that I could not be more grateful.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I have been a member of ARCE for several years, and now am on the board of the Oregon chapter. I recently returned from Egypt and saw first hand the efforts needed to keep this amazing country restored for future generations to enjoy as I did. Beyond the saving and protection of these treasures, employment and training of the local people is as important as the restoration itself. I am very happy to see my donations going to such a worthwhile cause. Thank you ARCE for all the work you are doing!
Mary Marlowe
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers