Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.765
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

ARCE is the only organization of its kind. It's many facets include archaeology, cultural preservation, a reliable East to West bridge of exchange, endowments and research. In little more than half a century ARCE has developed a rich relationship not only with the public, but with its family of volunteers and staff. It's easy to feel important and unique when I give my time to ARCE because each and every person takes pride in what they are able to do. It's the best club I've ever been in!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to find a donor to fund a department that would make the public more aware of what the organization does and how important that work is and will be for the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

ARCE provides educational opportunities for students in the United States and Egypt, preserves Egypt's historical monuments which are world heritage sites and trains Egyptians to care and preserve this cultural heritage, ancient, Christian and Muslim for the world. ARCE is bridge between Americans and Egyptians, where our presence and good will is felt in localities throughout Egypt In the San Francisco area the local chapter provides outreach to students and teachers, fostering a better understanding of Egyptian culture both ancient and modern.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As an academic organization ARCE has special needs to accommodate scholars working in Egypt, although a greater say from the grassroots non-academics would be welcomed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The contributions ARCE makes to the field of Egyptology cannot be measured. So many graduate students owe their start in field research to the programs run by ARCE, and ARCE's contribution to Egyptian scholars is unequaled.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The American Research Center in Egypt (ARCE) is a 65-year-old nonprofit that's been working to preserve and conserve Egyptian antiquities from seven millennia and to train Egyptian conservators in this mission. ARCE also supports more than a dozen local chapters around the United States in assisting with lectures from renowned Egyptologists from around the world. The ARCE annual conference is a must-go-to event where an attendee can listen to more than 20 lectures from academics and independent scholars across various Egyptology topics--religion, art, history, texts, and field-work reports from Egyptologists that appear regularly on the History, Discovery, National Geographic, and PBS television channels. As a regular field-work contributor to the work of the American University in Cairo Professor Salima Ikram's North Kharga Oasis Survey, I've had the opportunity to contribute my scientific and Coptic language expertise to this project.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

promote the work of ARCE to the general public so they can realize why it's so important to save Egyptian history more than ever before.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The American Research Center in Egypt, Inc. (ARCE) is a charitable organization devoted to the study and preservation of Egyptian history and culture. Its members include many of the most well known and respected Egyptologists in the world as well as people like me who are interested in Egypt, especially ancient Egyptian history. Through its work ARCE helps to preserve the monuments of Pharonic and Islamic Egypt such as the beautiful Temple of Karnak in Luxor. It also supports the education of Egyptian archaeologists and conservationists so that they can work toward the preservation of these amazing monuments.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The American Research Center in Egypt (ARCE) is the most important organization in Egyptological studies today and its contribution to both modern academic research and the physical preservation and restoration of important ancient Egyptian objects and sites is absolutely essential. It has helped fund, educate, and train students in the field of Egyptology in Egypt and throughout the world. I am proud to be a member of ARCE.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I initially encountered ARCE in spring 2004 as a student studying abroad at the American University in Cairo, Egypt. My experience in Cairo was greatly enriched by the lecture series, and after my return to the US, I continued to attend the ARCE annual meetings. Thanks to both of these events, I have had the opportunity to meet several eminent scholars and fellow students in my field.

Even more importantly, ARCE has played a fundamental role in the preservation of Egyptian cultural heritage - Not only through expeditions that contribute to our understanding of important archaeological sites, but also the field schools that train antiquities inspectors in site management and conservation. The Journal of the American Research Center in Egypt (JARCE) is also a valuable reference for both scholars and students alike.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add an Upstate New York (Albany) chapter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

My first experience with ARCE was attending a conference and giving a short paper as a graduate student. The work ARCE does in Egypt to restore old monuments and to help budding scholars and archaeologists from all over the world is truly impressive. In addition many local Egyptians are trained in various avenues of work to preserve and care for Egypt's amazing Pharaonic, Coptic and Islamic heritage, thus providing employment opportunities in a country where jobs are few and far between. In 2011 an ARCE trip gave some of us the opportunity to see and experience a number of the ARCE restored sites and buildings. I can not say enough good about the beneficial constructive and educational work ARCE does.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

ARCE provides funding not only for saving ancient monuments but also for training and supporting the work of Egyptian students and scholars. Founded over 50 years ago to continue the work of the great American Archaeologist George Andrew Reisner, ARCE has been at the forefront of scholarly work in Egypt from the Aswan Dam Salvage Campaign to helping construct sgate of the art conservation facilities and a computer inventory for the Cairo Museum. Its work covers prehisoric to modern history and it has been an invaluable ambassador of goodwil.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

ARCE is one of the most important organizations involved with the preservation of Egypt's ancient heritage. They have proven time and time again that it is important to conserve what is left of Egypt's past so that modern Egyptians can remember where they have come from. ARCE works closely with local Egyptians, particularly in Luxor, to train up the next generation of Egyptologists and Conservators. This commitment to training the Egyptian population is key- providing Egyptians with the chance to study and work with their own cultural heritage.

I have been involved with ARCE chapters both in Cairo and in Orange County (California). In addition to monthly talks and conferences, ARCE provides members with chances to donate to ongoing conservation efforts- for monuments of ancient Egypt and the Islamic Era. Additionally, their regular publication of "The Journal of the American Research Center in Egypt (JARCE)" is a collection of scholarly papers that give advanced teaching of the ancient Egyptian culture. I have time and time again used this journal for my own research and papers for school. It is a valuable resource.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers