Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1234.166675
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 21, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 21, 2013

Just attended the APH Annual Meeting in Louisville, KY., which was very well attended by many professionals in the field of visual impairments! Three in our group from Tennessee had missed the scheduled tours of APH, and then we met Bob Belknap! He took time out from his busy conference schedule, and conducted the tour to our delight! It was my first time to actually see where the many adaptive materials are not only designed, but created, boxed up, and delivered to other school systems all over the USA! Our students with visual impairments not only use many of these wonderful materials every day, they help to increase their chances of being successful, independent learners with these APH products! The tour was definitely one of the highlights of our APH Conference visit! I was also impressed with how "clean" the work areas were, and how "safety-conscious" the APH workers were in the various parts of the building! Many of the workers have chosen to stay and work at APH for several years, and definitely claim ownership of the amazing products they help design for the Vision population! I think this speaks very highly of not only the workers, but the APH management staff as well! I also enjoyed seeing many of my Hero's in the field of Vision in the APH Museum! What a testament to so many inspiring, humble teachers, who have worked tirelessly for our student's with visual impairments! It made me very proud to be in this field, and to know that they are many professionals continuing to improve the academic careers for individuals with vision loss! Thanks, again, for a wonderful, informative tour! I look forward to visiting with APH staff and professionals in the future!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase funding for the Technology Department, to increase the odd's that our student's with visual impairments can realistically "compete" with the rest of the sighted work-force once they transition to college and careers!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 29, 2013

APH is THE pinnacle resource for visually impaired and blind children and adults. They produce thousands of products from books in Braille to books on tape to textured photos and maps and equipment for visually impaired and blind people to use as a way to continue to be able to communicate, function, and live their life to the fullest.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

create more publicity for them. More people need to know about APH to use its services and resources, but also to support its mission and efforts.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I toured the American Printing House for the Blind and was very impressed with the facility, the wide array of products they develop and manufacture, the high standards to which they hold themselves in the creation of the products, and they professionalism of the staff. Highly recommend this to anyone!

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I just wanted to let you know that i really appreciate how you've made Readers's Digets and Newsweek available in digital form to us. Now i can discuss them with my sighted friends. This was really brought home to me recently. i was in a grocery store with a sighted friend who picked up a cpoy of Reader's Digest and was reading the title of an article. i told her i'd read it and it was good. she was suprised and i was delighted. thank you for this wonderful gift you've given us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I toured the American Printing House for the Blind with my son's third grade class and have to say what an amazing place it is!!! I have lived in Louisville most of my life and have passed by the location, but did not realize they gave tours. The Museum is excellent. Our tour guide was great and kept the kids engaged. I didn't realize how many items they make and the number of children they serve (over 59,000 across the United States).

The tour is free! Take my advice and take advantage of this Louisville Treasure.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Though APH serves many important functions in the VI community, it is very clear that it is beginning to lack cohesive in-house leadership and a proactive direction. The organization could utilize technological advances more effectively with more direct emphasis on modernization of outmoded items.

Traveling to APH is a step back in time. While this could be seen as a positive for some businesses, in one that should be current with cutting edge developments, it is not a compliment. Equipment appears worn and antique. Staff diversity is lacking and in positions of strategic import and authority, this is all but invisible.

I have donated to the American Printing House for the Blind, Inc. for 30 years in some capacity or another. I will continue to do so but will be more apt to make larger donations should the Board of Trustees take a closer look at moving the organization a few leaps into the future.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

via the benefits of products and books for visually impaired family members.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

New Leadership Better Planning for the future through greater utilization of modern technologies. This may mean that it is time for APH to include younger and more diverse voices in its strategic planning. Greater organizational transparency

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers