Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I volunteered at APES in college as an anthropology major specializing in primates. I learned more about primate behavior here than I did in any of my classes. The sanctuary is an incredible resource for students and educators, as well as a safe haven for primates who were acquired as pets by owners who could no longer keep them in their homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Having the opportunity to be a part of this organization has tremendously impacted my life. I am growing as a student and learning to understand each primate’s mannerisms. This has given me an incredible insight into such a complex species. I progress with each interaction, from enrichment to general handling. They have given me a priceless experience and continue to challenge and surprise me. Beyond the interaction with ten Gibbions and two Capuchin monkeys, I am witness to the care and passion from every person involved. From the volunteers to the owner, Pam White, A.P.E.S. creates a warm and welcoming escape. If you are ever in the Blacklick area, and are interested in learning about these fascinating animals, there will always be a friendly face to greet you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

APES is a wonderful facility that provides a fun and loving home for gibbons and Capuchin monkeys. I worked there as a volunteer and I was amazed by the caring and attentive staff. The animals are well cared for and loved, and Pam the owner has done an amazing job teaching the community about her primates.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

APES has been a wonderful experience for me. I knew when I started I would enjoy volunteering, but I have grown to love it dearly. The primates are amazing to watch and learn from, and Pam the owner is great. She works so hard to keep the sanctuary running and her passion for the animals is inspiring. Volunteering at APES is one of the very beat choices I have ever made.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

It's been over a year since I wrote my first review on APES, and my feelings have only deepened. Pam, the owner, really dedicates her life to maintaining the facility and making sure the primates are all healthy and happy. Even though she has been really struggling financially, she still finds a way to make ends meet and gives the animals the best possible life they could have being in captivity. Just visiting the sanctuary once, you'll see the love and dedication this woman has for her animals. Hands down, an amazing facility.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I started volunteering at this sanctuary at the beginning of this past summer. I love volunteering here and Pam has done an amazing job at making a great place for the primates. I have learned so much and hope to continue learning throughout my time volunteering.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have been a volunteer at APES since April of 2012, and I've benefitted greatly from the experience both personally and professionally. I assist in caring for the ten gibbons and two capuchin monkeys on site, helping with feeding, cleaning and enrichment activities. The owner, Pam White, entrusts her volunteers with great responsibility, which offers college students like myself a very valuable learning opportunity. APES also works to educate its visitors on primate care so they can better understand these animals. Everything done at APES is solely for the betterment of the primates, and it is evident through Pam's unwavering dedication that APES is an organization filled with love and compassion.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I first heard about the American Primate Educational Sanctuary, APES, about two years ago from a club in school. I fell in love with it the first time I went to volunteer. The owner is the most dedicated person I have ever met. No matter what she does the primates are always on her mind and she works so hard to keep the place running and the primates happy. She constantly is looking to improve the sanctuary and enrich the primates lives. APES raises awareness on the issue of owning exotic pets, as many of the primates were rescued from owners. I am so happy I found APES. It has really changed my life and helping me decide what I want to do with my life, and the owner is always helping out volunteers in their careers whenever she can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2011

more

August 9, 2011

i have been a volunteer at the American Primate Edcational Sanctuary for a little over a year and a half now. The owner houses 10 White-Handed Gibbons which are going extinct in the wild. She really cares about conserving Gibbons and educating people about Gibbons. She strives to help college students gain hands on experience for their future careers as well as teaching people about the dangers of buying primates as pets. Most of the primates she houses she has rescued from private owners. Overall, this facility has far succeeded my expectations. It is well kept and well taken care of and the owner really cares about helping out these Gibbons and other primates as well.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've volunteered there for over a year and a half and spent a lot of extra time helping out. I've become very close with the owner and gotten to know more about her and her strive to help these primates.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is nothing I would like to change about this facility.

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers