Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
1234.285715
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was diagnosed with Parkinson Disease on September 11, 2008. I immediately was notified of APDA by my Neurologist, and I started right away to benefit by the organization. APDA provided me with more than enough literature educating me about the disease, and giving me suggestions on how I could cope with the disease. APDA has several local support groups in the St. Louis area, and I have attended a weekly exercise program offered free of charge by APDA. The support group also meets once a month, and when possible a medically trained professional will speak to us about Parkinson Disease and what we can do to live with the disease. Luncheons and banquets are provided free of charge at various times during the year, and once or twice during the year a PD specialist will speak to us at a forum.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 22, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 22, 2013

We are support groups leaders for two support groups in MO. We could not do it without APDA St. Louis. We regularly refer members to the resource/information center for guidance and resources to deal with this destructive disease. The national nature of the organization gives us assurance that wherever we go we can count on help when we need it.

Patsy Dalton

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 22, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 22, 2013

The APDA has been most helpful to myself and my family when my father was diagnosed with Parkinson's disease. They provide literature, programs and emotional support in dealing with a complicated illness. I was impressed enough with the organization to become a part of it and facilitate one of their support group, and have been for 13 years.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 22, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 22, 2013

I have seen first-hand the impact this organization has had on people living with Parkinson's. I've talked with patients who have directly benefitted from their exercise classes, support groups and referral services. The amount of literature and knowledge on the disease at the chapters is astounding. I would definitely encourage anyone who is diagnosed with Parkinson's to contact one of their local chapters and take advantage of their services. If you have the means, it's definitely worth giving to this cause.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 21, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 21, 2013

APDA has amazing free educational publications. I have been very impressed with their Center for Advanced Research. The people are so caring and helpful. They will even help you find a physical therapist or caregiver. It is a fantastic organization!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2013

more

November 20, 2013

I found APDA to be most helpful in answering my questions about my disease, in aiding me to find doctors and with the programs offered to aid me in keeping mobile, alert and functional. The personnel at the Center for Advanced Research at the University of Virginia has been especially knowledgeable, sympathetic and beneficial.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Poorly lead national leadership. Local chapters are independently run and are led by competent local leaders. Unfortunately, the local chapters are required to provide "tribute" of 80% of their fundraising donations to the national office. What do local chapters receive in return? A slowly degenerating nationally recognized name without leadership. The Board and national office requires a shake-up. (Comments reflect national organization based in Staten Island).

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers