Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
12.52857345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My wife gave blood a few times. Now they call multiple times per day. They won't stop. I asked them to stop. They said my wife has to ask them to stop.
For their incessant robo-calling and their insolent attitude they have earned my undying ire.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 1, 2013

more

February 1, 2013

The American Red Cross is an outstanding organization. They have and continue to do an amazing service to the victims of hurricane Sandy. Also while helping the victims of hurricane Sandy they respond to fires and floods all over the country. They recently responded to 2 fires in my general area recently. They have the victims of the fires comfort clothing food and rented them a hotel room. I'm glad knowing they are out there and that 92 cents from every dollar donated goes to the cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 28, 2012

No matter what others have to say, whenever disaster strikes, the Red Cross seems to be the first on the scene. Their symbol is hard to miss, so next time you're watching a disaster unfold on TV, I'm sure you'll also see that red cross in the picture.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 6, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

CONTRIBUTIONS:
As you open your pockets to do a good thing and make yourself feel good, please keep the following facts in mind:
----------------------------
The American Red Cross
President and CEO Marsha J. Evans'
salary for the year was $651,957 plus
expenses
MARCH OF DIMES
It is now called the March of Dimes because
only a dime for every 1 dollar is given to the needy .
The United Way
President Brian Gallagher
receives a $375,000 base salary along with numerous expense benefits.
UNICEF
CEO Caryl M. Stern receives
$1,200,000 per year (100k permonth) plus all expenses including a ROLLS ROYCE.
Less than 5 cents of your donated dollar goes to the cause.
GOODWILL
CEO and owner Mark Curran profits $2.3 million a year .
Goodwill is a very catchy name for his business.
You donate to his business and then he sells the items for PROFIT.
He pays nothing for his products and pays his workers minimum wage! Nice Guy.
$0.00 goes to help anyone!
Stop giving to this man.
Instead, give it to ANY OF THE FOLLOWING
GO "GREEN" AND PUT YOUR MONEY WHERE IT WILL DO SOME GOOD :
The Salvation Army
Commissioner, Todd Bassett receives a small salary of only
$13,000 per year (plus housing) for managing this $2 billion dollar organization.
96 percent of donated dollars go to the cause.
The American Legion
National Commander receives a $0.00 zero salary.
Your donations go to help Veterans and their families and youth!
The Veterans of Foreign Wars
National Commander receives a $0.00 zero salary.
Your donations go to help Veterans and their families and youth!
The Disabled American Veterans
National Commander receives a $0.00 zero salary.
Your donations go to help Veterans and their families and youth!
The Military Order of Purple Hearts
National Commander receives a $0.00 zero salary.
Your donations go to help Veterans and their families and youth!
The Vietnam Veterans Association
National Commander receives a $0.00 zero salary.
Your donations go to help Veterans and their families and youth!
Make a Wish: For children's last wishes.
100% goes to funding trips or special wishes for a dying child.
St. Jude Research Hospital
100% goes towards funding and helping Children with Cancer who have no insurance and can
not afford to pay .
Ronald McDonald Houses
All monies go to running the houses for parents who have critical Children in the hospital.
100% goes to housing, and feeding the families.
Lions Club International
100% OF DONATIONS GO TO HELP THE BLIND,BUY HEARING AIDES, SUPPORT MEDICAL MISSIONS AROUND THE WORLD. THEIR LATEST UNDERTAKING
IS MEASLES VACCINATIONS (ONLY $1.00 PER SHOT).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I will not donate money to an organization that pays its chief executive over a half million dollars per year. There is no justification for that.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Fortunately, I have never had to make use of Red Cross services. They certainly get publicity for their work. I have been giving to them for years. I am pleased to find out that 92% of my donation goes to program costs, but was dismayed when I saw the CEO earns over $500,000.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

American Red Cross does not subscribe good board governance for an organization of this size. The CEO should not be a member of the board.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 5, 2012

I used to give monthly to the American Red Cross until I found out that their CEO, Gail J. McGovern, makes $995,718 a year. She may do a good job, but nobody should be able to profit excessively from a charitable organization. It's a shame than one person spoils it for the rest, especially those that are in REAL need. Gail, why don't you lower your pay to $300,000. Although, I still think that's too much, it would convince me to start giving again especially if reports show that the Red Cross is doing a good job.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I gave blood. The Red Cross then gave my private information to a teleservices company. I receive multitudes of phone calls soliciting donations and blood. It is so many that it feels like harassment. My requests to be removed from the call list have gone ignored. It angers me that donated money is wasted on phone banks. It angers me as a donor that my private information is being used inappropriately.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I donate blood twice. Now--I get harassing phone calls.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop phone solicitation all together. It wastes funds. It angers donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Blood shortages happen. Blood needs to be given to save lives.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Do not become a donor unless you want to become a target for telemarketing.

November 11, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 11, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

The CEO of a charity organization should NOT be earning close to a million dollars a year, no matter how big the charity. If you want to get rich, go work for a corporation. SHAME ON YOU, RED CROSS!!! I have donated in the past, naively believing that such a well-known organization would use my donation properly. I won't be donating again.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

N/A

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

lower the salary of the CEO

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers