Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
12.52857345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

We have typically donated to the American Red Cross as disasters across our country and all over the world have occurred. Recently, a church group sent out a spreadsheet on multiple charities and it was noted that the CEO of the American Red Cross was Marsha J. Evans and she earned $651,957 per year. I decided to research that information and find that the current CEO is actually Gail McGorvern and she earns $500,000 per year. While we are part of the middle class and can't comprehend someone making $500,000 per year, we understand that her responsibilities are vast therefore, it is easy to imagine that she earns every penny of that salary.

My problem is with all of these groups that circulate emails to thousands of people and those people who are inclined to believe everything that they read no matter the source. We ourselves received assistance from the American Red Cross when Katrina hit the Gulf Coast and we appreciated the fact that they were set up and assisting at the local level.

We have been paying it forward since. For the first time I took exception to the email that was circulating and sent your most recent post out on the internet regarding the American Red Cross.
It is difficult, in our times, to know in whom to put your trust and having seen the American Red Cross in action along the coast during the aftermath of that devasting hurricane, I feel comfortable in supporting them. Church groups tend to support their own members, the American Red Cross sees no boundaries.



Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Show documentaries on the American Red Cross in action and hear responses from the people who have benefitted by the assistance they received. There is a lot of mis-information circulating and people are confused and find it difficult to trust anyone. Where there is "a lack of information" someone will most certainly fill in the blanks with mis-information. Let's see the American Red Cross in action.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

December 18, 2012

Time and time again I have seen the Red Cross step up and help local members of the community and in large scale disasters. Yesterday a member of our community lost her apartment and belongings. Guess who was one of the first on the scene? The Red Cross. As for the folks who write the negative posts, do your homework people and stop relying on whatever the latest Facebook, Twitter or whatever rumor of the day that you get your information from. If you don't want to give to the Red Cross, that's fine. Find a charity you feel you can trust (some local ones are great) and donate to them. There will always be a need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

They still haven't found where the lost money from 9/11 went. They also take money for one tragedy and save it for another one. They tell you, you are doing good for one thing and your money doesn't even go there. Irresponsible at the least if not criminal.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2001

December 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I'm tired of all these large non-profits who collect BILLIONS of dollars and the money does NOT go to where it is suppose to - I've heard all kinds of bad stories about this organization in the past, but once I saw how they handled hurricane sandy, I now agree wholeheartedly! The VOLUNTEERS are amazing (but they are not paid) - the Red Cross themselves said that 90% of people that were helping were volunteers, that leaves 10% getting paid - with the BILLIONS of dollars they collected, there should have been more money circulated in helping New Jersians (and others affected by Sandy) - alot of FOOD was DONATED so I'd like to know WHERE all this money has gone, WHY THEY ARE STILL ADVERTISING to donate money for NEW JERSEY, but yet they are not still active from the hurricane - It is time for non-profits to be held more accountable and for change. I want to create my own non-profit and focus on the TRUE MEANING of the organization rather than worrying about filling my own pocketbook first like these CEOS, etc.... SHAME!!! I will NEVER donate to the Red Cross again - or any other large charity (as this happens with all of them!!)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I do not understand why this organization gets so much free advertising & solicitation from everyone. All of the TV & media programs as well as politicians, mention them every disaster. Yet you never see them do anything. You never hear anyone thanking them. They do blood drives, that's it, and that should not make them this powerful. (In their defense, the salaries are not that high, a company that pulls in and manages billions of dollars needs highly compensated talent.) I do like to see that ADP Payroll services charges them 9 million a year, way to help out ADP.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a resident of Ortley Beach that was hit hard by Sandy and have not seen the red cross do much I have seen surfrider and churches do much much more and would not give to them

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Where is the web site that will show specifically, where and at what the Red Cross has been effective? Not the general solicitations slogans but facts and figures, by date and events. Perhaps someone can feature what the Red Cross is doing (specifically how many blanks, heaters, shelter, food (not cookies) clean dry clothing etc.) have been provided during the aftermath of Sandy.
I would like to know that things have changed since I was in the armed service.
P.S. The "must select year of experiance" only goes back to 1997. Not far enough for me.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

August 28, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 28, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

When the flood of '97 hit Grand Forks, ND the Red Cross was there for photo ops and not much more. Of all the people I've spoken with the only thing they did was hand out a few gas and hotel vouchers. The main work was done, to my surprise, by the Salvation Army. My mother went to the aid office that they had set up to see what assistance they could get. She was met with form after form and no end in sight. A woman she met there with her kids in tow had been there for two days filling out forms. After each one she had been handed a new one and sent to another line. The woman was at wits end since she desperately needed some form of help but was at the point of leaving. My mother left, not having the time to waste. At the end the Red Cross tried to walk away with half the the money that had been donated for the Red River valley flood. When caught they decided to spend that cash or at least some of it on airing commercials in the area letting everyone know how great they were. One of our state senators called for an audit which to my surprise takes an act of congress. His motion failed so who knows how much money this "charity" pocketed. I certainly hope they are better in other places of the world but after this heart breaking experience I'd rather not give to them

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

January 23, 2012

We are planning to donate money to a charity. Won't be to the American Red Cross. We cannot give a donation to any organization that pays $995,718 to Gail J. McGovern President, CEO. Seems excessive to the average Joe.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2001

December 30, 2011

more

December 30, 2011

It is sad that the Red Cross has the blemish of highly paid officers because its Mission and Assistance serves so many

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers