Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
12.52857345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We live on the Jersey shore and were hit hard by hurricane Sandy. The American Red Cross has been our saving grace. From the first few weeks when we were at our high school as a local shelter. And still now while we are STILL looking for housing. I condemned the red cross for there kindness and support. I will say threat FEMA is a joke though..

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 20, 2013

Very few people know that the Red Cross is the best friend of Service men and women. They confirm hardships, injuries/illnesses or deaths of family members that require the presence of the military member. They also work to assist in making sure they get home. Every Duty Officer is familiar with contacting, or being contacted by the Red Cross. As a retired Marine with 26+ years I have nothing but admiration for THEIR service. (My last personal experience was 1987-the tear I retired; however that year option was not available in this form. )

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

November 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Far below expectations, did not come to neighborhoods hard hit by Sandy until 11 days after the hurricane hit. A disgraceful organization that spends way to much money on salary and administrative expenses. To date they have raised $117million for Sandy victims and it took them 11 days to show up. In between we also got hit with a nor 'easter where the temperature dropped substantially. NBC interviewed there CEO who earns $565K+ per year about the effectiveness of Sandy Relief Efforts and she replied that they were "Flawless". Their effectiveness is low and I wouldn't give them one brown penny. Clara Barton must be rolling in her grave.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unlikely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 11, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Red Cross is a scam!!!so disappointed!!!we were 13 days without power, heat, hot water. Our neighbors brought us food!!! After we got power(3 days ago) I saw Red Cross fancy van driving around telling that they got hot food, what a shame, where were they when we needed them.so angry, and I used to donate money to them.very very disappointed.PS: I live in Staten Island we have 8 boats parked in our street

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I am a professional, well-trained crime victim volunteer for another nationally renown non-profit, but I had my first experience as a person served by The Red Cross during Hurricane Sandy in October. I can't say enough about the efficient, effective and compassionate care provided to our family by Red Cross volunteers. At every step along the way, from taking our first hot shower in more than two weeks to providing a hot nutritious meal, blankets, water, ice, flashlight batteries and prepared meals. Had we been homeless, we would have had a cot, pillow and blankets to sleep over in a clean over-sized room. The Red Cross was set-up at a high school and had the organizational skills to also enlist students who were studying veterinary technology to volunteer at the designated area caring for the pets of any homeless family. The students not only put their skills to the test, but they also learned about volunteer service. The entire operation was well-organized with knowledgeable and caring volunteers. The volunteers were clearly identifiable with red vests and name tags. There was a well-dressed woman with a name tag who came over to us during our meal and asked us questions to apparently assess if our needs were being met in a timely, effective and courteous way. She had identified herself as a regional directer and was making rounds to all three emergency shelters in the county. Not once were we solicited for money. I had to ASK where I could donate. Only after asking, was I handed a self-addressed envelope to take home. The Red Cross pays 92 cents on the dollar for providing services to the needy. The non-profit I volunteer for, pays a professional fundraiser 40 cents for every dollar the company makes for the non-profit I volunteer for. Of the 60 cents, the first expenditure is for the highly paid administrator salaries, benefits [including pension and severance pay] and advance expense vouchers. That leaves about 20 cents for our services to crime victims. Service programs are cut while executive salaries are increased. Compare how much of each dollar goes to victim services.. Since the Red Cross volunteers who served our area are efficient, effective and truly compassionate and caring, I will be directing my donation to their region. When you SPECIFY that a donation be used for a particular region/service area, every non-profit [including The Red Cross] is required by law to allocate that money to the particular region. It's known as "restricted funds." I had such a positive experience that I may very well volunteer for The Red Cross.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 4, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

From personal experience as a pregnant 9/11 widow in New York City, dealing with the RC when I was a traumatized victim was truly the repeated kick in the butt I certainly didn't need since I was already so low down! And even though I had a legal background, it was still exhausting and unpleasant to deal with such incompetent, and sometimes malicious organization.
Unfortunately, as I've followed the Red Cross over the years, always receiving the most funds after catastrophic events, things have changed very little. You can also look at articles by Stephanie Strom of NYTimes. She has documented the RC's misdeeds post disaster again and again.

Please consider donating to organizations that are kind, compassionate, and competent. There are many ones that are worthy. I am truly appalled that so many intelligent good people continue to give their good will to such an unworthy organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

October 1, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 1, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

One thing a lot of people may not know, when the Red Cross helps a service member get a flight home for an emergency, they make the service member pay them back for the cost of the plane ticket. In fact, they take payments directly out of the service members pay check. They have easy access working with the DOD I guess.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1998

November 8, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 8, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

After having survived Hurricane Carla as a teen, the Red Cross charged for water and rented cots while the NOT RATED Salvation Army handed out water and loaned cots. Heard the exact same story from survivors of the Texas City Disaster. Again I experienced the lack of compassion of the Red Cross when flooding occurred in Houston 2001 June 9th, however, i still have a smile over this one... the Red Cross was standing out side a local Grocery chain trying to dole out the guilt to donate money and talking about how we have so much and should be giving to others --when an 80 yr old lady told them Her home still had water in the back, her home was in chaos , she here buying paper towels and bleach and although the 'disaster' had been over a week had NEVER seen a Red Cross person on her block even to hand out a bottle of water.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

a 'catastrophe' After having survived Hurricane Carla as a teen, the Red Cross charged for water and rented cots while the NOT RATED Salvation Army handed out water and loaned cots. These cots meant that my parents were able to house 15 or so people during a catastrophe. Same story here with the Texas City Disaster. And with Hurricane Ike in 2008, I heard the same story again about the Red Cross.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Kind and Helpful instead of a grasping, guilt provider.

June 28, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 28, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

in 1987 my brother was killed in a ch53 helicopter crash in california. i was stationed in spokane washington in the usaf. i needed a plane ticket home. i was a poor airman. the red cross bought me the ticket with me paying it back with interest. while on that flight home, a young officer was sitting with me, he lost his brother also in that crash. he told me the red cross got him the flight.
when i got back after my brothers funeral i ran into that officer and asked him how he liked the pay deduction for those plane tickets. he told me the red cross told him not to worry about it, officers aren't charged for the tickets. here i am, an airman, paying 1200. for a 625.00 plane ticket. what justice is that, over the years i've learned more about the red cross' less than proper treatment of enlisted personnel. shame on you. i won't give them 5 cents.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

serving our country in the usaf

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be a bit more compassionate to the enlisted.

September 5, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

Never donate to the American Red Cross for an international disaster. They spend more money on cars then helping people.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

donate it to the ICRC

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers