Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
12.56338345
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 27, 2014

I am a member of the Red Cross Disaster Response team for Baltimore city and Baltimore County, Maryland. Our team responds to emergencies, both local and national. Usually, they are local house fires, but we have responded to local hurricanes, floods and tornados too. We send out a team, often in the middle of the night, and they assess the situation and provide needed food, clothing, shelter, referrals, and other services as needed. Sometimes a nurse or mental health volunteer is needed too. Our volunteers have a demanding task--helping people who may have lost everything and are traumatized and confused. It's especially hard when there are injuries or fatalities. Our team is trained to respond to all kinds of disasters, and we have received national recognition for the numbers of well-trained volunteers we have deployed to large disasters such as Hurricane Katrina and Superstorm Sandy. I am very proud of our DAT team!
November 16, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 16, 2013

I thought the red cross was a good organization it's not I enjoy the class but when I asked to do something different they always want me to do fire call if you don't feel comfortable bout doing something you shouldn't have to be put on the The same call that how you learn doing different things

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let's make sure that if someone one wants to try something different I would do that

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 24, 2013

more

May 24, 2013

S0MTIME LIFE IS NOT AL ABOUT MONEY BUT HELP FROM OTHERS TOO BECAUSE WHEN A DISASTER COMES IT DOES NOT DIFFERENTIATE BETWEEN THE RICH AND THE POOR BUT IT JUST AFFECTS ALL PEOPLE HENCE MEANING THAT RED CROSS IS LIKE DISASTER (WITH THE IMPARTIALITY PRINCIPLE) AM MORE THAN READY TO HELP OUT VOLUNTARILY

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I WOULD WORK ON THE TRANSPORTATION OF VOLUNTEERS TO FIELDS BECAUSE RED CROSS CARS HELP IN THE INDICATIVE USE OF THE EMBLEMS

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a Red Cross volunteer in New York City. Volunteers and staff responders go to _every_ residential fire in New York City and surrounding areas. I personally have responded to as many as four in a 12-hour period.

The vast majority of the thousands of the local events never make the
news, and no one notices--except for the families we help. The people are often working poor, have no other resources, and aren't "telegenic" enough to attract the attention of media or celebrities.

No, the organization isn't perfect. Yes, there are screwups. But 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year, we are out responding to disasters, and are often greeted with "I didn't know the Red Cross does this."

We are there, despite everything.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allocate more money to better technology, and communicate the meaning of "overhead" to donors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

I think that this non profit is extremely helpful to the community and definitely exemplifies their concern for human trafficking. I would recommend this non profit because it aims to help a group of people who often do not get recognition.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I work for a company that is state mandated to have staff CPR certified. American Red Cross charges us $500 to train an instructor plus the fees for required materials. The overhead, time of the instructor as a paid staff of the employer, benefits of said staff, etc. are all costs paid by my employer and yet American Red Cross requires $27/every person we certify. We spent approx. $5,000/year as a non-profit paying Red Cross for cards. We switched providers and now Red Cross is trying to charge us AGAIN for paid invoices.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 26, 2012

As a local and national volunteer of Red Cross I have been a disaster nurse volunteer for many years and can testify to best managemenent of all types of disasters and the best response from recipients of their services. I have helped out numerous other groups but am most impressed with Red Cross as an organization and with the dedicated volunteers involved. I urge any nurses or others to volunteer their time to help the others or to donate to a major organization that spends donated money the best. My personal memories include people's tears and relief with help they seldom receive from of anyone else. Many people are only aware of major disasters like hurricanes, floods or tornadoes when many groups show up or solicite donations on TV, but are never aware of house fires or families needing help locating military relatives for messages. Dedicated volunteers help at all hours and places but are seldom acknowledged by the public. They ARE appreciated by Red Cross and continue being volunteers for a long time. That is my reason for staying with this group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Look @ Hati, people are still living in boxes after 4 years & they've collected billions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 11, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 15, 2010

This is a fabulous organization with thousands of selfless, well-trained volunteers who provide high quality care after a disaster (shelter, food, clothing, medicine, emotional support). Executive ma... more

December 11, 2012

Please ignore the false information provided in some other posts, esp. the first one. It is an urban legend. That person says their last contact was 2011 but cites a CEO who left the organization in 2005! The Red Cross is a fabulous organization. While it and no other organization can be perfect, I see fellow volunteers who do wonderful and selfless work all the time, providing food, clothing, shelter, water, and emotional support. Because so much of the work is done by volunteers for free, some costs might look a little out of whack. Even then, at least 92 cents of every donated dollar goes to serve our communities. that's about as good as it gets! Nearly everyone I know has a Red Cross story, from giving or receiving blood, receiving comfort or an emergency message while serving in the military, learning how to swim or be a good lifeguard or babysitter, and learning how to save a loved one's life through first aid and CPR training.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 15, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

This is a fabulous organization with thousands of selfless, well-trained volunteers who provide high quality care after a disaster (shelter, food, clothing, medicine, emotional support). Executive management changes in recent years have resulted in an even more responsive and lean organization, with donor dollars going where needed most. The name is American Red Cross, not what is posted here.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

good people doing good

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

highly trained, caring, selfless, effective

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

help communities prepare better for major disasters. At least this amount is going to Haiti to help after their earthquake (day 2)

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 14, 2012

I'm sorry some of you feel frustrated and angry - but that is completely normal after a large scale disaster. I've been a Red Cross volunteers for 20 years almost to the month - after Hurricane Andrew. I can attest to all the good work the organization does.
The Red Cross is a 2ndary
relief organization - they can only assist when given the go ahead by 1st responder agencies to go into an area. In such a large-scale disaster as this, National Guard, FEMA, and other government agencies provide services/rescue/assistance, and the Red Cross immediately follows. It takes time to get assets (people, supplies, vehicles) to the most affected due to all the structural damage. Staten Island were told to evacuate for their personal safety due to this. The Red Cross will be in your area for a long time to come helping with feeding, clothing, and sheltering residents for as long as it takes. On a personal note, after Hurricane Andrew, not even the National Guard could get to us for 4 days after because the road were so impassible. I wish you a speedy recovery. I have been volunteering in Long Island the past two weeks - and will keep going down there as much as possible to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers