Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
12.56338345
| 1 2 3 4...7 |
Write A Review
December 6, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 6, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

CONTRIBUTIONS:
As you open your pockets to do a good thing and make yourself feel good, please keep the following facts in mind:
----------------------------
The American Red Cross
President and CEO Marsha J. Evans'
salary for the year was $651,957 plus
expenses
MARCH OF DIMES
It is now called the March of Dimes because
only a dime for every 1 dollar is given to the needy .
The United Way
President Brian Gallagher
receives a $375,000 base salary along with numerous expense benefits.
UNICEF
CEO Caryl M. Stern receives
$1,200,000 per year (100k permonth) plus all expenses including a ROLLS ROYCE.
Less than 5 cents of your donated dollar goes to the cause.
GOODWILL
CEO and owner Mark Curran profits $2.3 million a year .
Goodwill is a very catchy name for his business.
You donate to his business and then he sells the items for PROFIT.
He pays nothing for his products and pays his workers minimum wage! Nice Guy.
$0.00 goes to help anyone!
Stop giving to this man.
Instead, give it to ANY OF THE FOLLOWING
GO "GREEN" AND PUT YOUR MONEY WHERE IT WILL DO SOME GOOD :
The Salvation Army
Commissioner, Todd Bassett receives a small salary of only
$13,000 per year (plus housing) for managing this $2 billion dollar organization.
96 percent of donated dollars go to the cause.
The American Legion
National Commander receives a $0.00 zero salary.
Your donations go to help Veterans and their families and youth!
The Veterans of Foreign Wars
National Commander receives a $0.00 zero salary.
Your donations go to help Veterans and their families and youth!
The Disabled American Veterans
National Commander receives a $0.00 zero salary.
Your donations go to help Veterans and their families and youth!
The Military Order of Purple Hearts
National Commander receives a $0.00 zero salary.
Your donations go to help Veterans and their families and youth!
The Vietnam Veterans Association
National Commander receives a $0.00 zero salary.
Your donations go to help Veterans and their families and youth!
Make a Wish: For children's last wishes.
100% goes to funding trips or special wishes for a dying child.
St. Jude Research Hospital
100% goes towards funding and helping Children with Cancer who have no insurance and can
not afford to pay .
Ronald McDonald Houses
All monies go to running the houses for parents who have critical Children in the hospital.
100% goes to housing, and feeding the families.
Lions Club International
100% OF DONATIONS GO TO HELP THE BLIND,BUY HEARING AIDES, SUPPORT MEDICAL MISSIONS AROUND THE WORLD. THEIR LATEST UNDERTAKING
IS MEASLES VACCINATIONS (ONLY $1.00 PER SHOT).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I do not understand why this organization gets so much free advertising & solicitation from everyone. All of the TV & media programs as well as politicians, mention them every disaster. Yet you never see them do anything. You never hear anyone thanking them. They do blood drives, that's it, and that should not make them this powerful. (In their defense, the salaries are not that high, a company that pulls in and manages billions of dollars needs highly compensated talent.) I do like to see that ADP Payroll services charges them 9 million a year, way to help out ADP.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a resident of Ortley Beach that was hit hard by Sandy and have not seen the red cross do much I have seen surfrider and churches do much much more and would not give to them

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I will not donate money to an organization that pays its chief executive over a half million dollars per year. There is no justification for that.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 14, 2012

I'm sorry some of you feel frustrated and angry - but that is completely normal after a large scale disaster. I've been a Red Cross volunteers for 20 years almost to the month - after Hurricane Andrew. I can attest to all the good work the organization does.
The Red Cross is a 2ndary
relief organization - they can only assist when given the go ahead by 1st responder agencies to go into an area. In such a large-scale disaster as this, National Guard, FEMA, and other government agencies provide services/rescue/assistance, and the Red Cross immediately follows. It takes time to get assets (people, supplies, vehicles) to the most affected due to all the structural damage. Staten Island were told to evacuate for their personal safety due to this. The Red Cross will be in your area for a long time to come helping with feeding, clothing, and sheltering residents for as long as it takes. On a personal note, after Hurricane Andrew, not even the National Guard could get to us for 4 days after because the road were so impassible. I wish you a speedy recovery. I have been volunteering in Long Island the past two weeks - and will keep going down there as much as possible to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Far below expectations, did not come to neighborhoods hard hit by Sandy until 11 days after the hurricane hit. A disgraceful organization that spends way to much money on salary and administrative expenses. To date they have raised $117million for Sandy victims and it took them 11 days to show up. In between we also got hit with a nor 'easter where the temperature dropped substantially. NBC interviewed there CEO who earns $565K+ per year about the effectiveness of Sandy Relief Efforts and she replied that they were "Flawless". Their effectiveness is low and I wouldn't give them one brown penny. Clara Barton must be rolling in her grave.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unlikely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 11, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Red Cross is a scam!!!so disappointed!!!we were 13 days without power, heat, hot water. Our neighbors brought us food!!! After we got power(3 days ago) I saw Red Cross fancy van driving around telling that they got hot food, what a shame, where were they when we needed them.so angry, and I used to donate money to them.very very disappointed.PS: I live in Staten Island we have 8 boats parked in our street

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I am a professional, well-trained crime victim volunteer for another nationally renown non-profit, but I had my first experience as a person served by The Red Cross during Hurricane Sandy in October. I can't say enough about the efficient, effective and compassionate care provided to our family by Red Cross volunteers. At every step along the way, from taking our first hot shower in more than two weeks to providing a hot nutritious meal, blankets, water, ice, flashlight batteries and prepared meals. Had we been homeless, we would have had a cot, pillow and blankets to sleep over in a clean over-sized room. The Red Cross was set-up at a high school and had the organizational skills to also enlist students who were studying veterinary technology to volunteer at the designated area caring for the pets of any homeless family. The students not only put their skills to the test, but they also learned about volunteer service. The entire operation was well-organized with knowledgeable and caring volunteers. The volunteers were clearly identifiable with red vests and name tags. There was a well-dressed woman with a name tag who came over to us during our meal and asked us questions to apparently assess if our needs were being met in a timely, effective and courteous way. She had identified herself as a regional directer and was making rounds to all three emergency shelters in the county. Not once were we solicited for money. I had to ASK where I could donate. Only after asking, was I handed a self-addressed envelope to take home. The Red Cross pays 92 cents on the dollar for providing services to the needy. The non-profit I volunteer for, pays a professional fundraiser 40 cents for every dollar the company makes for the non-profit I volunteer for. Of the 60 cents, the first expenditure is for the highly paid administrator salaries, benefits [including pension and severance pay] and advance expense vouchers. That leaves about 20 cents for our services to crime victims. Service programs are cut while executive salaries are increased. Compare how much of each dollar goes to victim services.. Since the Red Cross volunteers who served our area are efficient, effective and truly compassionate and caring, I will be directing my donation to their region. When you SPECIFY that a donation be used for a particular region/service area, every non-profit [including The Red Cross] is required by law to allocate that money to the particular region. It's known as "restricted funds." I had such a positive experience that I may very well volunteer for The Red Cross.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Where is the web site that will show specifically, where and at what the Red Cross has been effective? Not the general solicitations slogans but facts and figures, by date and events. Perhaps someone can feature what the Red Cross is doing (specifically how many blanks, heaters, shelter, food (not cookies) clean dry clothing etc.) have been provided during the aftermath of Sandy.
I would like to know that things have changed since I was in the armed service.
P.S. The "must select year of experiance" only goes back to 1997. Not far enough for me.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

November 4, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 4, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

From personal experience as a pregnant 9/11 widow in New York City, dealing with the RC when I was a traumatized victim was truly the repeated kick in the butt I certainly didn't need since I was already so low down! And even though I had a legal background, it was still exhausting and unpleasant to deal with such incompetent, and sometimes malicious organization.
Unfortunately, as I've followed the Red Cross over the years, always receiving the most funds after catastrophic events, things have changed very little. You can also look at articles by Stephanie Strom of NYTimes. She has documented the RC's misdeeds post disaster again and again.

Please consider donating to organizations that are kind, compassionate, and competent. There are many ones that are worthy. I am truly appalled that so many intelligent good people continue to give their good will to such an unworthy organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers