Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
12.56338345
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 27, 2014

I am a member of the Red Cross Disaster Response team for Baltimore city and Baltimore County, Maryland. Our team responds to emergencies, both local and national. Usually, they are local house fires, but we have responded to local hurricanes, floods and tornados too. We send out a team, often in the middle of the night, and they assess the situation and provide needed food, clothing, shelter, referrals, and other services as needed. Sometimes a nurse or mental health volunteer is needed too. Our volunteers have a demanding task--helping people who may have lost everything and are traumatized and confused. It's especially hard when there are injuries or fatalities. Our team is trained to respond to all kinds of disasters, and we have received national recognition for the numbers of well-trained volunteers we have deployed to large disasters such as Hurricane Katrina and Superstorm Sandy. I am very proud of our DAT team!
November 20, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 20, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

We have typically donated to the American Red Cross as disasters across our country and all over the world have occurred. Recently, a church group sent out a spreadsheet on multiple charities and it was noted that the CEO of the American Red Cross was Marsha J. Evans and she earned $651,957 per year. I decided to research that information and find that the current CEO is actually Gail McGorvern and she earns $500,000 per year. While we are part of the middle class and can't comprehend someone making $500,000 per year, we understand that her responsibilities are vast therefore, it is easy to imagine that she earns every penny of that salary.

My problem is with all of these groups that circulate emails to thousands of people and those people who are inclined to believe everything that they read no matter the source. We ourselves received assistance from the American Red Cross when Katrina hit the Gulf Coast and we appreciated the fact that they were set up and assisting at the local level.

We have been paying it forward since. For the first time I took exception to the email that was circulating and sent your most recent post out on the internet regarding the American Red Cross.
It is difficult, in our times, to know in whom to put your trust and having seen the American Red Cross in action along the coast during the aftermath of that devasting hurricane, I feel comfortable in supporting them. Church groups tend to support their own members, the American Red Cross sees no boundaries.



Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Show documentaries on the American Red Cross in action and hear responses from the people who have benefitted by the assistance they received. There is a lot of mis-information circulating and people are confused and find it difficult to trust anyone. Where there is "a lack of information" someone will most certainly fill in the blanks with mis-information. Let's see the American Red Cross in action.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

November 16, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 16, 2013

I thought the red cross was a good organization it's not I enjoy the class but when I asked to do something different they always want me to do fire call if you don't feel comfortable bout doing something you shouldn't have to be put on the The same call that how you learn doing different things

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let's make sure that if someone one wants to try something different I would do that

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 24, 2013

more

May 24, 2013

S0MTIME LIFE IS NOT AL ABOUT MONEY BUT HELP FROM OTHERS TOO BECAUSE WHEN A DISASTER COMES IT DOES NOT DIFFERENTIATE BETWEEN THE RICH AND THE POOR BUT IT JUST AFFECTS ALL PEOPLE HENCE MEANING THAT RED CROSS IS LIKE DISASTER (WITH THE IMPARTIALITY PRINCIPLE) AM MORE THAN READY TO HELP OUT VOLUNTARILY

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I WOULD WORK ON THE TRANSPORTATION OF VOLUNTEERS TO FIELDS BECAUSE RED CROSS CARS HELP IN THE INDICATIVE USE OF THE EMBLEMS

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a Red Cross volunteer in New York City. Volunteers and staff responders go to _every_ residential fire in New York City and surrounding areas. I personally have responded to as many as four in a 12-hour period.

The vast majority of the thousands of the local events never make the
news, and no one notices--except for the families we help. The people are often working poor, have no other resources, and aren't "telegenic" enough to attract the attention of media or celebrities.

No, the organization isn't perfect. Yes, there are screwups. But 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year, we are out responding to disasters, and are often greeted with "I didn't know the Red Cross does this."

We are there, despite everything.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allocate more money to better technology, and communicate the meaning of "overhead" to donors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

I think that this non profit is extremely helpful to the community and definitely exemplifies their concern for human trafficking. I would recommend this non profit because it aims to help a group of people who often do not get recognition.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I work for a company that is state mandated to have staff CPR certified. American Red Cross charges us $500 to train an instructor plus the fees for required materials. The overhead, time of the instructor as a paid staff of the employer, benefits of said staff, etc. are all costs paid by my employer and yet American Red Cross requires $27/every person we certify. We spent approx. $5,000/year as a non-profit paying Red Cross for cards. We switched providers and now Red Cross is trying to charge us AGAIN for paid invoices.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm an employee at the national headquarters. I want people to know that everyone at ARC is very careful to stretch every dollar as far as possible, to keep expenses down to a bare minimum, to not spend money on any administrative overhead unless absolutely necessary. Most of us (me included) took a pay cut to work here. If you donate, you can be certain not a single penny of your money will be wasted.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We live on the Jersey shore and were hit hard by hurricane Sandy. The American Red Cross has been our saving grace. From the first few weeks when we were at our high school as a local shelter. And still now while we are STILL looking for housing. I condemned the red cross for there kindness and support. I will say threat FEMA is a joke though..

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My wife gave blood a few times. Now they call multiple times per day. They won't stop. I asked them to stop. They said my wife has to ask them to stop.
For their incessant robo-calling and their insolent attitude they have earned my undying ire.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers