Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
12.76471345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have donated off and on to St. Jude for many years. Using Charity Navigator, I am reviewing all the potential charities that I will support this year. After seeing the two huge salaries for the CEO and COO of St. Jude, I concluded that my financial support should go elsewhere.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My sister passed away from Leukemia and I've always donated to St. Jude - but seeing the outrageous salaries of the top officers has really made me reconsider giving to this organization. I regret that I will not be giving this year. There are other organizations more worthy of my donations.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 10, 2012

more

December 10, 2012

I put exceeds expectations because I believe their HEART and INTENT is in the right place. I think their Fundraising Methods are outdated. They need to use more Internet and less mail service. Partnering with Carnival Cruise Lines was a smart move. But they need to do more to develop that relationship and those cruising on their ships. That is a an audience of 64,000+ every week. And there are people like myself who cruise with Carnival 7 or 8 times a year that would more than happy to volunteer to assist St Jude in getting the word out on these ships. We are cruising on them anyway, so there would be ZERO cost to St Jude.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I have been donors to St. Jude Research Hospital for many years. We always did it to help the kids. We were inspired by the late Danny Thomas who did so much to help St. Jude Research Hospital. Recently, through Charity Navigator, we were made aware of the outrageous salaries paid to the COO and the CEO. It is beyond belief that these two men would work for a charity and take a salary this large out of the charitie's funds. Needless to say we are very disappointed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am disgusted by the size of the executive salaries. I urge the board of this otherwise worthy charity to trim the bloated executive salaries back to the five-figure range, which is an amount that is more in line with the philosophy of a charitable organization. The word is GIVING, not GREED...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I saw a commercial about St. Jude that really touched my heart about 4 years ago and called their number to donate $20 for their research. Since then, they've probably spent over $20 in all the letters asking for more donations, address stickers, and notebooks they've sent to me since then. I've also moved three times since then and gotten married/changed my last name and they've somehow always stayed up to date with my current address and last name which must cost more money. I mean this sounds like a great organization but why would I spend money on them unless I know that they'll deal with my donation wisely? They should spend more money on the kids directly and less on measly gifts to donors that they didn't ask for. And--not to sound bitter--but I called them this morning to ask them about where the money goes. I talked to several people and they were all extremely snotty to me in tone and word and none cared to hear my genuine concern. I think that there a lot more charitable organizations out there more worthy of your support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

ALSAC spends so much of the money it collects for children with cancer that it is no longer a reputable charity. When you give a gift of any amount to this charity, over 20% of your gift is spent on things that have nothing to do with childhood cancer. Last year, the charity’s rate of growth in expenses outpaced its rate of growth in revenue. Yet, the CEO of the charity nearly DOUBLED his own salary from the previous year. This charity would have you believe it desperately needs your money “to keep the hospital’s doors open”, yet it reports that it has over $2.5 BILLION in net assets on hand today.
There are some good cancer charities out there – ALSAC’s just not one of them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 25, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 25, 2012

We have contributed to this organization for years. We think that they do wonderful work. However, thanks to Charity Navigator we now see that their program expenses and their executive compensation is very high. Needless to say, we find that very disappointing news.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Could someone explain how this charity gets 4 stars with Charity Navigator when they spend more than 25% of donations on expenses. I think their cause is a noble one but I question should expenses take this much of the average dollar

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 13, 2012

THEY SUCK! THEY LIE! THEY STEAL YOUR MONEY! My best girlfriend's baby has been turned down 4 months solidly with response that the baby is in her last stages she's 18 months old and a year ago they said that...They won't talk to her parents...There's nothing they can do...and their ad says they don't turn anyone away---Funny--this baby is 40lbs and walking around the furniture at home and they won't even look at her if we show up on the doorstep..I wish I never believed them, gave them money and if I had a way to tell the world I would post her picture on the internet for all of you to see...they are making a mistake...or just damn greedy!!!!!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers