Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12.72222345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
December 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I saw a commercial about St. Jude that really touched my heart about 4 years ago and called their number to donate $20 for their research. Since then, they've probably spent over $20 in all the letters asking for more donations, address stickers, and notebooks they've sent to me since then. I've also moved three times since then and gotten married/changed my last name and they've somehow always stayed up to date with my current address and last name which must cost more money. I mean this sounds like a great organization but why would I spend money on them unless I know that they'll deal with my donation wisely? They should spend more money on the kids directly and less on measly gifts to donors that they didn't ask for. And--not to sound bitter--but I called them this morning to ask them about where the money goes. I talked to several people and they were all extremely snotty to me in tone and word and none cared to hear my genuine concern. I think that there a lot more charitable organizations out there more worthy of your support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

ALSAC spends so much of the money it collects for children with cancer that it is no longer a reputable charity. When you give a gift of any amount to this charity, over 20% of your gift is spent on things that have nothing to do with childhood cancer. Last year, the charity’s rate of growth in expenses outpaced its rate of growth in revenue. Yet, the CEO of the charity nearly DOUBLED his own salary from the previous year. This charity would have you believe it desperately needs your money “to keep the hospital’s doors open”, yet it reports that it has over $2.5 BILLION in net assets on hand today.
There are some good cancer charities out there – ALSAC’s just not one of them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 25, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 25, 2012

We have contributed to this organization for years. We think that they do wonderful work. However, thanks to Charity Navigator we now see that their program expenses and their executive compensation is very high. Needless to say, we find that very disappointing news.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 10, 2012

ST JUDE'S RESEARCH HOSPITAL: When I worked for a major, international airline, I remember booking flights for doctors to go overseas -- in FIRST CLASS. The tickets were insanely expensive!! I understand they need to arrive rested, but Business Class would have been more than sufficiently restful, and would have been half the price. I thought about how many trips they booked and all the money that could have gone directly to patients.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

August 2, 2012

I am a physician and have personally diagnosed children with ALL. I live in Peoria which has the St. Jude Midwest affiliate. These children were immediately enveloped in a blanket of services like I have never seen. I have seen firsthand what St. Jude does, and I donate every year knowing my money is being used well.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Could someone explain how this charity gets 4 stars with Charity Navigator when they spend more than 25% of donations on expenses. I think their cause is a noble one but I question should expenses take this much of the average dollar

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 13, 2012

THEY SUCK! THEY LIE! THEY STEAL YOUR MONEY! My best girlfriend's baby has been turned down 4 months solidly with response that the baby is in her last stages she's 18 months old and a year ago they said that...They won't talk to her parents...There's nothing they can do...and their ad says they don't turn anyone away---Funny--this baby is 40lbs and walking around the furniture at home and they won't even look at her if we show up on the doorstep..I wish I never believed them, gave them money and if I had a way to tell the world I would post her picture on the internet for all of you to see...they are making a mistake...or just damn greedy!!!!!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is amazing. I've toured their facility and their focuson the kids AND their families is amazing. Everyone I met there talked about the kids and their mission.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the way they do such a great job in reaching out ot the Hispanic market. Their results from their research are spectacular.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not do anything. They are superb.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

How did you learn about this organization?

Their TV ads.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers