Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12.72222345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

I have donated many times in the past, but did not know they were Lebanese or Syrian affiliated. Also did not know their CEO made such big bucks.
April 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My wife, a donor, and I just toured St. Jude's Children's Hospital and Research Center and were very impressed. No clients served pays a cent and the facilities are excellent. Most impressive is the improvements in survivor rates since inception through their research. Additionally, they don't copyright any of their research papers or patent their findings. All is open, and even distributed to, all other research agencies. They have video worldwide conferences with other researchers. Whan they find doctors that are treating children with cancer that aren't educated sufficiently they bring them to Memphis to bring them up to standard. I am now changing some of my charitable giving to give to ALSAC.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 21, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 21, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

Until recently I supported this charity on a monthly basis. Not long ago I lost the credit card that was being used for an automatic debit each month. I had to cancel the card. Soon I got a call from St Jude's financial office because they were unable to debit my cancelled credit card. They demanded that I give them the new number, but my wallet was unavailable to me at the time and so I told them I would find it and call them back. They demurred and loudly demanded that I find it now.

Since then I have decline to contribute to them and will never do so again.

More feedback...

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have donated off and on to St. Jude for many years. Using Charity Navigator, I am reviewing all the potential charities that I will support this year. After seeing the two huge salaries for the CEO and COO of St. Jude, I concluded that my financial support should go elsewhere.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2013

I am a patient at St. Jude and I give them five stars because even though they may not be making enormous breakthroughs they still treat cancer patients, especially children for free. Personally I have received medications through them that I never would have been able to afford. Their fundraising may not be very efficient but they still treat their patients with enormous integrity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My sister passed away from Leukemia and I've always donated to St. Jude - but seeing the outrageous salaries of the top officers has really made me reconsider giving to this organization. I regret that I will not be giving this year. There are other organizations more worthy of my donations.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 17, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 17, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

I worked at St. Jude on staff for 17 yr. I saw it change from an institution focussed on the children to an institution that derided its clinical staff and placed its priorities elsewhere i.e. laboratory though they still used the children as the means to raise money. Professionally, St. Jude has not made a major contribution to the outcome of children with cancer in over 20 yr - others have done that including the key areas of leukemia, brain tumors and non-Hodgkin lymphoma despite their claims on TV and elsewhere. The staff including nurse, techs etc who actually take care of the children have minimal retirements/benefits - actually embarrassing despite having spent 20-30 yr at the institution. Danny Thomas was great - and truly loved the children and supported staff. When he died - that died. When Don Pinkel (first medical director) left , the achievements in cancer therapy left. Give to your local cancer hospital - they give the same or better care. St. Jude is bloated with money.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 10, 2012

more

December 10, 2012

I put exceeds expectations because I believe their HEART and INTENT is in the right place. I think their Fundraising Methods are outdated. They need to use more Internet and less mail service. Partnering with Carnival Cruise Lines was a smart move. But they need to do more to develop that relationship and those cruising on their ships. That is a an audience of 64,000+ every week. And there are people like myself who cruise with Carnival 7 or 8 times a year that would more than happy to volunteer to assist St Jude in getting the word out on these ships. We are cruising on them anyway, so there would be ZERO cost to St Jude.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 9, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 9, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

My wife and I have been donors to St. Jude Research Hospital for many years. We always did it to help the kids. We were inspired by the late Danny Thomas who did so much to help St. Jude Research Hospital. Recently, through Charity Navigator, we were made aware of the outrageous salaries paid to the COO and the CEO. It is beyond belief that these two men would work for a charity and take a salary this large out of the charitie's funds. Needless to say we are very disappointed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am disgusted by the size of the executive salaries. I urge the board of this otherwise worthy charity to trim the bloated executive salaries back to the five-figure range, which is an amount that is more in line with the philosophy of a charitable organization. The word is GIVING, not GREED...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers