Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1.533332345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 30, 2013
20 people found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2013
20 people found this review helpful

So much money raised and so little goes to research. Where does it all go? This organization is one of many that make people think they are collecting money for research. Of the $25 million collected in donations last year only 10% goes to cancer research!! The educational information on cancer prevention they provide is the same information you can find anywhere for free and don't have to pay to read it. My next stop is to review their 990 form and see how much the executives are making.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 27, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 27, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

We started receiving phone calls from AICR several months ago. Three or four calls per day, including weekends and holidays. Ignoring calls didn't stop them...telling them we are not interested did not stop them...telling them that we were unable to participate in collecting funds did not stop the phone calls. Some of the calls come very early in the morning and late at night. People suffering from CA do not need to be distrubed over and over. There are legitimate organizations that conduct research and provide services to CA patients. This does not appear to be one of them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 5, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

These people are scam artists who call from different numbers in the 202 area code. Do not donate.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 1, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

The AICR earned a rating of zero as a charity. However, based on the fact that I get at least one robo call per day from their "boiler shop" they certainly are a 5 star telephone spammer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Eliminate bothersome and perhaps illegal robo calling. The FCC should shut this outfit down.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 26, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

My husband recently received the "Thanks for volunteering" postcard followed by the "Volunteer Packet," which led to my research. He is not going to solicit neighbors (especially since he doesn't remember signing up for it). Plan to notify them by mail that he will not be doing it. Will post more if we hear from them again.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2011
16 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 17, 2011
16 people found this review helpful

Two days ago I received a packet from this organization with the following on the front address page:

HERE'S THE OFFICIAL VOLUNTEER KIT YOU REQUESTED!

I did not request a volunteer kit nor have I talked to them about one, ever, as far as I know. I think there is a similar charity
in Wash DC I had contact with some time ago, but it called itself Breast Cancer Research or the like and I opted out in writing.

In any case this type of mailing, unsolicited and across state lines must constitute some sort of violation - or many.

Can't say it's fraud, but it comes close.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have had no experience with them except for this unsolicited and frankly brash mailing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop this type of mailing immediately.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How did you learn about this organization?

Never heard of it before.

June 7, 2011
16 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 7, 2011
16 people found this review helpful

These people conned my elderly mother on a fixed income into giving a donation regularly because my wife died of lung cancer. My mother thought she was donating to research on cures for cancer and AICR is not that.
My mother has not contributed anymore for more than a year and does not want
to.
They will not stop harassing her on the phone. Every single day they call, I put their number on the blocked calls list with my phone company and the next day they call from a different number.
This is a scumbag, disrespectful tactic.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Their telephone harassment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would respect people who decline to donate further.

April 6, 2010
18 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 6, 2010
18 people found this review helpful

This organization uses the telephone for soliciting donations in an unscrupulous manner. My mother-in-law receives daily calls from theam (different numbers, but registered to AICR). When she answers, there is no one on the line. I did some research on the Internet to find out who was calling her, as she is elderly, and it really spooks her to get these calls. It was easy to find the answer on the Internet, because, it seems, the experience is widespread. My mother-in-law is on the "do not call list," by the way. That is a really bad use of money for a charitable organization- repeatedly calling people on the "do not call list" to get money from them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

discourteous in using the telephone.

Ways to make it better...

They would not call people on the "do not call list."

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers