Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1.533332345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 30, 2013
21 people found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2013
21 people found this review helpful

So much money raised and so little goes to research. Where does it all go? This organization is one of many that make people think they are collecting money for research. Of the $25 million collected in donations last year only 10% goes to cancer research!! The educational information on cancer prevention they provide is the same information you can find anywhere for free and don't have to pay to read it. My next stop is to review their 990 form and see how much the executives are making.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2013
15 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 8, 2013
15 people found this review helpful

The reviews are on the money, Badly timed phone calls and dunning letters.
They knew I was a cancer patient ---HOW.
It just makes this scam more reprehensible.
Do Not Donate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013
16 people found this review helpful

more

February 6, 2013
16 people found this review helpful

Like many other reviewers, I received an unsolicited volunteer packet with my name and several neighbors' names. After doing a little research on the Internet it became clear that this is scam. They spend a lot of money on fundraising and little on actual programs. They report to the IRS but the IRS is not in the business of investigating non-profits so that is essentialy meaningless and merely makes them look legitimate. Giver beware!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 27, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 27, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

We started receiving phone calls from AICR several months ago. Three or four calls per day, including weekends and holidays. Ignoring calls didn't stop them...telling them we are not interested did not stop them...telling them that we were unable to participate in collecting funds did not stop the phone calls. Some of the calls come very early in the morning and late at night. People suffering from CA do not need to be distrubed over and over. There are legitimate organizations that conduct research and provide services to CA patients. This does not appear to be one of them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012
17 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 5, 2012
17 people found this review helpful

I received a volunteer packet, and considered handing out as vitally concerned about link of diet to cancer. I looked at their 2011 Form 990 and decided to pass. This is entirely a self-perpetuating marketing scheme. Look at the revenues from sales of their reports, etc - nothing. $5 mill to marketing firm (25% of donations), $5 mil to mailing costs, obviously for volunteer kits (25% of donations). Couldn't spot any costs for research (one of their 501c purposes). Lots better places to donate. Rating scale didn't have a zero or negative, which it needs for this group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 9, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

September 2012 article in Bloomberg & NPR found much of the donations going to a telemarketer, InfoCision. This charity will not get my money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 5, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

These people are scam artists who call from different numbers in the 202 area code. Do not donate.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2012
26 people found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2012
26 people found this review helpful

We used to collect money from our neighbors for AICR, before we knew better. AICR is very persistent in calling and mailing to make sure you send them their donations in a punctual manner. Having relatives who passed away from cancer, we wanted to help - at first. The BBB listing shows they are now an accredited charity, but they have a very low point score, meaning they keep the donations for their telemarketers and CEO. DO NOT GIVE TO THIS "Charity" AICR.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 1, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 1, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

The AICR earned a rating of zero as a charity. However, based on the fact that I get at least one robo call per day from their "boiler shop" they certainly are a 5 star telephone spammer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Eliminate bothersome and perhaps illegal robo calling. The FCC should shut this outfit down.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 2, 2012
13 people found this review helpful

more

May 2, 2012
13 people found this review helpful

Reading the comments made me really sad. There is a reason why AICR spent a lot of money on administrative costs. Most of their educational materials are free upon request and their expert report (it took years of volunteer efforts from researchers all around the world) is being used every day by health professionals. Major progress in the understanding how nutrients and nutritional resources are affecting cancer risks such as fiber and colon cancer came from AICR. The New American plate (which is now being followed by MyPlate) was also presented by AICR. ACS also works together with AICR. The dietary and physical activity guidelines related to reducing cancer risks are usually developed together by the 2 organizations. I would recommend that everyone take a look at the resources for cancer survivors and the cancer-free population before making a judgement.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers