Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.953855
Write A Review
November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I have been blessed to be able to go on a Running Strong Tour and was able to see all the wonderful ministries they do. Everyone I have met that is connected to this nonprofit has been a caring and compasionate person and the different projects truly do help people. It is not a about a hand out, but a hand up.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been passionately involved with Running Strong for American Indian Youth since my brother became a TRS member in 2004. I have seen first hand what this organization gives to native communities in need of essential life saving tools. This organization gives back day in and day out to poverish communities by way of drilling water wells for families, building dialysis clinics for areas of communities who are stricken by high diabete rates and poverty, providing food, clothing and school supplies for those in need of it. In addition to all listed, they make time to do a Thanksgiving turkey meal drive and Christmas gift drive to keep the spirit of giving alive. Personally, In the last 3 years that I have raised funds for TRS through the Marine Corps Marathon, the sacrifice I give mind, body and spirit to run 26.2 miles still does not feel like enough effort in helping my fellow natives bridge the gap out of poverty.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 27, 2011

This is an amazing charity that works hard to provide much needed funds for American Indian Youth. The money they raise goes directly to aiding in the immediate survival needs of young people in this... more

November 27, 2012

I've raised funds and run for Billy Mills' team in the Marine Corps Marathon every year since 2009. Why? Because every single penny goes to help the youth and communities that TRS stands for. This nonprofit is all about helping American Indian Youth, no fringe, no fuss, no putting your money into helping people train or fly out to the races, etc. Plus, Billy Mills really cares about TRS, so much so that he comes every year to support the team and encourage our fundraising, in person! Truly an amazing man and an amazing charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

This is an amazing charity that works hard to provide much needed funds for American Indian Youth. The money they raise goes directly to aiding in the immediate survival needs of young people in this country. If you want something to work, if you want good results, start with the children. This organization does.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the results of Running Strong For American Indian Youth as they provide funding for water wells, organic gardens, youth centers, food, etc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

mention these ideas to Billy Mills. After all, he cares enough to travel almost all year long, speaking out for Native American Youth. He talks to people and he inspires us and he listens to us too. As it is, I would not change anything, but if I had ideas I'd tell him because he cares and he would listen.

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

For the past few years this is the only organization I donate to through my employer. They do an amazing job of helping people meet just their basic needs. By raising the self esteem of entire populations and helping them to live healthier lives it is a benefit to all. I believe strongly in the work being done by Running Strong and continue to give as much as I can to help them achieve their goals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I will continue to support Running Strong because I see the results of their work that touches not only my life personally, but the many families and youth it serves to nourish. Running Strong as an organization and the people who guide this organization are role models for me. I am grateful to Running Strong.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my donations helped plant gardens for healthy food for 250 families.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Growing food supports and nourishes healthy children, strong cultural Life Ways with Mother Earth and makes communities strong.

What would you tell others about this organization?

yes

October 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been giving to this non-profit for the past couple of years or so through the Commonwealth of Virginia's CVC program. Easy to give via payroll deduction to a worthy organization with low overhead. I like knowing that the bulk of my donation ends up in the hands, mouths, or homes of those that benefit the most. Having some knowledge and understanding of the difficulties of those living on reservations, I want my donation to help raise someone up. With the sometimes desperate situations that I have seen, I wish everyone would consider donating. A little can grow into a lot combined - so I hope those that read this will consider donating and helping these kids and families have a fighting chance.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Running Strong For American Indian Youth is a great and effective charity that helps Native Americans. They help with food packages that prevent people from going hungry or starving; they help with water well and gardening projects that provide running water and food for people; they have many other projects including winter clothing and help with fuel bills and most of all they care and that caring provides hope and a future for generations to come. I donate as often as I can to this worthy cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

Running Strong is truly committed to helping the Native Americans improve their lives all the way around. Without the assistance of an organization like this, many people would have to suffer more, live a more wasted life, and have a bleak future. It is sad to think that Americans have shaped the current existence that is seen on reservations right now; but by helping out Running Strong we can make changes to what the future for these people will be. I have read about these changes over the years that I have supported them; and it has improved their lives.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This charity has an annual tour where donors can visit and see for themselves how their donations are being used on the Pine Ridge and Cheyenne River Sioux Indian Reservations. You can't help but be impressed!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am proud to support Running Strong because of the great work they do helping American Indian youth to be healthy both physically and mentally. Such a great charity!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers