Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.893945
Write A Review
October 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2012

I have been helping Running strong as I can since a couple of years after the program began. I believe strongly that allowing any American citizen especially our very first citizens to live in these c... more

October 7, 2013

I was taught as a child to always help others who were in need if I could. I have not missed donating what I can since 1996. Running Strong is the best program of it's kind that I know of. What could be more important than helping these forgotten children of America's First Citizens. This is truly a beautiful and very well ran program. I would urge anyone who can help to check out Running Strong !
Ottie W. Reno

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think any changes need be made.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been helping Running strong as I can since a couple of years after the program began. I believe strongly that allowing any American citizen especially our very first citizens to live in these conditions is a crime and a sin. Running strong lets you see proof of where your donations are going. I hope to tour the Reservation sometime. I believe that this is one of the finest and most needed as well as most deserved programs of it's kind in America. Billy Mills deserves the highest awards America can give a man for all he has done for our country and for the American Indian People. May God bless this program. Billy and our First Citizens. Look them up at www.indianyouth.org

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 27, 2012

Running Strong for American Indian Youth is an outstanding organization. I have been associated with this organization for more than a few years. I had an opportubity the past two years in participa... more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a strong supporter of Running Strong for Indian Youth. It is an organization that strives to promote grass roots advancement for those that have not a spokesperson in their lives or who can feel pride in their heritage. I have been a part of this organization as a donor an participant in the Marine Corps Marathon 10K team. It is one of my favorite charities and one that I feel good supporting. I have met Billy Mills and think they have a great spokeman in Billy.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Running Strong for American Indian Youth is an outstanding organization. I have been associated with this organization for more than a few years. I had an opportubity the past two years in participating with the Run Strong running team both at the Marine Corps Marathon and the Philadelphia Marathon, raising funds for Indian Youth. The inspirational leader and very active figure Billy Mills is a wonderful conpassionate man. The various programs supported by Running Strong for American Youth, to me, are essential and well received at the locations that are served.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with Running Strong for close to 25years. I first became aware of this group because of a letter from Billy Mills and I knew that if he was a part of this organization that it would have
credibility. In 1992 I went on my first Running Strong Tour because I wanted to see
what the
Organization really did. I met a small group of very hard working staff who were eager to show what
their mission was about. They work with people, asking what is needed; finding leaders among
the tribes, listening to their ideas and needs. Running Strong supports not dictates solutions.
Programs are evaluated and changed if necessary. The first goal was to help provide water, and then
food. They have been able to broaden their programs and reach people inall areas of the country.
So many good things can be said about all of the people involved with this group. Some that stand
out are dedication, determination to do a good job, wise use of resources and respect for all
people . The annual tour is a way to see for yourself just a small portion of what this group is about.

Judy R

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

I have seen 1st hand the impact Running Strong has on the reservation (Pine Ridge). The very hard work those involved with Running Strong do. I took the tour many years ago and have continued to be i... more

October 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have donated to Running Strong many times over the years. I have taken the tour- visited the Pine Ridge Reservation many times and gotten to know many of the people involved in Running Strong- the good they do can not be measured- they teach as well as help- the HARD work the do year after year is unbelievable
and all is done from the heart- Thank You Running Strong!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 30, 2012

I have seen 1st hand the impact Running Strong has on the reservation (Pine Ridge). The very hard work those involved with Running Strong do. I took the tour many years ago and have continued to be involved with the reservation and people on a personal level. The work re: Running Strong does must be gotten out to as many as possible. It definitely deserves to get on the 2012 Non-profit list.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Running Strong seems like it really lives up to its title! It seems to have a really super organized group of people who are there for it and are helping it succeed as a charity to help the impoverished Native Peoples that live on the PIne Ridge Reservation and elsewhere! May its success continue!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I have been a supporter of Running Strong for a number of years, but now I live close to the Pine Ridge Rez so I can see the results first hand. The poverty on the Rez is astouding and as the elders say, unless we help the children the cycle will only continue. Running Strong helps to break the cycle and give hope for the future. The gardens and wells are great ideas as the people prefer to help themselves, allowing them to keep their dignity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Running with Team Running Strong was a great experience. Billy Mills and all of the support personnel believe in what they're doing and it really seemed to be a lean, fiscally-responsible charity. Billy wanted to personally meet all the runners and happily shared hours of his time with touching & sometimes humorous stories about his life's challenges, his triumphant turn as an American Olympian in the 1964 Tokyo Olympics and his charity work benefitting American Indian communities & youth. What he did not do was waste a lot of money on food, entertainment, a fancy office, etc. TRS brings good things to American Indian communities in immediate, concrete ways and has probably helped at least a generation of youth become happy and fulfilled adults. I felt good about where the money I donated was going.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Running Strong is the BEST!!! They do so very much to help and enlighten the Indians of this great country! And ssssoooooo organized. WOW! It's truley unbelievable the many things Running Strong can do for the Youth and for whole families living in and around the rez. The Tour is absolutely fantastic! The Running Strong Staff and the Guides that accompany everyone are spot on with the care they give you, the stories and history they share and always with an open and honest attitude.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Great organization bringing much needed empowerment skills to young people. They keep donors really well informed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Running Strong is an amazing organization dedicated to helping our most vulnerable and impoverished children. Without the basic sustenance of life, they have no hope to soar in the future. I commend Billy Mills and all his staff and volunteers for the wonderful work they do. A small donation yields large rewards.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers