Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.954555
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 15, 2013

more

November 15, 2013

This organization is one of the best we have to offer youth as an inspirational boost. A great deal of this influence is due to the support given by Billy Mills' winner of the first gold medal given to a Native American Indian in 1964.
Some years ago I received a video and wore it out showing
it to youth of all ages.
In the video Billy recalled what gave him the impetus to compete and win.
THIS VIDEO SHOULD BE WIDELY SEEN BY OUR YOUTH OF ALL BACKGROUNDS IN THIS YEAR OF OLYNPIC COMPETITION.
In my opinion, the WORLD would greatly benefit from this as well. Send me a CD of this video and I will take it to our local tv stations to show as an example of what former Olympic champions are presently accomplishing with Olympic spirit! God bless and keep you all! Joyce Mena

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give it more publicity

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

This program is the only one that I donate to through the Combined Federal Campaign because of Billy Mills, himself. In 1964 I watched the Olympics and was one of millions who saw Billy Mills win a Gold Medal in the 10,000 meter track event and yet hardly anybody knew who he was. Even the announcers were scrambling to figure out who he was and where he came from. I have never fogotten that nor did I ever forget Mr. Mills. Donating to AIYR is my way to honor Mr. Mills achievements not only as an Olympic champion but for all that he has done over the years. He truly has a giving spirit and attitude. AIYR programs insure that American Indian youth are not ignored nor forgotten. AIYR programs build self-confidence and once a person has that they can take on the world - just like Billy Mills did. I also appreciate the AIYR reminder postcard featuring the CFC number. CathieDavids@yahoo.com, Flint, Michigan

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have a friend who has supported the Running Strong program for some time, but has only recently shared it with me. He is highly supportive of it, and has great things to say about it. He has made me a believer in offering support as well. I am sending a contribution today. As someone with Native American blood (1/16 Cherokee), I am sensitive to the needs and the plight of the American Indian. Though I am happy to say that I have not had to feel the discrimination often associated with the Native American culture, I am not ignorant of it. I applaud those who are willing to make the effort to make a difference. My hope is that the gifts given make a marked difference, in a personal way, to those who receive the benefits of them. I look forward to a long-lasting friendship with this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 29, 2012

Billy Mills is a true American hero whose amazing story now includes saving the lives of Native American children! His charitable efforts in organizing Running Strong are truly inspiring. The United... more

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a supporter of Running Strong for a few years now, and I think that not only is founder Billy Mills an American hero with an inspiring life story, but what he and the Running Strong organization are doing is even more heroic! What better way to help a forgotten portion of our population than to lend aid to the native Indian children in this country! I have also shopped at their "store" for some wonderful handmade gifts for Christmases and birthdays. The organization has always been open and forthcoming with keeping supporters up-to-date on what's happening with their funds. This is one charity that I have absolutely no hesitation in supporting!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

Billy Mills is a true American hero whose amazing story now includes saving the lives of Native American children! His charitable efforts in organizing Running Strong are truly inspiring. The United States owes a huge debt to the Native Americans. What better way to pay that debt than to be able to help provide basic needs and the chance for education and a good life to the children of our Native American tribes, of whom I'm proud to share some blood (Cherokee).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

We have supported Running Strong for American Youth for nearly 25 years. It is an organization that works WITH the people it serves. It doesn't TELL people what they need, it ASKS them and then Running Strong and the people work together to do what is necessary to meet the need. On one of their Reservation Tours we had the opportunity to visit many of the ongoing projects and the people involved. We came away with an even stronger desire to support their efforts. Their projects are successful and run efficiently. We have never seen an organization do so much with so little. Those who benefit from these projects are most appreciative and do what they can to pass on the good to others. We are so grateful to be able to help support such an excellent organization. We often give extra donations as Christmas gifts.


More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2012

I have been helping Running strong as I can since a couple of years after the program began. I believe strongly that allowing any American citizen especially our very first citizens to live in these c... more

October 7, 2013

I was taught as a child to always help others who were in need if I could. I have not missed donating what I can since 1996. Running Strong is the best program of it's kind that I know of. What could be more important than helping these forgotten children of America's First Citizens. This is truly a beautiful and very well ran program. I would urge anyone who can help to check out Running Strong !
Ottie W. Reno

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think any changes need be made.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been helping Running strong as I can since a couple of years after the program began. I believe strongly that allowing any American citizen especially our very first citizens to live in these conditions is a crime and a sin. Running strong lets you see proof of where your donations are going. I hope to tour the Reservation sometime. I believe that this is one of the finest and most needed as well as most deserved programs of it's kind in America. Billy Mills deserves the highest awards America can give a man for all he has done for our country and for the American Indian People. May God bless this program. Billy and our First Citizens. Look them up at www.indianyouth.org

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 27, 2012

Running Strong for American Indian Youth is an outstanding organization. I have been associated with this organization for more than a few years. I had an opportubity the past two years in participa... more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a strong supporter of Running Strong for Indian Youth. It is an organization that strives to promote grass roots advancement for those that have not a spokesperson in their lives or who can feel pride in their heritage. I have been a part of this organization as a donor an participant in the Marine Corps Marathon 10K team. It is one of my favorite charities and one that I feel good supporting. I have met Billy Mills and think they have a great spokeman in Billy.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Running Strong for American Indian Youth is an outstanding organization. I have been associated with this organization for more than a few years. I had an opportubity the past two years in participating with the Run Strong running team both at the Marine Corps Marathon and the Philadelphia Marathon, raising funds for Indian Youth. The inspirational leader and very active figure Billy Mills is a wonderful conpassionate man. The various programs supported by Running Strong for American Youth, to me, are essential and well received at the locations that are served.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with Running Strong for close to 25years. I first became aware of this group because of a letter from Billy Mills and I knew that if he was a part of this organization that it would have
credibility. In 1992 I went on my first Running Strong Tour because I wanted to see
what the
Organization really did. I met a small group of very hard working staff who were eager to show what
their mission was about. They work with people, asking what is needed; finding leaders among
the tribes, listening to their ideas and needs. Running Strong supports not dictates solutions.
Programs are evaluated and changed if necessary. The first goal was to help provide water, and then
food. They have been able to broaden their programs and reach people inall areas of the country.
So many good things can be said about all of the people involved with this group. Some that stand
out are dedication, determination to do a good job, wise use of resources and respect for all
people . The annual tour is a way to see for yourself just a small portion of what this group is about.

Judy R

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

I have seen 1st hand the impact Running Strong has on the reservation (Pine Ridge). The very hard work those involved with Running Strong do. I took the tour many years ago and have continued to be i... more

October 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have donated to Running Strong many times over the years. I have taken the tour- visited the Pine Ridge Reservation many times and gotten to know many of the people involved in Running Strong- the good they do can not be measured- they teach as well as help- the HARD work the do year after year is unbelievable
and all is done from the heart- Thank You Running Strong!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 30, 2012

I have seen 1st hand the impact Running Strong has on the reservation (Pine Ridge). The very hard work those involved with Running Strong do. I took the tour many years ago and have continued to be involved with the reservation and people on a personal level. The work re: Running Strong does must be gotten out to as many as possible. It definitely deserves to get on the 2012 Non-profit list.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Running Strong seems like it really lives up to its title! It seems to have a really super organized group of people who are there for it and are helping it succeed as a charity to help the impoverished Native Peoples that live on the PIne Ridge Reservation and elsewhere! May its success continue!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers