Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.953855
Write A Review
October 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Over the years, I've felt that Running Strong for American Indian Youth and Billy and Pat Mills have done a great deal for the Indian youth. I feel it is a worthwhile recipient of my donations.
November 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is one of the best we have to offer youth as an inspirational boost. A great deal of this influence is due to the support given by Billy Mills' winner of the first gold medal given to a Native American Indian in 1964.
Some years ago I received a video and wore it out showing
it to youth of all ages.
In the video Billy recalled what gave him the impetus to compete and win.
THIS VIDEO SHOULD BE WIDELY SEEN BY OUR YOUTH OF ALL BACKGROUNDS IN THIS YEAR OF OLYNPIC COMPETITION.
In my opinion, the WORLD would greatly benefit from this as well. Send me a CD of this video and I will take it to our local tv stations to show as an example of what former Olympic champions are presently accomplishing with Olympic spirit! God bless and keep you all! Joyce Mena

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give it more publicity

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

We at Teton Coalition support the Billy Foundation they have helped each year for our Christmas party for about 250 clients through out Rapid City, South Dakota. Many of the children just love the party seeing the elders and visiting with the elders. About 10 volunteers put this party on along with dancers, Santa visits, last year we made turkey, salads, gravy, potatoes, ham, bread, desserts for the meal. Many of the people said this party was their Christmas dinner because they can't afford to buy this stuff. The laughter, the get together, and mostly the children enjoyed this party. If Running Strong didn't help us help these families we couldn't help the families in Rapid City. We was also able to buy small gifts for each child, small candy box for the Elders. I express your kindness during the holidays. Please consider the children they are our future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish we had money to help and donate because we would do so much more.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

This program is the only one that I donate to through the Combined Federal Campaign because of Billy Mills, himself. In 1964 I watched the Olympics and was one of millions who saw Billy Mills win a Gold Medal in the 10,000 meter track event and yet hardly anybody knew who he was. Even the announcers were scrambling to figure out who he was and where he came from. I have never fogotten that nor did I ever forget Mr. Mills. Donating to AIYR is my way to honor Mr. Mills achievements not only as an Olympic champion but for all that he has done over the years. He truly has a giving spirit and attitude. AIYR programs insure that American Indian youth are not ignored nor forgotten. AIYR programs build self-confidence and once a person has that they can take on the world - just like Billy Mills did. I also appreciate the AIYR reminder postcard featuring the CFC number. CathieDavids@yahoo.com, Flint, Michigan

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

I have seen 1st hand the impact Running Strong has on the reservation (Pine Ridge). The very hard work those involved with Running Strong do. I took the tour many years ago and have continued to be i... more

October 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have donated to Running Strong many times over the years. I have taken the tour- visited the Pine Ridge Reservation many times and gotten to know many of the people involved in Running Strong- the good they do can not be measured- they teach as well as help- the HARD work the do year after year is unbelievable
and all is done from the heart- Thank You Running Strong!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 30, 2012

I have seen 1st hand the impact Running Strong has on the reservation (Pine Ridge). The very hard work those involved with Running Strong do. I took the tour many years ago and have continued to be involved with the reservation and people on a personal level. The work re: Running Strong does must be gotten out to as many as possible. It definitely deserves to get on the 2012 Non-profit list.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I have followed Running Strong For American Indian Youth for some time now, and have donated to this much worthy cause. Running Strong helps empower todays American Indian youths, teaching honor, respect, self sufficiency and a great many other things to those who need it most. Running Strong gives so much to those who need it most, often and especially in times of dire need. They bring the plight of the native American youth to light, and through diligent work, dedication, determination and donations seek to improve the lives of impoverished native American youth.

Running Strong teaches pride in one's culture, traditions, and history. It teaches one to stand strong, and true in their beliefs, their religion, and their spirituality. Running Strong For American Indian Youth strives to improve the lives, health and education to todays American Indian youth. This is a place of friendship, of helping hands, of love, respect and pride. Running Strong For American Indian Youth is a top notch not for profit organization that works hard, and deserves to be acknowledged for their hard work, dedication and insitefullness. Personally, I wished more people knew of Running Strong. They are really great.

Thank you,
Cliff Cummings

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would start a campaign of advertising, getting the word out to more people in the hopes of procuring more donations to this cause. Understand, my stepmother is Cherokee and Irish, and my Grandfather is Blackfoot and French, so this cause touches my spirit deeply.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have a friend who has supported the Running Strong program for some time, but has only recently shared it with me. He is highly supportive of it, and has great things to say about it. He has made me a believer in offering support as well. I am sending a contribution today. As someone with Native American blood (1/16 Cherokee), I am sensitive to the needs and the plight of the American Indian. Though I am happy to say that I have not had to feel the discrimination often associated with the Native American culture, I am not ignorant of it. I applaud those who are willing to make the effort to make a difference. My hope is that the gifts given make a marked difference, in a personal way, to those who receive the benefits of them. I look forward to a long-lasting friendship with this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This non profit organization is one of the most helpful and healing organizations for our people. without the help from people like Billy Mills and other great leaders our people would not have inspired to accomplish their goals. Now I see a change and it takes people like these who run these types of organizations to inspire our people to better themselves and to remind them that there heritage is sacred and that they can accomplish goals and be successful in the 21stcentury and beyond.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Running Strong for American Youth is probably the best Non-Profit organization that exists, and which actually helps our people in the most needed ways. They work for, and serve the people well. More non-profit organizations could learn how to truly help the people from them. They have my support and will always have it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I LOVE Toys for Tribes! Getting names and imagining what the kids would like is my way of getting in touch with the spirit of the season at year's end. Toys for Tribes is a great way to combat any feelings of the holidays being over-commercialized. I think to myself- I am lucky to have many choices for shopping, and price competition, for good prices. One year a little girl wanted a play purse, so I got her that, but then I filled it with make-believe cards I made - driver license, ATM cards, library card, voter registration card, note pad and fancy pen, chocolate coins, key chain with some old keys, lip balm, a change purse with a little "mad money." I hope she liked playing with it. I loved putting it together for her. I think that with Toys for Tribes, Billy Mills and his staff brings many levels of warmth to all of us at the coldest time of the year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Video-tape the delivery of the gifts and put a clip on your web site.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers