Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.954555
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

We have supported Running Strong for American Youth for nearly 25 years. It is an organization that works WITH the people it serves. It doesn't TELL people what they need, it ASKS them and then Running Strong and the people work together to do what is necessary to meet the need. On one of their Reservation Tours we had the opportunity to visit many of the ongoing projects and the people involved. We came away with an even stronger desire to support their efforts. Their projects are successful and run efficiently. We have never seen an organization do so much with so little. Those who benefit from these projects are most appreciative and do what they can to pass on the good to others. We are so grateful to be able to help support such an excellent organization. We often give extra donations as Christmas gifts.


More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Running Strong is an organization with a great reputation among Native American organizations for stepping in to deliver when people are in need. The Organization respects the autonomy of and works closely with many Native American groups. The Organization has a long history of getting the most bang for donor dollars. I am beyond proud to be associated with the Organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand its resources. The Organization tends to Native American needs every year despite the fact that these needs aren't always the cause de jour in the press.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2012

I have been helping Running strong as I can since a couple of years after the program began. I believe strongly that allowing any American citizen especially our very first citizens to live in these c... more

October 7, 2013

I was taught as a child to always help others who were in need if I could. I have not missed donating what I can since 1996. Running Strong is the best program of it's kind that I know of. What could be more important than helping these forgotten children of America's First Citizens. This is truly a beautiful and very well ran program. I would urge anyone who can help to check out Running Strong !
Ottie W. Reno

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think any changes need be made.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been helping Running strong as I can since a couple of years after the program began. I believe strongly that allowing any American citizen especially our very first citizens to live in these conditions is a crime and a sin. Running strong lets you see proof of where your donations are going. I hope to tour the Reservation sometime. I believe that this is one of the finest and most needed as well as most deserved programs of it's kind in America. Billy Mills deserves the highest awards America can give a man for all he has done for our country and for the American Indian People. May God bless this program. Billy and our First Citizens. Look them up at www.indianyouth.org

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 27, 2012

Running Strong for American Indian Youth is an outstanding organization. I have been associated with this organization for more than a few years. I had an opportubity the past two years in participa... more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a strong supporter of Running Strong for Indian Youth. It is an organization that strives to promote grass roots advancement for those that have not a spokesperson in their lives or who can feel pride in their heritage. I have been a part of this organization as a donor an participant in the Marine Corps Marathon 10K team. It is one of my favorite charities and one that I feel good supporting. I have met Billy Mills and think they have a great spokeman in Billy.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Running Strong for American Indian Youth is an outstanding organization. I have been associated with this organization for more than a few years. I had an opportubity the past two years in participating with the Run Strong running team both at the Marine Corps Marathon and the Philadelphia Marathon, raising funds for Indian Youth. The inspirational leader and very active figure Billy Mills is a wonderful conpassionate man. The various programs supported by Running Strong for American Youth, to me, are essential and well received at the locations that are served.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Running Strong for American Indian Youth is a wonderful organization. Not only do they provide food, water wells, clothing and shelter to our American Indians, they also provide hope. The organization will send you monthly newsletters telling you everything that is going on and how they are using the donations. They provide Thanksgiving dinners. They have coat drives and make sure every child has a Christmas present. The American Indians are truly blessed to have Billy Mills and this organization helping them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to tell more people about it's wonderful work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

1. I am Canadian First Nation
2. I volunteer to help First Nation participate in running
3. I am certified coach as well as in long distance running.
Therefore, I can identify with the need for programs for American Indian Youth Running Strong.
I was involved with a similar program
and it was rewarding to participate...
I live within the rural community close to urban setting on my First Nation and see our youth lacking recreational programming. These type of programs are inexpensive compared to most sports but still funding is essential for the success of any npo.
Therefore, I support the endeavours of the American Indian Youth Running Strong program...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ensure wholistic approach... mental, physical, spiritual, and emotional development

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with Running Strong for close to 25years. I first became aware of this group because of a letter from Billy Mills and I knew that if he was a part of this organization that it would have
credibility. In 1992 I went on my first Running Strong Tour because I wanted to see
what the
Organization really did. I met a small group of very hard working staff who were eager to show what
their mission was about. They work with people, asking what is needed; finding leaders among
the tribes, listening to their ideas and needs. Running Strong supports not dictates solutions.
Programs are evaluated and changed if necessary. The first goal was to help provide water, and then
food. They have been able to broaden their programs and reach people inall areas of the country.
So many good things can be said about all of the people involved with this group. Some that stand
out are dedication, determination to do a good job, wise use of resources and respect for all
people . The annual tour is a way to see for yourself just a small portion of what this group is about.

Judy R

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Running Strong seems like it really lives up to its title! It seems to have a really super organized group of people who are there for it and are helping it succeed as a charity to help the impoverished Native Peoples that live on the PIne Ridge Reservation and elsewhere! May its success continue!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I have been a supporter of Running Strong for a number of years, but now I live close to the Pine Ridge Rez so I can see the results first hand. The poverty on the Rez is astouding and as the elders say, unless we help the children the cycle will only continue. Running Strong helps to break the cycle and give hope for the future. The gardens and wells are great ideas as the people prefer to help themselves, allowing them to keep their dignity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Running with Team Running Strong was a great experience. Billy Mills and all of the support personnel believe in what they're doing and it really seemed to be a lean, fiscally-responsible charity. Billy wanted to personally meet all the runners and happily shared hours of his time with touching & sometimes humorous stories about his life's challenges, his triumphant turn as an American Olympian in the 1964 Tokyo Olympics and his charity work benefitting American Indian communities & youth. What he did not do was waste a lot of money on food, entertainment, a fancy office, etc. TRS brings good things to American Indian communities in immediate, concrete ways and has probably helped at least a generation of youth become happy and fulfilled adults. I felt good about where the money I donated was going.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers