Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
95 Reviews
1234.831585
Write A Review
October 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 10, 2013

The American Immigration Council is the only immigration-focused organization in the U.S. dedicated to getting out the basic facts behind the policies to decision makers and the public, not just advoc... more

October 16, 2014

Best organization in the U.S. for accurate information and data on specific immigration policy proposals and impact litigation.
September 10, 2013

The American Immigration Council is the only immigration-focused organization in the U.S. dedicated to getting out the basic facts behind the policies to decision makers and the public, not just advocating its own positions. Not only that, but they also protect the public through litigation and honor America through foreign exchange programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase staffing for the immigration policy center so that it could do more education on how immigration to the U.S. promotes economic development and innovation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 20, 2014

more

February 20, 2014

AIC's work is truly commendable. The organization not only honors immigrants, it is a valuable resource to immigration attorneys seeking to make positive change in the field of immigration law. AIC's impact is far reaching including community outreach efforts, a critical J-1 program, and extraordinary legal action center.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

Great team, noble cause, effective plan, a voice for immigrants and good immigrant policy and laws!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

American Immigration Council is a great source of public education and accessible research on all immigration issues. When I need information as a practitioner or advocate, I can trust the work of AIC. This is important in promoting justice and appreciation of our nations immigrant heritage and traditions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

AIC's practice advisories are a great and handy resource for immigration practitioners. AIC watches all immigration related developments in all branches of the government and timely disseminates information in a very impartial and objective manner. AIC's amicus briefs have helped courts understand immigration intricacies and have constantly resulted in some good decisions in interpreting immigration statutes. AIC is staffed with very dedicated professionals and zealous advocates. AIC has been an indispensable resource in my law practice of more than 23 years.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

AIC is the advocacy arm of the American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA), and as was stated in AILA's 2012 Federal tax return (Form 990) is "directly controlled" by AILA (a statement was finally compelled to make for the very first time because of continued pressure from the membership). It is headquartered in AILA's building, and it shares some staff with AILA. More importantly, AILA's 12,000 members are forced to contribute to AIC, both through our national dues and our chapter dues, now to the tune of over $600,000 annually. This from an organization which has never polled its members on what positions it should take when speaking in behalf of the membership. AIC's independence is a legal fiction, its advocacy goals are decided by a small clique, and potential donors would be far, far better off donating to other, more worthwhile groups with both less overhead costs and more openly arrived-at goals. While one may agree with AIC's objectives, both AILA and AIC have traditionally been very disingenuous about the funding and operational control of AIC.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Separate it from AILA and make it stand on its own two feet. Donors think they are giving to a poor, independent organization, but they are not.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

The AIC is an amazing and incredibly effective organization. I support it unconditionally because the AIC has a top notch and brilliant staff that simply get things done.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 20, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 17, 2012

The AIC is an indispensable national source for accurate, persuasive and credible facts and analysis relating to the benefits of immigration to our country. more

February 20, 2014

The American Immigration Council serves the important public service of educating the public and policymakers about the importance of immigration to the United States. In a debate filled with invective, half-truths and noise, the AIC provides factual, thoughtful and useful information. This not only helps professionals who work in the immigration field but also policy makers and others interested in current and future immigration policy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand its activities and scope to include businesses, governmental entities and others who are benefitted by the continued arrival of immigrants to the United States.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2012

The AIC is an indispensable national source for accurate, persuasive and credible facts and analysis relating to the benefits of immigration to our country.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers