Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
95 Reviews
1234.831585
Write A Review
October 20, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 10, 2013

AIC does great work to help both immigrants and their advocates to defend immigrants' rights. They also play an important and effective role in researching and presenting very effective and useful evi... more

October 20, 2014

The Council responded immediately to the dire situation of detained asylum seekers being held in Artesia by ICE with extremely limited rights, and no access to outside assistance (legal or otherwise). AIC quickly included this emergency issue at the top of their litigation meeting agenda in July of this year and then sheparded the development of a litigation strategy among the attendees. This quickly became a strong working group partnership among non-profits with law firm pro bono help. The result is a filed and pending affirmative lawsuit challenging the legality of the Artesia detention facility set up purposefully to deny asylum seekers their rights. The publicity surrounding the lawsuit has focused the country's attention on this violation of due process. But for AIC the lawsuit and the publicity would never have happened. I could not be prouder of AIC's achievement, but there is so much more work to do. AIC is rolling up its sleeves, ready to go!
September 10, 2013

AIC does great work to help both immigrants and their advocates to defend immigrants' rights. They also play an important and effective role in researching and presenting very effective and useful evidence and information that promotes the benefits that immigrants bring to our country and reasons to support positive immigration reform generally.
AIC fills a niche in the immigrant rights community by being an expert in due process and systemic reforms needed in the immigration justice system, knowing how to strategically litigate and being able to call upon the experience of a wide variety of immigration attorneys and their clients for real world information, thus becoming an effective advocate for change.
Further, their practice advisories to immigrants and immigration attorneys are easy to use, and extremely helpful by providing important information on complicated topics in an accessible way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring more resources to enable more litigation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 20, 2014

AIC maintains its position as a leader in dissecting and analyzing our very complex immigration laws for a public that includes immigration lawyers, judges, grassroots advocacy groups as well as membe... more

October 16, 2014

I'm so proud of the work that the Council does on behalf of immigrants and the advocacy community in general. I'm blessed and honored to serve on its Board.
February 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

AIC maintains its position as a leader in dissecting and analyzing our very complex immigration laws for a public that includes immigration lawyers, judges, grassroots advocacy groups as well as members of the Congressional and Executive branches of our government at a price tag which says FREE! #Quality #Professional #Superb

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 20, 2012

I am an immigration attorney in New York City. For years, the AIC, in its mission, has been championing the importance of immigration and its value both in the United State's history and in its future... more

October 16, 2014

I am honored and proud to serve on the Board of the AIC. It does important work brilliantly. It litigates to insure fairness and due process in the application of the US immigration laws. Its portrayals of the ongoing contribution of immigrants is inspiring. Its voluminous and constant guidance to immigration attorneys and to the public is incomparable.
August 20, 2012

I am an immigration attorney in New York City. For years, the AIC, in its mission, has been championing the importance of immigration and its value both in the United State's history and in its future as the country that we want it to be.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

The American Immigration Council has over the past few years maintained a steady and powerful flow of activities to protect immigrants' rights and provide information on the current state and effects of immigration on our society and economy. They do this through research, publications, advocacy, litigation, and education. The Executive Director is a recognized authority on the subject and is frequently called on to be a speaker or commentator. The staff is well qualified and totally committed to the organizations mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them do more of what they are doing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2012

more

August 31, 2012

I am a former Board member and Chair of the Board (retired June 2012). I served the AIC for more than 11 years because it is a dynamic, exciting non-profit which values and maximizes the input of its volunteer board. My ideas, actions, hard work were directly translated into successful developments at the AIC. The Executive Director, Ben Johnson, is a gifted, charismatice and strategic leader. He has a terrifc staff as well. The impact and reach of the AIC on Capital Hill as well as throughout communiteis in the US has grwon exponentially over the past decade. The AIC's work has led directly to improvement in the lives and rights of immigrants, through impact litigation, credible, scholary reports on issues, the exchange visitor program and outreach to teachers and youth on issues impacting immigrants. This is a unique organization doing all the right things to expand its work and impact.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012

more

August 20, 2012

The AIC fills a vital role in the US immigration community. We immigration lawyers get bogged down in day-to-day casework and rely on the AIC to alert us to urgent issues and provide practical ways for everyone to get involved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

The American Immigration Council is one of the leading, non-partisan voices in the U.S. speaking out for rational and compassionate immigration reform.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my capacity as a volunteer and Board Member.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

Organization provides critically important information on various issues related to immigration law and policy.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

The American Immigration Council is well suited to achieve its mission to recognize the important role of immigrants in the development of the American experience and to further both respect for individual immigrants and the contribution immigrants make generally. The Council, and its various components are a strong voice for rational policy, providing thoughtful leadership and scholarship to the public debate on this critical issue. Immigration fosters a great deal of debate but often relies more upon prejudice than fact for analysis. The Council's Immigration Policy Center, and the scholars who provide the research and papers are a strong antidote to this misinformation. Other centers within the Council are well suited to provide high quality services to the American public, including education, exchange visitor sponsorship and legal analysis and advocacy.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

I'm proud to be on the Board of AIC. Now more than ever, it is a go to organization, widely disseminating critical information that is used by a variety of different organizations and individuals across the United States. In particular, AIC has been so instrumental in broadcasting the benefits of immigration to this country, and showcasing the nuances that are sometimes lost in this era of 30 second soundbites and social media.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers