Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
95 Reviews
1234.831585
| 1 ... 7 8 9 |
Write A Review
August 31, 2012

more

August 31, 2012

I am a former Board member and Chair of the Board (retired June 2012). I served the AIC for more than 11 years because it is a dynamic, exciting non-profit which values and maximizes the input of its volunteer board. My ideas, actions, hard work were directly translated into successful developments at the AIC. The Executive Director, Ben Johnson, is a gifted, charismatice and strategic leader. He has a terrifc staff as well. The impact and reach of the AIC on Capital Hill as well as throughout communiteis in the US has grwon exponentially over the past decade. The AIC's work has led directly to improvement in the lives and rights of immigrants, through impact litigation, credible, scholary reports on issues, the exchange visitor program and outreach to teachers and youth on issues impacting immigrants. This is a unique organization doing all the right things to expand its work and impact.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012

more

August 20, 2012

The American Immigration Council provides timely information and resources for people working on immigration. Their mission is the remind Americans of the importance and historical significance of immigration to America. In the current immigration debate, this information is sorely needed.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012

more

August 20, 2012

In my professional capacity an immigration attorney and author of books on immigration law, I rely on the American Immigration Council's legal practice advisories to keep me informed of the latest developments in the law. AIC is always on top of the issues, always writes thoughtful and thorough practice advisories, and often gets involved in amicus briefs on important cases in this complex, ever changing legal environment. AIC is a tremendous asset to immigration attorneys all over the country, and has helped to shape the development of the law in many positive ways. It's legal staff is also exceptionally open and responsive to questions. My hat's off to them!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012

more

August 20, 2012

The AIC fills a vital role in the US immigration community. We immigration lawyers get bogged down in day-to-day casework and rely on the AIC to alert us to urgent issues and provide practical ways for everyone to get involved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 18, 2012

more

August 18, 2012

As an immigration attorney, I rely on the resources the American Immigration Council provides and I also depend on organizations like this to work to make the policies I deal with every day better and more humane. This is a great organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 18, 2012

more

August 18, 2012

I am an attorney with a practice in immigration law. American Immigration Council does great work in monitoring and initiating key developments in our U.S. immigration system, be it court cases, legislation, or agency developments. It is very effective in carrying out its mission and also fighting for the rights of immigrants in this country. AIC does wonderful work!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

I am an immigration attorney who represented Emily Ruiz, a 4-year-old U.S. citizen who was "deported" to Guatemala in March, 2011. She as "deported" because immigration authorities would not release her to her parents, both of whom were undocumented. After we were able to bring Emily back to U.S., the AIC helped Emily find a large international firm to take on her case pro bono. AIC was pro bono co-counsel along with a large international law firm in an action against U.S. Customs and Border Protection. AIC's Melissa Crowe was tremendously helpful in drafting the original FOIA request and in guiding the team's legal strategy. If case is successful, AIC will have helped countless children from being separated from their parents solely because of legal status.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

I am an immigration attorney and I am on the Advisory Board of the Legal Action Center of the AIC. As an attorney, the AIC has had a positive impact in my legal practice and the immigration community. The AIC publishes Practice Advisories about important topics relating to immigration law. Not only do I find these advisories helpful, but I have spoken to many immigration lawyers that rely upon them. I believe that the AIC Practice Advisories improve the quality of the practice of immigration law by many lawyers. The importance of this should not be underestimated because the quality of legal representation that non-citizens receive in immigration proceedings is constantly coming under question by the Federal Courts. The AIC also does amicus curiae briefs to the federal courts. I have had the AIC provide amicus curiae briefs in two of my cases. One of the questions below asks about the impact AIC has had. Because of their amicus briefs, this organization has had a life changing impact on countless non-citizens. Off the top of my head, AIC has been instrumental in arriving aliens being able to seek adjustment of status and aliens who have been deported being able to file motions to reopen. Considering all of the wonderful things that this organization does, it is truly an honor for me to be on their Advisory Board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

The American Immigration Council is a favorite of mine. I came to the USA on a scholarship as a foreign student. On graduation, I was not able to return to Hong Kong. Horrendous riots raged there, and a Swiss consul was killed sadly. So, when the immigration laws changed, I was able to immigrate. I was a social worker and a college teacher. Now I have been a lawyer specialising in immigration law for the last 38 years. I cannot imagine practising law without the AIC. I get the latest practice advisory from its Legal Action Center. Clients use the J visa program it runs. Its Immigration Policy Center has the latest positions supported by the American Immigration Lawyers Association. Its educational efforts reach deep into our schools, starting in 5th grade, with essays and poems that amaze me. I am so grateful the AIC is teaching our youngsters to repel bigotry. No more Chinese Exclusion Acts for our country!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My practice benefits from all four parts of the AIC.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it more relevant to us West Coasters.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Move it westwards towards California.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

New contacts, skills, horizons.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Happy!

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

American Immigration Council has had great successes recently. AIC's work resulted in the Obama Administration's recent changes in law. AID provids expert advice which are making a eal............change in people's lives. AIC's expert advice to practicioner's, like myself, has enabled Immigrant children and families to avoid deportation of their loved one's, obtain status to become full residents and citizen of the United States. AIC is indispencible to my work and that of many in the immigrant community. They are a unique resource for the currency, accuracy and source for law, commentary, research and advocacy which is disseminated to the public, immigration law practioners, and to the governmental agencies that change and implement recommended changes.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers