Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
95 Reviews
1234.831585
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

The Council does great work--from the Legal Action Center to the Immigration Policy Center. It fights for the rights of immigrants and gets accurate information out the public. I've enjoyed collaborating with them in my own work.
October 20, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 10, 2013

AIC does great work to help both immigrants and their advocates to defend immigrants' rights. They also play an important and effective role in researching and presenting very effective and useful evi... more

October 20, 2014

The Council responded immediately to the dire situation of detained asylum seekers being held in Artesia by ICE with extremely limited rights, and no access to outside assistance (legal or otherwise). AIC quickly included this emergency issue at the top of their litigation meeting agenda in July of this year and then sheparded the development of a litigation strategy among the attendees. This quickly became a strong working group partnership among non-profits with law firm pro bono help. The result is a filed and pending affirmative lawsuit challenging the legality of the Artesia detention facility set up purposefully to deny asylum seekers their rights. The publicity surrounding the lawsuit has focused the country's attention on this violation of due process. But for AIC the lawsuit and the publicity would never have happened. I could not be prouder of AIC's achievement, but there is so much more work to do. AIC is rolling up its sleeves, ready to go!
September 10, 2013

AIC does great work to help both immigrants and their advocates to defend immigrants' rights. They also play an important and effective role in researching and presenting very effective and useful evidence and information that promotes the benefits that immigrants bring to our country and reasons to support positive immigration reform generally.
AIC fills a niche in the immigrant rights community by being an expert in due process and systemic reforms needed in the immigration justice system, knowing how to strategically litigate and being able to call upon the experience of a wide variety of immigration attorneys and their clients for real world information, thus becoming an effective advocate for change.
Further, their practice advisories to immigrants and immigration attorneys are easy to use, and extremely helpful by providing important information on complicated topics in an accessible way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring more resources to enable more litigation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 10, 2013

The American Immigration Council is the only immigration-focused organization in the U.S. dedicated to getting out the basic facts behind the policies to decision makers and the public, not just advoc... more

October 16, 2014

Best organization in the U.S. for accurate information and data on specific immigration policy proposals and impact litigation.
September 10, 2013

The American Immigration Council is the only immigration-focused organization in the U.S. dedicated to getting out the basic facts behind the policies to decision makers and the public, not just advocating its own positions. Not only that, but they also protect the public through litigation and honor America through foreign exchange programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase staffing for the immigration policy center so that it could do more education on how immigration to the U.S. promotes economic development and innovation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I have been tremendously impressed with the American Immigration Council. Their leadership role on U.S. immigration law issues, their policy center, their litigation center and their work with middle school students across America have all helped to raise our understanding of why we need to be proud that America is a nation of immigrants. As an immigrant myself and now an attorney, I have been so impressed with their work that I have pledged $1 Million to support them and their work over the next 20 years. They are reliable, transparents and mission focused. One of the best non-profts ever!
October 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 20, 2014

AIC maintains its position as a leader in dissecting and analyzing our very complex immigration laws for a public that includes immigration lawyers, judges, grassroots advocacy groups as well as membe... more

October 16, 2014

I'm so proud of the work that the Council does on behalf of immigrants and the advocacy community in general. I'm blessed and honored to serve on its Board.
February 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

AIC maintains its position as a leader in dissecting and analyzing our very complex immigration laws for a public that includes immigration lawyers, judges, grassroots advocacy groups as well as members of the Congressional and Executive branches of our government at a price tag which says FREE! #Quality #Professional #Superb

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 20, 2012

I am an immigration attorney in New York City. For years, the AIC, in its mission, has been championing the importance of immigration and its value both in the United State's history and in its future... more

October 16, 2014

I am honored and proud to serve on the Board of the AIC. It does important work brilliantly. It litigates to insure fairness and due process in the application of the US immigration laws. Its portrayals of the ongoing contribution of immigrants is inspiring. Its voluminous and constant guidance to immigration attorneys and to the public is incomparable.
August 20, 2012

I am an immigration attorney in New York City. For years, the AIC, in its mission, has been championing the importance of immigration and its value both in the United State's history and in its future as the country that we want it to be.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 21, 2014

more

February 21, 2014

As a nation of immigrants all Americans should be proud of the great work done by the AIC. Bravo! We proud of the excellent work you do on behalf of immigrants.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing - keep on your current course.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 20, 2014

more

February 20, 2014

AIC's work is truly commendable. The organization not only honors immigrants, it is a valuable resource to immigration attorneys seeking to make positive change in the field of immigration law. AIC's impact is far reaching including community outreach efforts, a critical J-1 program, and extraordinary legal action center.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 20, 2014

more

February 20, 2014

The work of the American Immigration Council is extraordinary and inspiring. I willingly contribute to their foundation every year and am proud to support their work. Their honoring of Immigrants with American Immigration Achievement Awards inspires those of us who work in this field and it recognizes the important contributions that immigrants continue to make to this country. Their advocacy, policy papers, and educational resources on immigration matters is second to none. The legal action center also adds support and provides guidance on key legal issues. Finally, the international exchange center is a model program and serves as an excellent example to promote intercultural exchange. I wholeheartedly applaud the work of the American Immigration Council and am proud to be affiliated with them as an emeritus trustee. --Steve Thal

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 20, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 17, 2012

The AIC is an indispensable national source for accurate, persuasive and credible facts and analysis relating to the benefits of immigration to our country. more

February 20, 2014

The American Immigration Council serves the important public service of educating the public and policymakers about the importance of immigration to the United States. In a debate filled with invective, half-truths and noise, the AIC provides factual, thoughtful and useful information. This not only helps professionals who work in the immigration field but also policy makers and others interested in current and future immigration policy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand its activities and scope to include businesses, governmental entities and others who are benefitted by the continued arrival of immigrants to the United States.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2012

The AIC is an indispensable national source for accurate, persuasive and credible facts and analysis relating to the benefits of immigration to our country.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers