Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 4, 2012

American Humane has an extraordinary mission, including the only organization I know with dual remit to protect both children and animals. I'm a veterinarian with nearly 30 years in the profession, a... more

September 23, 2014

American Humane has been part of a major turnaround effort over the last couple years and is now on track to be amongst the most important and relevant welfare organizations in the country. I've had a front row seat for the tremendous work that went into this transformation and I couldn't be more proud to have had a small role. I'm extremely confident in the Associations' leadership that includes strategic creativity and an extraordinary level of financial accountability.
February 4, 2012

American Humane has an extraordinary mission, including the only organization I know with dual remit to protect both children and animals. I'm a veterinarian with nearly 30 years in the profession, and I can't think of a more noble goal. Their Red Star program has been instrumental in the support of children and animals in need during the most devastating year of disasters I can remember.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 9, 2012

I am proud to be a board member of the American Humane Association. The organization has been working so hard for so long – 135 years! - on behalf of children and animals, and our work is just as v... more

September 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What a wonderful organization, putting the wellbeing and welfare of its constituents - animals and children - first and foremost. The individual stories are compelling, but the overall mission of education, compassion and expansion of "humaneness" are what really drives this organization. I am so proud to be a part of it.
February 9, 2012

I am proud to be a board member of the American Humane Association. The organization has been working so hard for so long – 135 years! - on behalf of children and animals, and our work is just as vital today as it has ever been.

American Humane Association is so important not only
because our programs protect children and animals, but also because we have a particular focus on the incredible bond between people and animals and the power it has to benefit and enrich the lives of both. Many of American Humane Association’s programs are centered around this bond – such as our animal assisted therapy program, our Film/TV unit, and our Red Star rescue programs. I believe recognizing and expanding this bond is one of the keys to making our world a more humane and compassionate place for all who live in it.

I have been struck at the dedication, professionalism and passion of our staff and volunteers – qualities which run throughout the organization. Such as our Red Star rescuers who work under difficult and dangerous conditions with little to no sleep while rescuing and providing vital medical attention to animals hit by a disaster, our “No Animals Were Harmed” monitors who work endless days with little recognition to be the sole protectors of animals in film and television productions, and our dedicated researchers whose groundbreaking work improves child welfare policies and decision-making.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 1, 2014

more

September 1, 2014

My friend, Dr. Oz calls me "America's Veterinarian." I've been part of The Dr. Oz Show for six years, was resident veterinarian on Good Morning America for 17-years, have had a nationally syndicated pet/vet column for 15-years, have written 24 books (sold almost 8 million copies with three NY Times bestsellers), and have won many awards including Companion Animal Veterinarian of the Year for both the U.S. and globally. I've owned and operated five large veterinary hospitals, (have been in hundreds of others) and continue to practice as a veterinarian in Northern Idaho. I've loved animals my whole life, grew up on a farm/ranch, wanted to be a veterinarian from age seven, and have dedicated my life to preventing pain and suffering in animals and focusing on their physical and emotional wellbeing.

I'm on the board of several other animal wellbeing organizations and know all of the major players (the ones you see with the tear jerking TV ads or mailers that try and hook you emotionally starting with the envelope). The organization I'm most supportive of, admire the most, and want to see thrive is the American Humane Association. Fact. Most of the humane organizations that you probably give to are primarily lobbying and litigation machines that do little, if any, to help animals where you live. American Humane Association (AHA) is different.

Rather than documenting and promoting a high profile rescue here or there like most national groups do (with the primary focus to raise more money for lobbying and litigation), AHA has regionally placed Red Star Rescue Vehicles placed regionally to respond whenever animals are in need. Did you know AHA was there in the 1800s to make sure that cattle being sent by rail to slaughter yards were let off for food and water (previously they would arrive dead or dying after five days on the train to Chicago). AHA pioneered public playgrounds in cities in the 1920s, was there after WWI to bring the war horses back, has been on movie and TV sets to insure the safety and wellbeing of animal actors, and is now looking after the health and wellbeing of tens of millions of production animals through the Human Heartland program.

Take the time to learn about this over 130-year old organization that always cares about the animals, first and foremost, with boots on the ground that are trained, experienced, respected, passionate and proactive. Only a tiny portion of what you give goes for administration at AHA; almost all of it goes to help pets (just like the ones you love), animals in need (rescued from abuse) or making sure the animals -- whose meat we eat, eggs we fry, or dairy products we consume --- are treated with caring and gentle hands.
February 2, 2012

more

February 2, 2012

I was first asked to be on the Board of Directors of American Humane Association as the organization took a stance against breed specific bans, At that time I had testified against BSL. But the fit turned out to be far deeper. In my view some organizations have become overzealous and truly have veered from what the American public (meat eating and vegetarian alike) deem reasonable. To that end, American Humane Certified program is the oldest, largest, and fastest growing monitoring, auditing, and certification program in the country ensuring the humane treatment of over 135 million farm animals. But American Humane doesn't advocate that people eat meat or don't - these should be individual choices. Fact is animals are used in food production, so let’s do the the best we can for them. There haven't been many disasters which American Humane’s famed Red Star Emergency Services hasn't been on-scene, saving countless animals. The work these workers do on the scene is truly inspirational. I am in awe. In conditions which most people have left for safety, our workers move in with first responsders. Red Star is on the scene to save animals, sometimes literally diving into water, searching through rubble of crumbled homes or simply climbing a tree recover a cat or doing what it takes to roundup horses. Red Star is considered the gold standard among those who rescue animals in emergency conditions and disasters, and their heroics are stuff movies are made of. Speaking of which if a movie has included 'animal actors' for decades, American Humane is famous for the tag line 'No Animals Were Harmed.' I've been on-set - I can tell you as a certified dog and cat behavior consultant, no animals are harmed is more than 'a line,' it's true. Our professional reps on-set may be the only advocate the animal actor has....There's a bridge between children and pets - and American Humane's funded research for years has helped us to better understand this intrinsic link. In 2011, American Humane helped more than 125,000 military families, elderly people, children with cancer, and others through our Animal-Assisted Therapy programs, bringing comfort and healing to those in greatest need and over 500,000 in the past 3 years. Learning additional benefits of animal assisted therapy is something American Humane is studying, including one project (funded by Pfizer) which is currently also helping victims of pediatric cancer. You can't get 'cooler' than that. If American Humane only helped animals, for all this organization does - that might be enough....But child protection is an equal part of the American Humane mission. I am honored to be on the Board, as employees (American Humane touts a lean machine – so VERY hard working and dedicated employees, each and every one) are there for the heavy lifting, and all of us invigorated by a CEO/President who inspires ...What’s most inspiring though: One family I am thinking of who lost their home in a flood, but were panicked not accounting for all their family pets, who were recovered by American Humane and who continued to keep them safe until a place could be found; or the U.S. veteran who became increasingly depressed and demonstrated anger whenever people attempted to help – until he met an animal assisted therapy dog who “broke through” in a way a mere human could not or a family who simply adopted a kitty cat for their autistic child, as a part of American Humane Association’s support for Adopt a Cat month.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers