Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
123.932245
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
February 13, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

Executive Excess, Fat Cats with excessive salaries, and not much direct effect in the community. Misquided first time CEO who does not seem to grasp the meaning of social responsibility.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 8, 2012

more

February 8, 2012

Where would the Hollywood film/television industry be without the great work of the American Humane Association? It is oversight from the AHA that gives voice to those that have none with their "No Animals Were Harmed" division. This is a top notch charity and organization with excellent leadership whom I've had both the privilege and honor to work with.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 6, 2012

more

February 6, 2012

American Humane Association is a marelous charity with top notch leadership and a very strong and experienced board. Their 4 key programs deliver results and important resources in all 50 states. One of the best and most efficiently managed animal and children's charities operating in the US today.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 4, 2012

more

February 4, 2012

I love it that American Humane Association cares about both animals and kids because it makes sense that both are vulnerable members of our society that need our protection. Research shows that people who abuse one will also abuse the other and we need to address both issues together for the greatest impact. I also like that trained volunteers are right there helping to rescue animals and help kids when there is a natural disaster like the tornado in Joplin, MO last year. There is always a heartwarming story on their website that just makes my day and it makes me feel good to support them, even in hard financial times!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

My experience with American Humane Association has been working with them with animal disaster response. Over the last many years, I've been a volunteer with several of the national organizations, as well as co-founder of a local animal disaster response group in my area (Cincinnati). I've attended the animal rescue/disaster response training offered by each of the various groups, and observed them, volunteered with them in action. There's a big difference! -->> -->> -->> American Humane has a much more professional operation, without getting mired in the petty turf wars and political antics so in evidence with some of the others. Because of their expertise and focus - thousands of animals all around the country have been are are able to continue to be rescued and sheltered and reunited with their owners! -->> -->> -->> Because of having volunteered and worked with such a variety of organizations, and having a good basis of comparison -- my support and my recommendation goes to American Humane Association! ~~Evelyn in Cincinnati

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

*Feeling like a very valued member of the rescue team and noting the professional knowledge and attention provided to the animals in their/our care.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What is unique about this organization?

Excellent professional attitude and presentation, superior treatment of the animals and the volunteers.

February 1, 2012

more

February 1, 2012

Having worked with AHA for more than 30 years, I have seen it continue its over 130 year mission of helping children and animals. In recent years, the AHA Red Star emergency team has demonstrated the combined mission by both helping recover animals displaced during hurricane, AND helping the children and families have work to do in helping at the same time. Their ongoing work with FEMA and the state agencies in establishing the plans is not seen - but key to our societies increased success. The leadership it has in Hollywood with the "No Animals were Harmed program is another example of excellence.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have been a member of AHA for 30 years, and currently am honored to serve on the AHA Board of Directors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have helped make changes - and the AHA of today incorporates those best practices and improvements.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

The dual role of helping both children and animals. Many organizations server one or the other - and many are narrowly focused. AHA truly represents a mainstream set of values were personal responsibility is important, as is neighbors helping neighbors. Humane care of animals and compassionate behavior of family members and neighbors are all core society values encouraged by AHA. You may be a hunter, farmer,live in a large or small city, like to eat meat, or not - and all have the same core values of compassion.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers