Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

American Humane Association is a wonderful nonprofit organization. I donate to them whenever I can, and I love how they make sure that "no animals were harmed" during the filming of movies/tv shows/etc. Another thing I adore about this group are their annual televised Hero Dog Awards. I always watch them. Donate to this group!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 3, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

These guys are being sued for covering up horse abuse in the HBO series "Luck". Please go on line and read about it. Do not donate to this group!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am a singer/songwriter in the DC area and I have decided to donate 10% of the proceeds to every download of my song "Galaxy" on Itunes. Music and Animals are my passion so the fact that i can help out makes me feel very accomplished and makes me feel that i am giving back in a very special way... I hope you will buy my song and help these animals that are in need

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

New CEO of AHA is a visionary leader in nonprofit sector and was recently nationally honored as a visionary and fiduciary leader. I just met her and the board chair at the recent event in Florida, and i am a fan. AHA is doing inspiring work now more than ever. And, those of us who work in the corporate sector know that it is tough times for all - especially our kids and animals. Glad to know AHA is there. Can't wait to go to Hero Dog Awards in LA!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 7, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

March 7, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

Very misleading message sent to the public regarding Robin Ganzert's ability as CEO. Here is the latest message to the staff Hello , as we mentioned at the all staff update this week, our latest budget cuts have resulted in temporary suspension of our wellness program and our 403b discretionary employer match, effective immediately.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a member of the Red Star Animal Emergency Services team since 2002 and I know first-hand from my own experience (16 disasters and counting) with the organization of the commitment of the staff that I have worked with. They are dedicated, compassionate, and work tirelessly to keep the volunteers and the animals safe. Ten years ago, I did not even know who American Humane Association was and I remember being impressed knowing there was an organization with 135 years of history that protected both children AND animals. As a volunteer, I have been treated with the utmost respect and have developed lasting friendships with other volunteers as well as with staff that I consider family. I have made my work with American Humane my "life work", whether it is as a volunteer on the Red Star team or as one of the Instructors for two of the courses they offer in the animal program. I will continue to support American Humane in this capacity for as long as I am able. I understand the importance and value of the support of the community because of the numbers of children and animals within this country that need help as a result of the economy, disasters, abuse, neglect, etc. I, personally, am grateful that I can continue to do this work because of the support to keep these programs moving forward and to help educate the public in the importance of protecting our children AND animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 14, 2012

more

February 14, 2012

As a member of the Red Star team of volunteers, I can attest to the incredible dedication and compassion that this organization has for animals in need. They are highly regarded wherever I have gone with them throughout the nation and their standard of care and work ethic is extremely high. They are professional, dependable and always ready to help in providing care and sheltering of animals of all kinds, under many different circumstances. I have the utmost regard and respect for their ethics and committment to their mission and consider them to be one of America's greatest assets for animal and child welfare!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 13, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

Donors beware People are having the wool pulled over their eyes. The organization sold their Denver office and the proceeds of the sale financed seven executive salaries. Major layoffs, and while a million dollars was donated to the Red Star Rescue Team and the employees have no office to work to do their work. The D.C. and L.A. offices are examples of wasteful spending.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 9, 2012

more

February 9, 2012

I have been a member of the American Humane Association's Red Star Team on numerous deployments since 2007. I have observed their work during disasters, and in hoarding and puppy mill cases. They are dedicated professionals who do their utmost to ensure the safety and care of all the animals, as well as the volunteers. Every animal is treated with respect from the moment it is rescued. Staff and volunteers devote their full attention to being sure each animal gets the attention it deserves. To me, the best test of the effectiveness of an organization is to observe the improved health displayed by the animals after receiving care from the American Humane Association's Red Star Team. This is a Team worthy of everyone's support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 9, 2012

more

February 9, 2012

I have been a donor to the American Humane Association for many years and during the past two years, I have become an active member of the Red Star Team. The Red Stars are a well-organized group of volunteers that can deploy to animal-related disasters in a matter of a few hours. The organization is impressive in its efficiency in setting up a clean, orderly, temporary animal shelter. Clean space, walks, food and fresh water are provided, along with soft chatter, eye contact, singing, snuggles and belly rubs. Twelve-hour days are common, and I have never worked harder in my life, but seeing those innocent eyes and happy tails is a great motivator. In the case of a disaster, such as a flood, that destroyed a family's home, the temporary animal shelter is a great resource to families that have been displaced. The American Humane Association is there to provide loving care to the family's pets, easing their minds during very stressful times. I feel very fortunate to be able to participate as a Red Star volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers