Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 5 6 7 |
Write A Review
February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

I only recently became involved with the American Humane Association and have been quite impressed with their professionalism and their dedication to their unique dual mission - to help protect children and animals. They have their hearts and their minds in the right place, and seem to only make informed decisions - based on their many research programs. After donating to this organization and seeing the work they do, they are certainly my charity of choice!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

May of us in Texas have taken multiple trainings on animal disaster response from several different organizations and most of us preferred the hands on, practical training provided by AHA in their disaster response workshops. i've found that the PEOPLE involved in AHA are the best, most respectful, knowledgeable, and professional. In all my dealings with this organization, they treat both people and animals with dignity and respect as well as true compassion. Huge thumbs up for American Humane Association, their staff, their volunteers and employees.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

Ditto housebz1. I work with several other groups and have taken the same trainings with the larger animal rescue organization and there is no comparison. AHA focuses on the hands on, practical, down and dirty work of rescue without getting bogged down in politics and personalities. I learned more in 4 days with AHA than 2-3 weeks with other groups. In a disaster (and I've been to a few) if you see the TV cameras and press that is NOT where you'll find AHA volunteers. They'll be crawling under houses and hauling catess and heavy dog food bags-doing the job instead of talking about it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

My experience with American Humane Association has been working with them with animal disaster response. Over the last many years, I've been a volunteer with several of the national organizations, as well as co-founder of a local animal disaster response group in my area (Cincinnati). I've attended the animal rescue/disaster response training offered by each of the various groups, and observed them, volunteered with them in action. There's a big difference! -->> -->> -->> American Humane has a much more professional operation, without getting mired in the petty turf wars and political antics so in evidence with some of the others. Because of their expertise and focus - thousands of animals all around the country have been are are able to continue to be rescued and sheltered and reunited with their owners! -->> -->> -->> Because of having volunteered and worked with such a variety of organizations, and having a good basis of comparison -- my support and my recommendation goes to American Humane Association! ~~Evelyn in Cincinnati

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

*Feeling like a very valued member of the rescue team and noting the professional knowledge and attention provided to the animals in their/our care.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What is unique about this organization?

Excellent professional attitude and presentation, superior treatment of the animals and the volunteers.

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

I had the opportunity to attend my first AHA event last February (2011), and I was not surprised - but rather incredibly impressed by the level of knowledge, compassion, and enthusiasm everyone exhibited. From Volunteers to Board Members, this organization walks the walk and talks the talk. Their passion around their work is truly infectious. They genuinely believe in the work that they do, and by the time I left I was hooked! Children and animals have never had such advocates as these before. And I'm honored to have been in their presence that day - and will continue to spread the word about their great humanitarian work. They are now my charity of choice.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 2, 2012

more

February 2, 2012

I was first asked to be on the Board of Directors of American Humane Association as the organization took a stance against breed specific bans, At that time I had testified against BSL. But the fit turned out to be far deeper. In my view some organizations have become overzealous and truly have veered from what the American public (meat eating and vegetarian alike) deem reasonable. To that end, American Humane Certified program is the oldest, largest, and fastest growing monitoring, auditing, and certification program in the country ensuring the humane treatment of over 135 million farm animals. But American Humane doesn't advocate that people eat meat or don't - these should be individual choices. Fact is animals are used in food production, so let’s do the the best we can for them. There haven't been many disasters which American Humane’s famed Red Star Emergency Services hasn't been on-scene, saving countless animals. The work these workers do on the scene is truly inspirational. I am in awe. In conditions which most people have left for safety, our workers move in with first responsders. Red Star is on the scene to save animals, sometimes literally diving into water, searching through rubble of crumbled homes or simply climbing a tree recover a cat or doing what it takes to roundup horses. Red Star is considered the gold standard among those who rescue animals in emergency conditions and disasters, and their heroics are stuff movies are made of. Speaking of which if a movie has included 'animal actors' for decades, American Humane is famous for the tag line 'No Animals Were Harmed.' I've been on-set - I can tell you as a certified dog and cat behavior consultant, no animals are harmed is more than 'a line,' it's true. Our professional reps on-set may be the only advocate the animal actor has....There's a bridge between children and pets - and American Humane's funded research for years has helped us to better understand this intrinsic link. In 2011, American Humane helped more than 125,000 military families, elderly people, children with cancer, and others through our Animal-Assisted Therapy programs, bringing comfort and healing to those in greatest need and over 500,000 in the past 3 years. Learning additional benefits of animal assisted therapy is something American Humane is studying, including one project (funded by Pfizer) which is currently also helping victims of pediatric cancer. You can't get 'cooler' than that. If American Humane only helped animals, for all this organization does - that might be enough....But child protection is an equal part of the American Humane mission. I am honored to be on the Board, as employees (American Humane touts a lean machine – so VERY hard working and dedicated employees, each and every one) are there for the heavy lifting, and all of us invigorated by a CEO/President who inspires ...What’s most inspiring though: One family I am thinking of who lost their home in a flood, but were panicked not accounting for all their family pets, who were recovered by American Humane and who continued to keep them safe until a place could be found; or the U.S. veteran who became increasingly depressed and demonstrated anger whenever people attempted to help – until he met an animal assisted therapy dog who “broke through” in a way a mere human could not or a family who simply adopted a kitty cat for their autistic child, as a part of American Humane Association’s support for Adopt a Cat month.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 1, 2012

more

February 1, 2012

Having worked with AHA for more than 30 years, I have seen it continue its over 130 year mission of helping children and animals. In recent years, the AHA Red Star emergency team has demonstrated the combined mission by both helping recover animals displaced during hurricane, AND helping the children and families have work to do in helping at the same time. Their ongoing work with FEMA and the state agencies in establishing the plans is not seen - but key to our societies increased success. The leadership it has in Hollywood with the "No Animals were Harmed program is another example of excellence.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have been a member of AHA for 30 years, and currently am honored to serve on the AHA Board of Directors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have helped make changes - and the AHA of today incorporates those best practices and improvements.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

The dual role of helping both children and animals. Many organizations server one or the other - and many are narrowly focused. AHA truly represents a mainstream set of values were personal responsibility is important, as is neighbors helping neighbors. Humane care of animals and compassionate behavior of family members and neighbors are all core society values encouraged by AHA. You may be a hunter, farmer,live in a large or small city, like to eat meat, or not - and all have the same core values of compassion.

February 1, 2012

more

February 1, 2012

This is an absolutely terrific charity that works hard on many levels to serve children and animals. I have been extremely impressed by the emergency relief work they do with their Red Star program, and the thoughtful leadership of their children's programs, which help keep children safe and families together. I have already given to them three times in the last year and frankly think it's the best use of my limited charitable dollars.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

AHA is a wonderful organization that really makes a difference in communities during times of disaster! I have volunteered, and have seen their Red Star team in action. AHA really does incredible work on the ground when communities are in need, and I am proud to be part of their volunteer base. AHA just was in Memphis after an animal cruelty case, and the team took care of 144 animals that were abandoned in U-Haul. They made sure that the animals were properly sheltered and given great medical attention. They even went the extra mile to arrange for a flight transport to a shelter in Florida. They are amazing!!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 28, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

January 28, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

They don't help animals they produce award shows. Rip Off.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers